We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its not always what its cracked up to be”
Review of Hotel Alpin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpin
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Szczyrk
Certificate of Excellence
bolton england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“its not always what its cracked up to be”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

hugely expensive by polish standards.....szcyrk gets a little nippy sometimes , probably minus 30 in winter , so i was really disappointed that there was no heated smoking area , rooms are cosy without being exceptionally so , although the mattresses in my room were and i guess , still are very very cosy.......great internet access........mum said the breakfast was only ok......a moot point , but i notice in many european hotels you can take your dog with you.....what is the opinion of other travellers , would you rather a room where someone has smoked or one where a dog has been with all its possible consquences?

Room Tip: you can do much better for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winkydinkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
14
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I attended a wonderful wedding of our friends in this lovely hotel. The quality of all aspects of this hotel was clearly evident. Rooms were perfect and spotlessly clean, the food at the wedding reception was truly out of this world. Breakfast the next morning (despite the men being a trifle quiet from too many glasses of 'falling over water' was perfect. If you are in this area in the wintertime as it is primarily a ski resort, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days. The area fantastic. Very calm and you can relax the whole day. Pure nature with a lot of mountains, trees and no stress. The rooms are very clean, well styled and functional. You won't miss anything. The stuff is very friendly, multilingual and make good espresso - as is should be. Definitely will come back to enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

So we stayed at Hotel Alpin in August 2012, actually it was our wedding and we chose Alpin as we have some fondness for Szczyrk.

We had a great weekend, actually i stayed for three nights, while my partner two. We'd booked and arranged everything well in advance (like 2 years). When our guests checked in everything was easy and straight forward. Both of my gripes came down to poor levels of English. The first of which was presented at check in.... A nice gesture (a break down of times and events for the wedding day) gone wrong... On Saturday was our "weeding day" I was worried we'd be out in the garden weeding... luckily not :) A catalogue of mistakes.... I asked the receptionist IF she could reprint them and give to guests.... nothing was done which was annoying as I work as a teacher and proofreader, my partner as a translator..... Simple things....

My second gripe is there is a nice little bar outside (in the grounds), my family wanted to buy rounds of drinks for our guests on Friday, but they were annoyed they couldn't charge to their room and pay by card later. Again it's the small things!

The room I had for Friday was nice, it contained everything I needed and was very comfortable... We had the window open so could hear the disco going on below, luclily i was so tired i fell asleep with ease!

One thing..... i dropped my iPhone in the bar and didn't notice for a few hours... when I did me and my friend went and spoke to the receptionist and the barman came and gave me it, we wanted to give him some money/vodka but he refused to take anything, nice guy!

The day was well organised and food certainly was a plenty, we had a ball! I recommend the food there, my parents, family etc loved it all.... even our vegetarians were delighted!

Altogether is was great, I recommend checking out the jacuzzi and steam room! It costs some money but well needed after a busy weekend!

We'd love to stay again, but we only live round the corner!

Room Tip: Check if there is a wedding.... if so request a room in the front of the hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian_bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

There are very few good hotels in Szczyrk and even fewer that feature on any internet search. This is one of the best. In rural Poland, one cannot expect high levels of sophistication or comfort. Even hotels with 5 stars tend to disappoint. The Alpin is clean, friendly and efficient. The rooms are small but then they only cost about 300 Zlotys a night (less than $100 and about £50 at today's - Feb 2009 - rate). There are two bigger apartments which cost about double. Breakfast is adequate. There is plenty of parking and wifi in the bar area and rooms. If you are going to go to this area of Poland than I would recommend this hotel for an inexpensive and undemanding stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GvKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Szczyrk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elbrus Spa & Wellness
0.9 mi away
Meta Hotel
Meta Hotel
#4 of 11 in Szczyrk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Klimczok Hotel Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Skalite Spa & Wellness
0.5 mi away
Orle Gniazdo Congress & Recreation Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gorski
Hotel Gorski
#11 of 11 in Szczyrk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpin

Property: Hotel Alpin
Address: ul. Beskidzka 40, Szczyrk 43-370, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Silesia Province > Szczyrk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Szczyrk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpin 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing