We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, felt safe and at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #9 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stay, felt safe and at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed at Columbus 6 to 9 November with my wife. I can only echo the theme of previous posititve reviews. The location is spot on being half way between Old Town and Podgorze area for Schindler etc. Wawalem Hill also very close. The Hotel has an olde feel to it but has all mod cons.The room wasfine and clean to a high standard. Mini bar and free safe a bonus. Only 2 English channels on TV ie CNN News and BBC World news. Could do with an English entertainment channel to be perfect. As stated before breakfast was served in a spotless room with ample seating and was of a high standard.

There is a small supermarket across the road from the hotel where you can buy drinks snacks etc very cheaply. Turn left o/s hotel and a few yards up road on left is a great bakers with cakes, filled rolls etc really cheap.

For a good ,cheap meal turn right o/s hotel and right at 1st jn, then 1st on left is a road calledSzeroka which leads to a small square.. As you enter this square on your left is a small hotel containg a restauranr called Klezmer Hois which was very good and cheap. Further into the square on right is one called Szara Kazimiriez, also very good. There is a nice small pub whose name escapes me a couple of doors from it. If you turn right off the sauare you will come to Plac Nowy, a large square with numerous bars and eateries.

Alarge glas of beer cost about 8 zloty( £1.60) and an expensive main course about £12, although they start at about £5.

When I exchanged money in UK I got 4.9 to pund. I noticed in the Kantors(exchanges) around the main square they were quoting 5.23 commission free so you may be better changing bulk of money in Krakow.

Finally Ididnt fancy using public transport from airport or for my trip to auschwitz, so I booked on line with an ex pat who runs a tour and transfer service in Krakow. I picked his brains on line and he was very helpful replying promptly. The service provided was punctual, efficient and I enjoyed my tour which he accompanied and proved to be an affable and knowledgable guide. I would recommend him. ( phil.clark@krakowtours.co.uk ).

Hope you find these tips helpful. Krakow is a very interesting, entertaining and friendly City where you wont spend a fortune. Have a good trip..

Room Tip: We were at back so it was very quiet. Ive seen comments about trams at front but I must say when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkegnessBiggerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    288
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
620
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The hotel is located in the Jewish quarter and only 10 mins walk from the main town square so the location is quite ideal. We had a double room, with balcony at the back of the hotel which was of decent size with modern bathroom. Small wardrobe with safe and the room had a mini bar (payable) with two complimentary bottles of water. Breakfast was more than adequate, with cereal, meats & cheeses, cakes and bacon & sausage. They allowed us to go into breakfast early on the day we visited Auschwitz as we had an early pick up.
Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and were happy to give directions and advise on where to change money and where to eat.
We arrived at 11am and were allowed into our room as it was ready. They stored our cases on check out as we had a few hours to pick up and once the mini bus came they took our luggage out for us.
If I return to Krakow I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the trams run outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We've just had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Hotel Columbus and felt compelled to write a review to let everyone know what a great little hotel this is.
It is in fantastic location, right opposite the tram stop so if you're using public transport to get in from the airport ( as we did) then it couldn't be handier. It is right in the heart of the Jewish Quarter and a ten minute walk away from the main square.
On our first night we were put into a room beside the lift which became a little noisy- it took just one comment to a staff member and we were moved to another room within ten minutes. Also, I had my birthday while I was there and the receptionist must have looked at my DOB on the form I signed and saw it because I was greeted with a birthday card and box of chocolates from the staff- you wouldn't get little touches like that in other establishments!
The rooms were very clean and pleasant. The toiletries left in the bathrooms were of a much higher quality than most hotels, another pleasant surprise.
The staff were incredibly helpful with regards to directions to local landmarks, giving us bus routes and ordering taxis etc. They had a very personal approach and showed a genuine interest in what we'd been up to and what we thought of Krakow.
The breakfasts were delicious; a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts, cheeses ( not just the usual selection but quite a vast assortment), cold meats, fruit juices, scrambled/fried eggs, bacon and sausages. There was also the option of cake with your coffee.
We also had a small safe in our room, something that we were impressed with and used to keep out passports etc in.
We intend to visit Krakow again and will be staying at the Hotel Columbus again. For a relatively small, three star hotel, we were given five star service.
Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lift and the front of the building as it is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Columbus hotel provided excellent service and the staff was terrific! I was visiting Krakow and Poland for the first time and looking for my grandfather's birth place. He left Poland over a 100 years ago and all I had was grandpa's census document from around 1900. By reviewing this document Anna at the front desk located my grandfather's birthplace which was a village next to the city of Kolo. My wife and I later visited this village and had a wonderful experience. So I cannot say enough about the staff there. All were very friendly and enjoyed discussing world events and answering my many questions. The morning breakfast was very good with great breads, coffee, and a variety of foods. If we ever get back to Krakow, we will certainly be staying at Hotel Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Columbus Hotel in Krakow and could not have had a better experience in a 5 star property. The hotel is located on a tram line only 1 block from the Jewish quarter and a pleasant 15 minute walk to the Market Square in Old Town. During our stay, we received great assistance from numerous members of the staff at the hotel (Anna, Alexandra, Bernadette, Marcel, Phillip, and Bogdan, and Claudia). We were directed to the best restaurants, those where the locals eat and given good advice regarding our day trip to Zakopane. Upon our return from our daily excursions, we were always asked about how we had spent our day. Everyone on the staff seemed to have a genuine pride about their city and country.

The complimentary breakfasts were excellent and the coffee was good. The breakfast room, the hotel lobby, and the guest rooms were always spotless- one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in during our travels during the last ten years. The wi-fi in our room had slow connectivity during our first day, but the problem was immediately addressed and corrected. The only negative that one could reference about this hotel is its proximity to the tram line and stop outside the front entrance. We found this to be more convenience than detriment. This is a 3 star property and the rates are very reasonable considering all the amenities you receive here. I would give the hotel a higher rating. I cannot think of anything but good things to say about the Columbus Hotel.

Room Tip: If you think you will be bothered by the trams, ask for a room looking out upon the courtyard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

An excellent small hotel, walking distance to the 'happening' areas, clean, great breakfast and exceptionally friendly (English speaking) staff. Staff will organise trips for you, door-to-door collection and return, Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Despite being a very busy street (with trams), we had a front room and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#31 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing