We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start to our day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gong

Gong
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zakopane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gong
Ranked #25 of 239 Zakopane B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great start to our day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed for four nights at Chalet Gong just before Christmas as we were skiing with Sunshine World at nearby Bialka. The proprietor, Stanley, is very helpful and our rooms (nos 1 and 2) were clean, warm, spacious and perfect as a base. Free wi-fi is a great help too. Although there is no collective sitting room to relax in at the end of the day, the bedrooms are fairly spacious and come equpped with an electric kettle and cups. The en-suite bathrooms are spotless and very efficient. No hairdryers or soap so bring your own.The breakfasts are legendary and the perfect start to a hard day sliding down mountains. It is located very close to the town centre in a quiet side street. All in all a very good value b&b that suited our family group perfectly. And wonderful skiing with lots of snow made this a perfect stay in a very beautiful part of the Poland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnybrook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Centrally located, walking distance from bus station (about 30mins), & short walk to Krupowki (5mins). Our room was simply decorated but clean & comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous & delicious, with varieties of cheeses, ham, sausages, breads, cake, juice, etc. The establishment was run by a pleasant couple, Stan & Barbara, with their pets, dog & cat. Free wireless Internet in the room. We'll certainly stay again when we visit Zakopane again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in there last summer it was more then we could ever wanted, great atmosphere; the owners of the place are so nice and always ready to help. Breakfast was beautiful Barbara always made sure that we have everything we need! When we arrived after a long journey Barbara brought us a brew and a sandwich to our room! We felt really looked after and welcomed at all times :) We will definitely stay there this year too! And the location is TOP!
Gosia & Marc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights as single traveller, on skiing break. Stan and Barbara are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I ate vegetarian and the meals were terrific; there was so much food at breakfast and dinner. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here last week for 7 nights with my Wife and 2 Children. Stan and his Wife Barbara made us feel very welcome and no request was a problem. Stan always had time for a little chat every morning and evening and seemed to enjoy our Children playing with their Dog and Cat. It was our first Skiing trip and they went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. The family room was spacious with modern bathroom and a lovely view from the balcony. The location as mentioned by other reviews here is superb, also the restaurant next door was our favourite. We look forward to seeing Stan and Barbara next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DublinJohn155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a very pleasant weekend stay at Gong. Although their website is only in Polish don’t let this discourage non-Polish speakers. The very pleasant owner responded to my e-mails in English and when at Gong, humoured my pigeon Polish, and was able to give very helpful recommendations (in English).

As others have said, the location is perfect, just off the main street - close enough for getting to good restaurants and the attractions of Zakopane, but far enough away for a good night’s sleep. The room was clean, comfortable, well heated, with a nice bathroom and strong shower. The breakfast offered a good selection of breads, cereal, meats & cheeses. Free, off street parking, was also a bonus.

I would stay here again and recommend this place to others. I may pick a room further from the stairwell as we could hear people coming and going (we were in room 2) and may bring our own towels as they were fairly thin and scratchy (as with most European B&B’s) .

Room Tip: Room 2 has a double bed, but is near the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jock286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Together with my Husband we spent lovely 4 days in Zakopane. And it surely wasn’t enough!
As usual by reading reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to book B&B Gong! And what a good choice it was!
First of all the location is fabulous! Just off the main street Krupowki! Close to everything! But in a nice and quiet area so you will get plenty of rest and piece if that’s what you aiming for!
Secondary the owners! Oh what a sweethearts!
We originally booked room number 10! We arrived very early in the morning and did not expect to get a room right away as the check in is 14.00. But to our surprise we not only saw our room ready but also the owner showed us two other rooms we could choose from! I was so surprise! How nice!
The other rooms were much bigger than the one we originally booked but we still decided to stick to our room number 10.
After we decided on the room the owner called us downstairs for breakfast! Oh how surprise was I again as we had a breakfast included but only from the next morning!
The start was very promising! Choice of rooms plus complimentary breakfast on arrival! Wonderful!
And from there it was only better! The owners were so helpful with booking taxis, explaining local attraction, recommending restaurants and showing the way.
Every morning they would be downstairs in the breakfast room chatting and asking how things going and how we enjoying the holidays.
I want to say I have stayed in many hotels, B&Bs and private apartments around the world but this small B&B was so far the most pleasant and comfortable I have ever been to! The feeling of being very important guest and well looked after was just so nice! We felt like home!
Although rooms were very simple but comfortable with a big bathroom and lovely shower the owners truly deserve 5 stars for the service and hospitality.
On the day of our departure they offer late check out without charges! And as we were saying goodbye we received big bag of homemade cookies and water for the journey back. Oh it was hard to say goodbye!
I definitely will be back! To find another welcoming and warm accommodation like this is just impossible nowadays, we were so lucky that we booked our holidays wit GONG
There are no words to express how thankful we are to the owners for making our holidays so special and unforgettable.
Together with my husband we wishing you all the best and may the warm and welcoming service never stop.
Oh And we will be back before you know… :)

Eva & Eddie

Room Tip: We stayed in room nr 10, small but very cosy, with a big bathroom and lovely shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Czarny Potok Hotel
Czarny Potok Hotel
#16 of 67 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willa Dewajtis
Willa Dewajtis
#2 of 239 in Zakopane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wilcznik 10
Wilcznik 10
#26 of 239 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Carlton
Villa Carlton
#6 of 239 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bambi Zakopane
Bambi Zakopane
#1 of 239 in Zakopane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gong

Property: Gong
Address: ul. Jozefa Pilsudskiego 8c | 34-500, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 239 B&Bs / Inns in Zakopane
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing