We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #14 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel review”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

stayed in this hotel for four nights.beautiful hotel;spotless clean and all staff were very nice and courteous.breakfast was lovely.as were the rooms.would definetley go back. thanks for the warm welcome

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinCORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for sending such kind comments, we certainly appreciate hearing them.
It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.

We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.

Wishing you only good trips

With kindest regards
Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    313
    34
    7
    1
See reviews for
203
671
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Calder, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

About 10 min walk to the old town, room was good, breakfast had plenty, cereal, eggs, sausage fruit, cold meat,etc. Mini bar in room, no bar or restaurant in hotel, but plenty nearby. Leave hotel, turn left, cross the road that is right angle to hotel, go diagonal into small square and 6 or 7 restaurants are available.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel was very quiet, room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkLochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be happy to welcome you back again at the Columbus hotel.
Kind Regards

Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is a bit of a belated review. We have stayed at the Columbus twice now, once in September last year, and having enjoyed it so much, a return visit in January. Both times, the hotel was superb. It has been refurbed for our second visit, a new reception, and an additional floor added. The rooms are lovely, very comfy beds, a mini safe, and mini bar, plus flat screen t.v.
The breakfast was very good, buffet style, lots of variety, eggs cooked to order if you so wish, unlimited coffee, tea etc.
Now to the staff. Absolutely superb! So helpful, willing to assist in any way. One even went with my husband to the nearby shop to make sure he purchased the correct sim card for his phone! One of the staff ( Bogdan ) was very helpful with advice where to eat, visit etc. Reception lady lovely too.
Our favourite restaurant was the Trezo, just round the corner from the hotel. Superb meals in a lovely restaurant, with live music playing from around 8pm.
Krakow is our favourite city, so much so we've got a return visit already booked in June. And where are we staying? You've guessed it, the Columbus!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bevscwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback and so kind words.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and spent a good time in Cracow It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.
We are very glad that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in June!!
Best regards Beata Michalska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break to Krakow and stayed in this lovely hotel. We arrived on Monday 3rd March and were given a warm greeting by the reception staff. He explained that he was unsure if we required double or twin rooms and they had allocated us 1 double and 2 twins. He said that it would not be a problem to change the 2 twin rooms for double rooms the following day. We declined this offer as it did not bother us being in a twin room. The double room was at the front of the hotel and was very noisy due to the trams on main street. The hotel changed this room for a room at the back the following day.
There is a minibar in the room which is reasonably priced and bottled water is supplied free of charge.
Breakfast was very good. A small selection of cooked meats, cheese and salad, plus yogurts, cereal and fruit. Bread rolls, bread and lurpak butter was also available. The hot options were bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs, but if you wanted a fried or soft boiled egg, you just had to ask and they would be made fresh.
The hotel recommended 2 restaurants for us to go to, Ysara and Trezo. We went to both and had fantastic meals. Trezo was the least expensive of the 2.
We walked around Krakow easily because the hotel is centrally located in the Old Jewish part of Krakow and is only a 15 minute walk from the main square in Krakow.
The only downside to the stay was that we were woken very early in the morning because a lot of building work was being done in the building next door. This was not the hotels fault and it didn't bother us too much.
We booked our transfers with transfers@transfers.pl and we also booked to go to Aushwitz and the Salt Mines with this company.
If we were to return to Poland I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel where there is less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caltrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback
And so kind words.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and spent a good time in Cracow
It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.

We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.

Ps. Thank you for your opinion regarding the building work next door. We have already taken steps to avoid such a problem in the following days. I am sorry for inconvenience again.

With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel and staff wonderful. They made booking very easy and during holiday assisted with directions, booking taxis, getting tram tickets, booking trips and even ordering pizzas and delivering to room if asked .Everyone very friendly and breakfasts wonderful...certainly use again
free water in room, mini bar good value , own safe in room and room clean and welcoming. front room could be a bit noisy from trams etc but did not deter from us having wonderful stay. Central location, within walking distance of everything in town,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for sending such kind comments.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel
and spent a good time in Cracow.

We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.

With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent wee hotel right in the heart of the Jewish district. Ability to walk everywhere or get the tram directly outside the door! Excellent English speaking staff I can highly recommend and sorted taxis and tours to Auschwitz and the salt mines for us. Lovely and plentiful breakfast every morning and free bottled water in the room. Would have absolutely no hesitation returning here in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seamus508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your stay at the Columbus Hotel and your positive feedback. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back
to the Krakow area.
best regards
Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel based on the T A reviews. We were somewhat dubious about booking a 3star hotel but I can honestly say we were not disappointed. The room was lovely, warm and very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The mini bar was the cheapest we have ever used! There is no tea making facilities in the room but you can order a morning tray to be delivered to your room for a very reasonable price. If you ask for it at 6.30, that is exactly what time it arrives! Amazing service!The staff couldn't have been more friendly & helpful and the breakfast was more than enough to suit most palates.
The only downside to this "hotel" is that it is more like a B&B, only because there is no bar and comfortable sitting areas where you can relax without going to your room. Maybe this is why they have only been awarded 3 stars because of lack of facilities? That said, we had a great time and would definitely stay again and I have recommended to a couple of friends.
Well done Hotel Columbus and all the staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chickincheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus hotel. Thank you for your opinion regarding a bar in hotel. We offer the room - service ( with some of drinks on the menu) for our guests. Still, we will consider your opinion as
a good advice for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back at our hotel.

Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
988 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 260 in Krakow
1,785 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#15 of 260 in Krakow
1,217 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#36 of 260 in Krakow
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing