We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Hotel Sabala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sabala
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Zakopane is easily reached from Krakow. About and hour and three quarters by bus. They run at least every hour from the bus station and a single journey costs about 12 Euros. We stayed for one night en - route to Slovakia. The Hotel Sabala is in a central location in the resort. Rooms were nicely appointed with a lovely pine wood fragrance and kept immaculately. There's a terrace bar / restaurant and the food we had was excellent. A great breakfast buffet next morning as well. The best thing however was the staff, especially the reception. We were planning to use public transport to cross over the mountains into Slovakia. This it turned out would have been an arduous undertaking off season. The receptionist however negotiated a rate with a taxi driver to drive us across the mountains and effectively gave us another day of holiday time. Zakopane is a nice place to walk in the fresh air and relax in,There's a cable car to the top of the local mountain from where you can hike or ski (a bit limited, it has to be said).
It all comes at very reasonable prices compared to Western Europe. The Polish people are really warm and friendly as well and most of the younger people you will meet will speak English. I recommend you take a couple of days out of Krakow to visit Zakopane.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Having visited Zakopane in excess of 10 times, I knew the Sabala well for their food and was keen to stay there.
Great hotel - clean, traditional, powerful shower and excellent breakfast.
Staff were friendly (aside from a waitress in the restaurant but it was valentines day and very busy!)
Was concerned about the noise from other reviews but it didn't bother us.
Only criticism would be the heat in the food as there was no controls to turn it down!!
Definitely be back, thanks for living up to our expectations!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Globetrotter260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for nights in january. We arrived in heavy snow from Krakow airport. Check in was swift and efficient Our 2 rooms were next door to each next to the swimming pool and sauna. Lovely spacious rooms with balconies. Really nice and warm with traditional decor plenty of hanging space and large well appointed bathroom. The duvets and bedding were great after the clod nights outside Breakfast was also very good buffet with cereals cold meats cheeses and fruit yoghurts etc. Also an egg chef. Coffee various teas and juices. Its in a very central position and an easy walk to the funiclar lift and handy for bus station to get the bus to the cable car. Lots of good restaurants and bars all around the hotel. We had lunch in the hotel and it was very good. The bar area is very nice with a huge log fire. There is also a heated indoor pool and sauna which was great after a day out. Definately would stay here again

Room Tip: Request balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, good central location. Very clean rooms all made out of wood, very traditional.... Friendly and helpful reception staff, a great base for exploring Zakopane. Not to expensive with the pound, recommended........

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank landlord34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We travelled as a group of colleagues to Zakopane to see ski jumping worldcup and Sabala was the best choice we could've had. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. On the lower floor there is a big SABALA restaurant which closes quite late, but nevertheless you cant hear the noise in the rooms above. In the restaurant they will have all the polish good stuff you might have been missing.

The location of the hotel is perfect, at the beginning of Krupowki road which starts leading you through all the old town area til the ski jumping place. The parking area of the hotel is located behind the building so it needs to be accessed from the other street on the other side of the hotel, not from Krupowki street. Krupowki street, surrounded by many boutiques and eateries, is mainly for pedestrians and tourists.

The swimming pool was refreshing but nothing special, and its pretty cold in the pool area so you cannot really relax on the resting bench when get out of water.

The rooms were always nice and clean, no bad smell, always clean sheets and linens, no negative experience from any person in our group. We were accomodated to different rooms. In one room there even was a small but nicely decorated real Christmas tree! The customer service was punctual and always ready to help, whether asking on the spot, or via e-mail prior our arrival (special thanks to Marta). We had to leave really early morning so during the checkout we were given each a lunchpack which was good starter for the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have been to Zakopane for many times and we have always wanted to stay at Hotel Sabala because of its location, brilliant food and very traditional looking building. This year we stayed in December and wanted to have a lovely White Christmas! The room we were allocated was on the top floor and there is no lift! The room is also linked to another room with only a thin interior door separating them. The sound transference from one side to the other is very high. I mentioned this to reception and was told they cannot do anything to help unless the noise from the adjacent room continued after 10pm! We were a family with a child of 5, and were often in bed at 9pm!

I also asked the reception staff to help me with an email regarding piste closure locally due to abnormal high winds and unusually low snow fall for the time of year, but they were not willing to help at all, as was the case at the local Tourist Information Centre!

Overall the location is fantastic on the main street of Zakopane, but it can get noisy on Friday and Saturday evenings, well through till the early hours. The hotel its self is beautifully traditional, and the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful, also the breakfast buffet consists of good, local produce.

In summing up, I would give this hotel another chance, but its overpriced if you compare it to some other local hotels and guest houses.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kochanieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group and would definitely visit again. The location is brilliant, right in the centre of town and the restaurant below the second part of the hotel is very cheap and the food is good. The service in the restaurant and on reception was impeccable and the rooms were pleasant. The only issue I had was that you could hear some noise from the halls which could be an issue for very light sleepers. Also, there was no wifi in the hotel rooms. Other than that (which aren't really big negatives) the hotel was great. Lovely spa and pool too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zclfy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 68 in Zakopane
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#5 of 68 in Zakopane
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 68 in Zakopane
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rysy
Hotel Rysy
#20 of 68 in Zakopane
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crocus Hotel
Crocus Hotel
#13 of 68 in Zakopane
140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redyk Ski&Relax
Redyk Ski&Relax
#3 of 68 in Zakopane
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabala

Address: ul. Krupowki 11, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zakopane
Price Range: £67 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabala 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sabala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabala Hotel Zakopane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing