We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacked atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Apis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Apis
Ranked #128 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
offaly
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lacked atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Apis hotel as part of a city break. On the positive, We found the hotel to be very clean and the rooms and bathrooms were fine with extra blankets and air conditioning. The reception staff were helpful when asked any questions although we found most of the staff had little or no english.
There were a few things that this hotel lacked which we felt would have been appreciated, a hairdryer and a kettle in the room with some tea or coffee. you could borrow an iron at reception if it was required.
The breakfast we found was lacking, and did not really cater for the irish or english taste.There was hot dogs, and german sausage, and i think it was supposed to be scrambled egg but it looked very unappetising as it seemed to just be sitting in water. There was only a bit more variety when there seemed to be a larger crowd for breakfast. A toaster was only introduced on our last morning when there was a bus tour staying.
The bar closed at 10pm which we felt was to early as the hotel was at least a 10 to 15 minute bus ride from Krakow centre, the restaurant also closed at 10 and the selection of drinks on offer was limited, with only one polish beer on offer. We found the total lack of atmosphere in both the bar, restaurant and dining room very off putting.
The hotel was away from the centre of the main town and we felt after a long day sightseeing, you wouldn't be up to trekking back into town on a bus. There is only 1 little restaurant/bar about 200m from the hotel opposite the 105 bus stop. Its called the "Besiada" we can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If your heading to Kracow, pay a few euros more and get a room in a hotel in the town centre, better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjoOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
39
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a decent 2 to 3-star hotel, I wouldn't say it was good value, but rather that you get exactly what you pay for.

The room is a decent size, the bathroom small, and there is no fridge, safe or kettle. Opt for a room overlooking the houses at the back; the ones in front face an awful orange building, a car sales lot and grimy road.

Breakfast is decent but virtually unvarying, so at the end of our 5-night stay there, my husband did not even go down for it.

Among the plusses is that Apis is not located in the cocoon of the tourist areas, and we enjoyed being with locals on the bus rides into and back from the town centre. The No. 105 is very regular and runs till 11pm. No. 139 from this stop also goes to the communist-era township of Nowa Huta. In addition, there is an excellent restaurant right by the bus stop, Briesada, which serves great Polish food.

Restaurant service is so-so but among the reception staff, a couple are quite helpful, including one who managed to change our room to one facing the back despite the hotel being fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a more pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemakan_Angin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
712 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our first visit to Hotel Apis and was booked as part of a City break. The location is very good because it is away from the trams of Krakow which start up at 04.30 am every morning.Being on the main Krakow-Warsaw road it is ideal for further exploration.
Rooms are very spacious,airy,very clean and tidy. The reception staff could not do enough for us- most helpful and informative- nothing was too much trouble. They booked us a fabulous Jewish restaurant and Klezmer music night in Kazimierz and all taxis to and from Krakow centre.
Cannot praise the hotel staff enough.
Our trip was successful and varied- Krakow central with SO much to see/do - the churches are fantastic,Schindler's factory, Auszwitz and Birkenhau, Zakopane mountains in the South, Wieliczka salt mines-wonderful break, delicious foods, would definately return to the same hotel to further explore the many sights and interests that Krakow has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel preclude the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauliCracow, Manager at Hotel Apis, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Rebecca,
On behalf of our entire team I would like to kindly appreciate your feedback. It is always very pleasant and motivating when our guests share so positive thoughts with us. Thank you for your confidence! We have hope you had a good journey home. You are more than welcome to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Apis hotel for four nights in early August, which is a about 15 minute bus ride from Krakow city centre. Don't be put off by the location as
we found the staff to be friendly and helpful although some of staff didn't speak English well.
The receptionist on arrival was great giving us alot of information maps, bus times and also helped with a telephone call to a tour company to conferm our booking.
Would consider staying here again if i make another visit Krakow

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubylou2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was surprised how good this hotel was for the price we paid. Our room was small but big enough and equipped with air conditioning. I was worried when I heard our room was on the second floor, seeing as there's a busy street just outside the hotel but our room was facing the other way and was very silent actually. Breakfast was good with lots of options. They even served pancakes, omelettes and fried eggs to order. There was a computer in the lobby you could use to check your email etc. for free which was a nice touch. The only minus for this place comes from the location which isn't so great. It's about 5 km from downtown Krakow and buses don't go as often as you'd like. It's especially hard to go back and forth in the evening or at night. Other than that, I'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnowskie Gory
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a squash event taking place at a nearby club and in the centre of town which is only a 10 minute taxi ride away.

Very friendly staff, room was very basic but large and perfectly adequate for anyone looking for somewhere just to lay their head take and take a shower before venturing back out to explore this superb city.

The hotel has free wifi, something as a business person I find essential and other big more expensive hotels have the cheek to charge for.

Breakfast was a good selection of the usual hot and cold options you would expect from this star of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Bellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have just come back from a 4 day stay at Hotel Apis. I had an issue with the dates of my booking prior to going Krakow and the staff were extremely helpful in dealing with my problem. The room was excellent, the food was 5* and outstanding value! The hotel is a little out of the town centre but with a restaurant as good as it is you do not need to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Swing
Hotel Swing
#100 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
#34 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
#144 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow
Q Hotel Krakow
#84 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#126 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel B.A.S. Villa Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apis

Property: Hotel Apis
Address: al. 29 Listopada 137, Krakow 31-406, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apis 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing