We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice of a this B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 125 Krakow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect choice of a this B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My brother and I stayed at Tango House for 4 days from 1 July. The hotel is quirky in that it is an old building with lots of character. However, the rooms are spotlessly clean as well as the bathrooms. Shower has good pressure and plenty of hot water. The beds are comfortable and gave us both a good nights sleep. Our twin bedded room was very spacious. Our room no. 7 was over the courtyard and very quiet even on Friday night. The bell can be heard sometimes and so could the trumpeter. Neither ever woke us up during the night (not even sure they sound all night anyway)

We decided to accept the offer of an airport pick-up which was very convenient and fast. Also had the return trip too.

The breakfast room is small but cosy. Whilst we were there, it was never crowded and there was no competition for the coffee pot or toaster. the breakfast costs Zl 20 (about £4 or €5) extra and worth it. There is a selection of breads, meat, cheeses (the Blue cheese is wonderful) sliced tomato, cucumber and peppers and jams. There are also cereals and yoghurt. Coffee, orange juice and milk to drink. Personally, I like "different" when in another country

The location is superb, just a few yards (metres) from the main square.
The girls who look after Tango House are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. It was like having your own personal Guest Services Manager in a 5* hotel. When we arrived we were given coffee and biscuits and talked about Krakow. We found their advice very helpful. We decided to book tours to both Auschwitz and Salt mines. Although more expensive than doing it yourself on public Transport, it was far more convenient and an air-conditioned coach beats a bus where you might have to stand!
We also joined Free Walking Tours (paid for by donations) where the guides are very knowledgeable. Also went on a paid Free Walking Tour on a walking tour around Nova Huta, formerly a prototype Communist suburb built specially for workers working at the Steel Works (Zl 60 for 4 hours). We went to restaurants Kogel Mogel, Pod Wawelem twice and Ariel See reviews under restaurants

Krakow is a great destination and made more enjoyable by our choice of Tango House

Room Tip: Rooms over courtyard very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strandloper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to receive such a good feedback from our Guests. We are making maximum efforts to provide a welcoming atmosphere for our Guests. Hope to see you again! Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    115
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
224
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This quaint B&B is a 15min-walking distance from the train station and situated one street from the big square. We stayed on the second floor which is the top floor thus was very quiet. We did not mind the bugle sound from the tower in the square which tells the hour as it was their tradition to warn their people of enemy attack.
We found the location of this B&B very convenient as we can just walk out to the square where there are a lot of cafes/restaurants and shops are located - basically where the action of the town is. Also that is where most of the tours of the old town will meet.
Friendly and English-speaking Sabina was very helpful in giving out information to the salt mine and nearby restaurants, even carrying my luggage to our room on the second floor. She stayed behind to make sure the electricity came back on even when it was time to get off work.

Room Tip: If you do not like the bugle sound waking you up, do not stay near the square. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Susanna!

Thank you for your kind review!

It was a sheer pleasure to host you at Tango House and we certainly hope to do that again in the near future.

We hope you had a nice trip in Europe and that you will think well of Tango House.

Best regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at tango house for two nights. We received a lovely warm welcome and were able to leave our bags and go out and explore. Our room was a great size and the bathroom was modern. Breakfast was also very good. The staff were fantastic and lovely to talk to and nothing was ever too much trouble. we shall return and hope this review encourages others to go as it is a hidden gem and practically a 10 second walk from the square.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimswift92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Owner at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Kimberely!

Thank you for the kindest review.

It was a sheer pleasure to host you at Tango House and we certainly hope to do that again some day!

Have a wonderful rest of the trip!

Kind regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Two things absolutely stand out about Tango House-the phenomenally nice and helpful staff and the location. You can be anywhere in Krakow and be back in the room in 5 minutes should you need to. Staff are so friendly-always offering a cup of tea and recommendations.

The cons are the furnishings (sparse-although beds are comfortable) and noise. We had a room on the courtyard, not street, so we didn't have street noise. However, any noise from nearby rooms could be heard, like the guest above us one night who must have been suffering jet lag and was clicking away on the computer starting at 4 am.

Breakfast is a good deal.

I would have given it 4 stars if it was $20 less per night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MollyES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Molly,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at Tango House.

You have chosen our most expensive room (superior type). We do have rooms which ar a bit smaller and therefore cheaper (economy and standard type).

Hope that despite the cons you will think well of Tango House.

Kind regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff was nice and very helpful, our room large. But our "quiet" room was extremely noisy, mainly because of the "atmosphere" of the building. Creaking wooden steps up all three stories, banging heavy doors, clanking security gate, conversations in the courtyard, late night partyers, and of course, the 24-7 clock bells and tower bugler.
Cold items only for breakfast, in a very cramped setting.
Not so atmospheric as advertised.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrslo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review.

As you know, we are located in the heart of Krakow, just around the corner from the Saint Mary's Church. The bugle call has been played here since the Middle Ages and it is a symbol of Krakow. So far our guests really enjoyed the fact that they can listen to it over the open window.

Tango House is located in a building from the XVI century. It has its own charm with the historical staircase but we do understand that not all of our guests have to appreciate that.
Your room had windows facing courtyard and usually it is very quiet there.
We are sorry that you found it bothering and disturbing.

We hope that despite that you will think well of Tango House.

Kind regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Tango House. Sabina and the staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging tours for us. The location is unbeatable and the building has a lot of character, in a good sense. The speakers in our room were not functioning so we didn't get the benefit of the piped-in Tango music- but we enjoyed the ambiance nonetheless. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting you at Tango House and we hope you felt the same.

We are truly sorry about the non-functioning speaker in your room. We have already taken care of it. Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed the music at breakfast and at the reception.

Kind regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you want a perfect corporate style Hotel room don`t stay here..... It’s not that and that’s why it is a great place to unwind. It is unique. We loved it. The place is steeped in history and the location is impossible to beat. There is so much to do right in your door step or a short walk away.

The two girls are so helpful, they can`t do enough to make tour stay enjoyable. They helped the guests with excursions, travel, train bookings, you name it. You don`t just stay here you have someone to help you with almost any problem you encounter.

Krakow is fantastic and if you stay here it will be a better experience.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangoHouseKrakow, Manager at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very very much for your kind words. We do everything we can to make our guests' stay at Tango House pleasant and enjoyable.

It is nice to hear that our efforts do not all go to waste.

It was a pleasure to host you and we certainly wish to do that again some day!

Kind regards,

Tango House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Bracka 6
#2 of 408 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szpitalna 4 Street, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tango House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 16-century townhouse (Kraków's first public bathhouse), we are just around the corner from the famous Main Market Square. Our dedicated staff will work hard to make your stay truly enjoyable - we look forward to seeing you at Tango House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tango House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango House Bed And Breakfast
Tango House Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing