We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic tourist class hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexander II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexander II
Ranked #118 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Wrexham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, basic tourist class hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

A good location, just 10 mins walk from old town. 4 min walk to large shopping centre. Hotel clean and comfortable. Rooms a good standard. Continental buffet breakfast served. Lots of choice and plenty to eat. Friendly staff. Only downside is that is is right next to railway line. Ask for rooms facing away from line and higher floors were better. Hotel used by school groups but wasn't a problem. Ideal when most of the time is spent out sightseeing.

Room Tip: High floor not facing railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELMWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    128
    58
    18
    12
See reviews for
42
97
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

stayed at alexander for 3 nights 16 - 19 march, hotel was in an excellent location, only down side was the railway line at the back, natalia on reception was excellent, organised all our trips and anything else we needed,

Room Tip: choose a room at front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked as part of a Jet2 package. Stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is perfectly located, just a short walk from the old town. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent with a varied choice.
The only downside which stops me giving it 5 stars, is its proximity to a very busy rail line (the hotel is close to the main railway station). Trains run all night and on occasions can be noisy. We were on the third floor which wasn't too bad, but I can imagine first or second floor rooms may be worse. Won't stop us returning however.

Room Tip: The higher the better due proximity of rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredPaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked as part of an Easyjet package three of us stayed here on a 4 day weekend. The hotel was warm, friendly, clean and more importantly convenient for both the market square (5 min' walk), the railway station (also 5 min' walk), and the Jewish quarter (a must) which is a £2 taxi ride.
The breakfast at the hotel was fully continental, along with cereals, toast plus sausage & egg, juices, tea & coffee etc. The staff ordered good quality taxis for us when needed and likewise we booked our Auschwitz/Birkenau trip via them. An executive Mercedes mini bus with film and English speaking guide for the day all for a fraction under £30, a not to miss bargain and history lesson.
For those just looking for a clean bed with breakfast thrown in, I cannot fault it.

Room Tip: All rooms/floors seem good, with lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of Jan 2014 , having checked various hotels in Krakow we decided from reading various reviews to book alexander ll and we were not dissapointed.
The staff from the hotel were helpful from the start of the booking they arranged the transfers from and to the airport for us, were friendly polite and extemly helpful and knowledgeable .
Although we had arranged trips previous to our arrival the hotel offered trips to the salt mine Auschwitz etc.
Breakfast started at 7am until 10am with a good selection cereals, scrambled eggs sausages breads meats salads etc etc dining room was comfortable clean and well presented
The room we booked was a double standard , it was a large room the double was actually twin beds put together although comfortable their was a dressing table with mini bar wardrobe and a decent size bathroom which was spotless the room had air conditioning which was easily controlled by ourself . The room was cleaned daily with towels and linen changed at our request.
Location is good less than 10 mins from the main square and a large shopping mall , tram and buses are less than 5 mins walk
Overall we could find no fault with this hotel and would highly recommend this to friends and family

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gavintys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at Alex Ii for 2 days, and it was all I asked for and MORE! Location was only 5 min's from train station, 10 min's from delightful Old Town, and central to Krakow....also just 10 m's from bus station if making visit to Auschwitz. And...5 m's from major underground mall.

Management/reception staff were so helpful and informative for a first time visitor to Krakow. Oh, I failed to mention breakfast, standard European plus scrambled eggs. Price....won' beat it. I checked several hotels nearby.

Thanks, Hotel Alexander II! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from train. Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seeitall0444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Nice & Clean. No Bar,No Restaurant for a Snack,TV was"nt working, told them on Friday and on Sunday they said they could"nt fix it because it Sunday ! No Kettle in the rooms for a brew there are Hot Water bowsers on the landing but 3rd floor was"nt working so a trip in the lift for our first coffee of the morning. Good Location though

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krakow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#93 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#84 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#55 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Europejski Hotel
#61 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#40 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Stare Miasto
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#121 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander II

Property: Hotel Alexander II
Address: ul. Dr. Ludwika Zamenhofa 14, Krakow 31-025, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander II 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing