We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Secret Garden Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Secret Garden Hostel
Ranked #69 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I spent three days with my boyfriend at the Secret Garden hostel, at the studio in Krakowaska street. Such an good choice! The staff is always kind and they organized the transfer shuttle from the airport (at 1 am) and also the visit to auschwitz and birkenau. The studio apartment was great.. just 200 mt from the main hostel and very close (less than 5 minuts walking) to Plac Nowy (with its restaurants, pubs, etc.) and also walkig distance to the center of the old town (about 20 min) and to the wavel castle (10 min). The price is good.. 560 zloty, circa 140 euro for the studio for three days! :) and the studio is full equipped with little kitchen, pans, refrigerator and a lot of other stuff that we didn't use!
Only bad point: the breakfast not excellent.. some bread, marmelades and few slices of cheese and ham, nothing more.

If I would come again to Krakow, I will definetely step by the secret garden hostel! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    115
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
155
86
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here with some friends in early summer 2013 and it was truly one of the best experiences of our time in Poland. the hostel was clean, and adorable, really unique! The location was easy to find, and in a good, central location. The highlight for us, was the staff. They helped us book some day trips out of the city, and recommended to us a restaurant that ended up being our favorite spot in Krakow. I definitely recommend this hostel for anyone coming to the city!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjirsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is in the middle of the old Jewish section and the more modern side of Krakow. We booked the hotel as part of our package with the company 'Escape 2 Poland'. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room on the top floor which was simply amazing. We were the only room up there and had a very modern private bathroom. The room and hotel itself were very clean and quiet considering how many rooms they had. The rate includes breakfast which consists of a selection of cereals, toast, cold ham and cheese and a selection of yogurts. The kitchen is open 24 hours with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Would definitely recommend staying here, we would definitely stay here again if we get the chance to return to Krakow!

Room Tip: Ask for the 'loft' room! Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hostel was absolutely incredible. My friends and I arrived to krakow early in the morning and were able to take a taxi straight to the hostel, it was pretty cheap to get there. We were bale to check in immediately, but if our room had not been ready we still could have left our luggage in the luggage room. The staff is helpful, friendly, and always there when you need them. We booked all our attraction tickets right at the front desk, it was so simple. The room was clean and big enough for me and my 3 other friends. The breakfast they offer is basic, but it did fill me up. The bathroom is shared, but it was very clean. The wifi was not great inside the rooms, but in the lobby it worked perfectly. The decor was also cool. The bus stop was walking distance, and great restaurants and clubs were walking distance too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhilfs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

One of the best hostels in my life! The staff is incredible, very attentive and polite. The rooms are clean, quiet and you can sleep very well. The city is amazing, very beautiful and there is a lot of museums, historic sites to see... I would like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juvani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited it with my partner for a long weekend as a base during we are exploring Krakow. It is simply a wonderful and cheap place. You don't want to go anywhere because it is so nice:)
Homelike riny rooms, a big bed for two, great breakfast, you can have coffee, tea or snack at any time during the day, the staff is very kind and helpful, hostel and the rooms are always very clean. Big kitchen with fridge for everybody. Also a great location, between the city centre and the kazimierz (jewish part of the city).
I would definitely recommend it, we will go back too:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bspeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in one of the twin rooms in the garden wing for three nights with my friend for a long weekend in Krakow.

I was so pleased with the room we were staying in. It was clean and warm with plenty of light and space to put away my clothes. The bed was comfy and the bedding was warm which was just what we needed. The shower room was down the hallway and although it was shared with a number of people there wasn't much of a wait to use it.

The price of the room came with breakfast which was a bargain! The hostel serves a fine breakfast of bread cheese meats and pickles plus cereals and hot drinks. Absolutely great for starting the day.

The staff were very helpful especially when the smoke alarm broke in the middle of the night.

The only downside were a few noisy early rising guests! As in most hostels the walls are thin.

I would highly recommend staying here. The price is excellent and the location wonderful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#96 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#42 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#19 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#65 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Hostel

Property: The Secret Garden Hostel
Address: ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31 066, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#18 Family Hotel in Krakow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Secret Garden Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Secret Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing