We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #13 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2009

A great value hotel - We stayed 4 nights and returned for a further 2. There were lovely staff, clean and modern rooms and its a good location being near the old town and next to the Jewish quarter. The front rooms are slightly noisy as its on a fairly busy road but not too bad. i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Huge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2009

Just returned from a four night stay at the Columbus Hotel. Location was good - an easy 10-15 minute walk into the centre with a good variety of bars of restaurants only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff at the hotel recommended the AWIW restaurant just around the corner and this was a great choice!

One thing that I felt did let the hotel down slightly was the noise - after reading other reviews I had requested a room at the back of the hotel. Although you could still hear the faint rumble of the trams this was not the problem - the doors constantly banged, we could hear someone coughing in the next room and at 1.30am one morning a rowdy group of youngsters returned to their rooms with no consideration for other guests. It was also rather annoying to hear a hotel employee banging on the group's door announcing loudly that their pizza had arrived!! Usually not one for complaining I did speak to the reception staff the next morning who dealt with my complaint brilliantly and there was no more noise the following night.

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but for the price that we paid (around £50 a night with Alpha Rooms) it was more than adequate for our needs. We requested a non-smoking room with a shower and this is exactly what we got. Breakfast was plentiful and served until 10.30 if you fancied a lie in.

Apart from the noise issue I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Krakow. It's in a great location, is very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sw1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed in the Columbus for five days in January 2009 for a combined holiday/business trip. I would highly recommend it for visitors to Krakow.

The location is perfect - right in Kazimierz with its culture, restaurants and nightlife but just a short walk into the Old Town or down to Podgorze. The price was very reasonable - we got a free fifth night for the price of four. Staff were very friendly and breakfast more than adequate (and they went on serving it till 10.30, which was a bonus). We had a quiet room at the back, and I would recommend asking for this - you could still hear the trams from there. Decor slightly dated but everything was very clean and well equipped. By hotel standards, the mini bar prices were very reasonable (though there are myriad small shops in the vicinity for supplies).

This is not a luxury hotel, but we had an exceptionally comfortable and pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LardB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Columbus for 4 days/3 nights in July 2008 and I am definitely glad with the choice we made. The hotel is in a great location with Kazimierz literally a few steps away and the Rynek as well as Wawel Castle a brief walk (10-15 minutes tops). The hotel was very clean as well as the bathroom having an adequate supply of toilertries. The minibar was full, and bottles of mineral water were provided gratis. The only negative part of the hotel was the location on the busy street, but this could be easily solved. After reading reviews of it's location I sent an email to the front desk asking for a non-smoking room in the back of the hotel, and I got just that. The room also had a balcony which looked into a courtyard.

Breakfast was provided each day and the waitresses working was adequate and provided hot items if requested,There was a always refilled items and well as tendeing to the guests. Food computer near the lobby in case you needed to check e-mail, etc.

Overall a great choice and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
1  Thank em1234em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This is a good little three star hotel offering excellent value and quality and I am quite fussy.
Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel. We booked a non-smoking room and found ourselves in a front room which although pleasant, was facing the noisy road. The hotel is on a very busy road with trams rumbling by every few minutes and cars tooting and roaring past.
We requested to move to the rear of the hotel and the staff didn't mind at all and happily moved us. While the rear room was a smoking room you could not tell, although anything dropped on the carpet would pick up a mild smell of tobacco.
The room at the back was lovely, quiet and comfortable. Two comfortable beds, a very well stocked mini bar and large wardrobe, tv and nice and warm. There is a temperature control on the radiator if it gets too warm. The room at the front of the hotel had a bath and shower, but the room at the back had just a shower, although it was a rather fancy walk-in circular glass cubicle. A clean, modern bathroom with a full range of lovely toiletries.
The breakfast room is small but the food excellent and the best cup of tea I have had in the world outside of the UK....and I am not joking. Proper milk (not UHT long life milk) and the water boiled properly.
The hotel is just a minute's walk from the Jewish quarter which has some excellent restaurants including Spanish, Italian etc and about a 15 minute walk from the town square.
The staff were friendly.
One of my traveling companions was staying at the Qubus Hotel and her room was comparable to mine but but she paid a lot more than my stay at the Columbus, however she did get the swimming pool and the other facilities including the business suite and a nice bar/atrium area to have a cocktail in. The Columbus does not have an evening social scene as it is so small but I enjoyed returning to my haven of peace at a fraction of the cost.
As there were three of us we hired taxis to take us to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines and the service from the driver was prompt and excellent. He ensured we arrived on time to get the English tours and sorted out our tickets and for 370 zloty to Auschwitz (plus 20 zloty each for the tour guide)and 180 zloty to the Salt Mines (not including entry fee of 64 zloty each) this was excellent value. There are many taxi companies offering these services and we just searched for one on the internet and booked one from the UK before arriving in Poland. The taxi driver was waiting for us at the airport. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Stayed based on TripAdvisor reviews, was not dissappointed. The room was sleek and super clean, bed very comfortable...loved, loved loved those crisp white starched sheets, felt like a million dollars sleeping on them. Staff was exceptional, very helpful. Walk is about 15 minutes from city center, but the #34 tram picks you up almost right in front of the hotel and drops you off in front of hotel and your're at the city center in just minutes.
I stayed here 5 nights and on my last night changed hotels to Old TIme hotel which was a few minutes closer to town and had only been opened for six months. I wish I had just stayed at Hotel Columbus! Only drawback was the smoking, a group was in town and they smoked in the tiny lobby. Hated that, but other than that all was wonderful and I'm very hard to please.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kennydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

I thought the hotel was pleasant but not outstanding.
Approx 25mins walk from bus/train station and maybe 15/20 mins into the old town square. On a fairly busy road with a tram stop nearby. Supermarket over the road. There was a bar in the hotel but during my 3 day stay I saw nobody use it, so there was no visible social scene in the hotel. Room was functional, bed comfortable but not luxurious, small balcony, desk/dressing table, good shower (no bath in my room) and nice citrus toiletries (also available at Four Pillars Hotels premium rooms in the UK). Room was very warm (why radiator set to max?).Funky carpets in room, floor tiles in bathroom (not heated). Breakfast was a good offer; usual selection of cereals, cold meat and cheeses. Enjoyed the nutty bread. Hot choice of scrambled egg/bacon/frankfurter type sausage and I think boiled/poached egg to order. Huge choice of dining options in the vicinity. Nothing to advertise whether the hotel would organise trips to the local tourist sites ie salt mine, auschwitz, zakopane. In summary, very good value but a more central location to the old town would make it perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 262 in Krakow
1,937 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galaxy
#34 of 262 in Krakow
1,486 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , getaroom.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing