We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #9 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
london to perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed in Hotel Columbus last week for 4 nights. It is a very nice, and especially clean hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The bedrooms are basic but again very clean. The beds are comfy, and the shower was very good. The hotel is just a short walk from all the city centre attractions, which makes the hotel an ideal tourist location.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Columbus.

  • Liked — The comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airmyles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    282
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
180
610
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We booked two rooms here for 3 nights from October 31st and had the most lovely weekend. From the point of arrival, the staff at the Columbus Hotel were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The rooms are great with very comfy beds and good showers, while the excellent breakfast was enough to fill you up for a busy day of sightseeing. The hotel's location is perfect for seeing all that beautiful Krakow has to offer.

I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kristy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband & I have just returned from a 5-night stay at the Columbus which we thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish. We arrived early (around noon), were given a warm welcome and were able to check in straight away, with the hotel staff bringing our luggage up to and showing us into our room. The room was lovely - warm and cosy, well-furnished and clean (and was maintained this way throughout our stay). Staff were helpful, polite and friendly at all times eg on entering/exiting the hotel or the breakfast room. There were plenty of choices of foods at breakfast, with lots of vegetarian and healthy options too, and all was very fresh each day. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good night's sleep every night, and were never disturbed by any sort of noise or by other hotel residents. Although the hotel is located in the Kazmierz area, it was only a 10-15 minute walk to the main square and still felt 'central' - we had dinner there most evenings and enjoyed the post-dinner walk home to the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay in the same place if we were to return to Krakow.

  • Liked — Warm/comfortable accommodation; good breakfasts; good customer service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameMonsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Columbus. Party of 4 ladies in their 50s. Booked the Columbus after reading all the hotel reviews from Krakow - not disappointed in any way. It's a lovely hotel in a perfect part of the city. We ate out in Kamierz every night - 2 minutes walk from hotel, an excellent meal in a different restaurant every night. Breakfast was very good and the manner and service of all hotel staff spot on. Room was lovely (I had requested rooms at the back so they would be quiet) and bathroom was great. All of the party very happy!

  • Liked — convenience to centre of town and jewish area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martocklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbridge NI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

We stayed at Hotel Columbus, thanks to Tripadvisor recommendations and found it absolutely excellent - friendly staff, spotlessly clean, extensive breakfast, super room for our family of two adults and 2 children (triple with extra bed) which made the cost very reasonable and in a convenient location about 10 - 15 minutes from the main square. We were right on the edge of the Jewish Quarter and had two lovely meals in Pepe Rosso (needed to book) and Restaurant/Bar Portofino which were both a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. We were so tired at night that it was great to have a range of super restaurants so close. Generally a fantastic short break, with lots to do and see and lovely weather which was a bonus! Couldn't recommend Hotel Columbus highly enough!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no negative thoughts
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbanbridgeNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

First time to Krackow and it was wonderful!
Where ever we went the hospitality was great and the people really friendly. Travelled from the airport by train to Krackow which cost 6zl each (£1.50) then a taxi to the hotel 13zl (£3.25) .Taxi direct from airport is approx 70zl (£18.00).
Arrived at the Columbus at 6pm to a very warm welcome, a lovely room and lots of helpful advice from reception of how to get around to sightsee, eat and drink. Our room was at the front and the noise from the roads is very well insulated, anyway it is nice to look out and see how the locals get about etc.
Hotel great with lots of variety at breakfast, well refurbished, comfortable rooms and having access to the internet meant that you could recap tripadvisor's recommendations.
We would suggest:
that you get your currency in Krackow, we got 3.65 to £ in England and 4.30 to £ in Krackow town.
Stay at the Columbus for value, comfort and relaxation.
Wander down the side streets for good pubs
Go in a horse drawn carriage it costs 100zl for 30 mins, its romantic and you get to see all the landmarks.
Spend sunday afternoon in the square having a drink, the atmosphere is wonderful with street entertainers and brass bands.
Fab place to visit for a weekend.

  • Liked — The warmth and comfort of the rooms, they let us stay in our room until 2pm
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MakenLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Stayed 4 nights at rhe Columbus and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was excellent from check in to getting shown to your room, bedrooms kept immaculate and breakfast buffet continuously replenished.
Hotel only open a year so everything was gleaming. The interior design is fantastic.
Reception offered to book tours for us but we chose to "do" excursions to Wieliczka Salt Mine and Auschwitz independently. Both were easy to do by public transport and considerably cheaper than taking the escorted options available.
Enjoyed the Kazimierz area of the city. Clearly here is a lot happening there in terms of regeneration and really enjoyed the vibe in that area. Was also glad of the works going on in ul. Starwislna when we were there. I know it seems odd to say that but it largely kept traffic and trams from passing our front facing room. I'm sure this would be a factor when things get back to normal so i would recommend asking for a room to the rear of the property.
Had some great meals - went to Pepe Rosso, Nostalgia, Trzy Papryczki and Miod i Malina. The latter was our favourite. Beatiful food and a great atmosphere.
Weather was mixed but this did not keep us from exploring the city and the main square and Wawel Castle are lovely.
All in all a great place for a city break and i have been recommending it to everyone since my return.
I will be back....

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#7 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Hotel Galaxy
#32 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing