We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price-quality hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Secret Garden Hostel
Ranked #72 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair price-quality hostel”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hostel is located on the Jewish Neighbourhood of Krakow, 10 minutes walking distance from the beatifull old town. We stayed in a double bed room. The room was big enough, clean and climatized. The bathroom also had reasonable size, excepting the bath which was a bit to narrow. The breakfast isn't great, but OK. There is also a nice living room with TV, DVD and computers with internet. Overall I thought the hostel had a fair price-quality relatioship.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpgamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    119
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
159
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked a private double room with bathroom in this hostel using a 'Groupon Voucher'. If you're not aware of Groupon they are supposedly special offers by businesses to end users.

The offer was for the room plus breakfast and a bottle of wine, we were astounded to find that the price we paid for the special offer was almost 100 zloty more expensive than their usual rate for February. Admittedly the usual rate doesn't include the wine, but a 12 zloty bottle of red from Lidl should not mean an increase of almost 100 zloty.

The breakfast was really basic, bread, cereal, cheese and ham, nothing hot and not exactly Polish either.

The room itself was poor, the bed was ridiculously hard and only 3/4 size, not a double as advertised. The walls are paper thin, we could hear the snoring from next door, and every movement along the corridor.

We attempted to make a complaint about the small bed and the price and were told complaints only accepted in writing, nothing can be done at the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've booked a single room in hostel almost 1 mth ahead. Sent an email to request any color room except green. their reply was, all the rooms are taken and left only green room. I booked this single room hostel because of the beautiful pictures of pink, purple and all the colorful and cute rooms. So, this was a big disappointment.

The worst was after I saw the room. I was given a very cold, humble, not a single bit of cute or pretty... but a tasteless huge room with 2 bunk beds + single bed. I'm alone, I need a single room, I dont need 5 beds. Plus the room has some smell, not very clean smell and I have to borrow the air fresher from the bathroom to put in the room.

Wall was thin, I could hear kids playing and neighbor snoring. Probably bad luck. But its quite disappointing.

The hostel is not in a very pleasant area. However, to be fair, bathroom was very clean, breakfast was good, location is pretty convenient, the tram stop is near and there's a bakery that sells very nice cream pie. If you are a fussy traveler like me. This place is probably not for you or book your preferred room earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermiliondesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Almost ninety zloty per night, mid-week, mid-winter. Would hate to see the price in summer!! Over-priced, without a doubt. Wasn't even offered help with my luggage up two flights of stairs. Breakfast included? Forget it if you have any dietary preferences or requirements like gluten free or vegan. I could hear every sound the people in the rooms next door made. I even heard them snoring. Too much money for too little. The only saving grace is modern bathroom except that the shower is too small. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hostel is a friendly welcoming place to stay in a great area of Krakow. The staff are helpful but not intrusive. The rooms are spacious and spotless. I really appreciated being able to help myself to tea and coffee at any time and the social spaces were really well kept. For getting about there are tram services at the end of the road and the hotel can supply tickets; in five minutes you are in the main square. Otherwise there are plenty of interesting places nearby; Kazimierz the old Jewish district for example. I also loved the fact there was no daily room service, i could tidy up my own things (or not) as I pleased. I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 24 Balmy Sage has steps down to sleeping area which may be tricky for some. Being at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzychoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The hostel is close to the center of Krakow, takes about 10-15 minutes.
It's easily approachable, clear and friendly. The staff is very helpfull, we haven't experienced any language-inconvenience.
The price contains the breakfast and free WiFi-internet in the whole hostel.
For the nights, the TV-room was a good place to meet with others.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Excellent good quality Hostel, more bordering on the quality of a Hotel. Extremely clean. Very good breakfast where you can help yourself to cereal, bread, toast, coffee, tea, cheese, ham and many other things. Also can make tea anytime in the kitchen/dining room. Lovely rooms, well decorated. My room had lovely outlook over garden. Receptionists very helpful and friendly. I really liked the area where Secret Garden Hostel is located in the Old Jewish Quarter which has a lot of atmosphere and character. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: Some rooms I believe have better views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Hostel Faust
#192 of 259 in Krakow
59 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#97 of 259 in Krakow
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#18 of 259 in Krakow
406 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#27 of 259 in Krakow
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Hostel

Property: The Secret Garden Hostel
Address: ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31-066, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#18 Family Hotel in Krakow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Secret Garden Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Secret Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing