We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Gromada Zakopane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gromada Zakopane
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Zakopane
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is in the centre of one of the most beautiful places in the most beautiful country I have ever experienced. The hotel is old and dilapidated with the look of something that has not had a cent invested in it for years. The staff treat you like you are an inconvenience, that they have better things to do. I thought it was just because we did not speak Polish but in fairness they seemed to show the indifference to all visitors. I am shocked by this as it is part of a chain of hotels and the others in the group are run like real hotels.

There are loads of other hotels to stay in this beautiful place and even though it is dirt cheap, believe me it is dirty and it is cheap and do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

And there is no roosters bar downstairs and even the Head shop (great if you have kids) that was opened has closed.

Room Tip: Another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

Hotel not quite deserving of its assessment. Nurseries are tiny and not very modern. The main advantage of the hotel is its location and good breakfast. Support for a decent level but still in Zakopane is a lot cheaper and more modern hotels. I recommend for undemanding and short-stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrzegorzRumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Gromada Hotel is a 3 star object, located by the most famous polish avenue called "Krupówki". It is just about 1km far from bus and train station. There is a lot of pubs nearby.
This is a great place for sports fan, especially football fans as there is sport focus restaurant downstairs with huge LCD TVs.
Gromada is a little old hotel, but still provides a good standard. All rooms have a separate bathroom, TV, radio and a phone.
In our free time or when the weather is bad we can go to the gym, sauna or to the bar. There is also an aquapark just about 1,2km from the hotel.

This is nice place, but I think that we can find better places to stay in Zakopane.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The Gromada Hotel has an excellent location in Zakopane. Close to tram ride up the gubluwka mountain. This Hotel is for the traveler with BASIC needs. Rooms are small but have all you need, our bathroom ceiling leaked every time the family above us what taking a shower. It could get loud at night because it is near several restaurants/bars. The breakfast was the best part of this hotel! Huge variety of hot food in a nice rustic, 'woodsy' room. The cost of staying in this hotel is very inexpensive and you get what you pay for. If you have basic needs and don't care about a small room, leaky ceiling, small beds, old carpets then this is the place for you. If you are like me and would like to take your shoes off in your room with out being skeeved out, then pay the extra money and go down the street to another hotel. No pampering to be had here!
But I will once again compliment that wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Arriving in Zakopane without reservations, we walked up to this property right on Ul.Krupowki, where all the action is. Shops, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, street vendors, mimes, and street artists make for a lively scene right out front.

The hotel is in a rather nondescript 4-story building with a fast elevator. Our room with a view of the snowy peaks and facing a side street was basic, somewhat dated but functional and clean. The twin beds had firm, comfortable mattresses, and the bathroom with a stall shower had been updated with new fixtures, and albeit small, served for our one night stay. A writing desk, TV, and phone rounded out the appointments. Free parking was available on hotel property out front and secure paid parking was said to be 50 yd away. We parked our new Volvo out front with no problem.

Breakfast was offered buffet style with a very nice selection of cold cuts, cheese, breads and buns, and apple pie but no fruit. It was served in the bar/restaurant area which is abundantly decorated with US memorabilia, including license plates from a number of states.

We had been forewarned by the reception staff that on a Friday night it may get a little lively in the street, but we thought closing our window will take care of it. Well, it was not to be. Noisy party goers could be heard, a stunt motorcycle driver did spin-outs nearby, and the street cleaning truck aroused a dog well before 6.a.m., whose barking made an alarm clock unnecessary. The rate of 170 Zloty, approx. US$ 80 including breakfast put this hotel into the category of budget hotels, yet one can not recommend it for a Friday night stay, unless one happens to be a sound sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Central - handy for funicular & local buses/bus station to take you to the start of walks. good food & plenty of choice at breakfast. Rooms clean & comfortable, if a little dated - with good views from the front. Noisy early in the evening - but quiet by 10/11pm. Enjoyed our stay.
Very impressed with private mini buses awaiting you when you finally reach tarmac again from a long hike & take you right back to hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyrny
Hyrny
#60 of 68 in Zakopane
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parzenica
Parzenica
#43 of 68 in Zakopane
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Start
Hotel Start
#45 of 68 in Zakopane
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helios
Helios
#33 of 68 in Zakopane
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sabala
Hotel Sabala
#14 of 68 in Zakopane
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#6 of 68 in Zakopane
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gromada Zakopane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gromada Zakopane

Address: 2 Zaruskiego Str., Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Zakopane
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gromada Zakopane 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Gromada Zakopane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing