We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but quirky”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good but quirky”
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

In did like this hotel in wroclaw, where i traveled for work. The front desk was amazingly nice. The locations is convenient for the center of town. If i had advice to give the hotel staff, it would be to focus on the little things...empty tissue boxes, missing bath towels, empty milk by the coffee. A really good hotel could be a great hotel!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    122
    36
    21
    5
See reviews for
33
120
25
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rafz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Not sure how I've missed this place. It is simply great. Friendly staff, clean, well equipped, great location yet quiet. The rooftop deck area and restaurant is really a hidden gem. The bar and restaurant has a really cool and unique atmosphere. Free WiFi that is super-fast and quite good breakfast buffet complete the picture.
Only thing I would change is the lobby area. It needs to be brightened up a bit and freshened-up however it is small stuff.
The Granary was my place to stay however Monopol with its history really is a good place when visiting the great city of Wroclaw!

Room Tip: choose the 5th floor for a spectacular floor to ceiling tilted glass window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaroG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraków
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I am a big fan of Likus hotels, they have done a great job with renovating this beautiful building. It is made with great taste and mid 20 class. What was close to perfection was service, and design of almost every element. What still needs improvement was: gym - too small, no place for stretching etc, I'd call it even basic. Great pool and saunas, unfortunately no time for spa so no idea but heard some good opinions.
Breakfast-again great service, working invisibly and fast. They could smile a little bit more, but on the other hand this is Poland, we are not used to that. Coffee - horrible, how come in such a great hotel you can not provide a descent expresso? They were serving Americana... No freshly squeezed juice, but again it is not standard in Poland.
Parking lot, outside the hotel, it was ok, half of the price you normally pay in 5 star hotels.
Definitely best you can get in that part of the country!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have just returned from a three night stay in this wonderful hotel. I can not fault it! I arrived early but this was no problem, my room was ready. I had phoned ahead of my stay and I spoke to lovely staff. They booked my room on the 5th floor and this is exactly what I got,The room was beautifully decorated. It was modern but encompassed the history of the building. The room had gorgeous wooden floors and furniture . The bed was made up with very high quality linens and I was so Impressed with the attention to detail. The marble bathroom features a jacuzzi bath and had it not been for the lovely pool in the spa, I think I would have spent even longer in the room! I loved this hotel. I was curious about it as I had previously stayed in Hotel Starry, a sister hotel in Krakow, and was so impressed.This hotel certainly didn't disappoint. It is luxurious and refined. The staff were so helpful and very accommodating. I would think that this a probably one of the best hotels in the city. If you can get a deal on this hotel, then snap it up!

Room Tip: ring ahead , the staff are so helpfulland will help you with your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Moonbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the Monopol for Easter and it was great. I booked directly with the hotel site, I got a really good deal. Our room was huge, and although it was a bit dark, we had the biggest windows, so we never missed light. I asked for a room with two beds and a tub and I got exactly that, except we had two three-quarter beds,which was just a great surprise. I was impressed with the amenities, although we did not have any spare towel and no robe in our room (but on the wellness center you can get them).
The food is great at the hotel, and because it was Easter the restaurant at 6th floor was closed. But we had an Easter lunch at the restaurant in the ground floor and it was one of the greatest meals I have had (and it was super cheap considering the quality of the food and drinks). The staff was always nice, and the bar was always open for a late drink.
The wellness center is also worth noting. Beautiful pool, one dry and one steamy sauna. Perfect for a relax holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibelletorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Monopol for three nights and the experience was mixed. It is without a doubt a beautiful hotel full of history and very grand. The rooms are very spacious nicely furnished and with many amenities such as underfloor heating, jacuzzi bath, monsoon shower which are very nice. Staff on reception were great and the breakfast was very very nice.There are several small irritations which detract from the expereince which shouldn't in my opinion be in existence for a hotel of this calibre.
Due to the design of the hotel the rooms are quite dark, but there is no compensation for this by using appropriate lighting. It was a little gloomy. I agree with another reviewer that the bathroom lighting is very impractical and dim. I wasn't quite sure what my makeup was going to look like once I hit daylight
There is only one hook in the bathroom, no towels rails at all that I could find. So it was struggle finding a place to hang robes , towels etc especially when we used the spa ( as we were told to take our robes down with us by the spa staff). The entire room ended up looking like a laundry . The shower did not contain the water making the bathrom floor lethal and damp socks galore if you didn't remember. Other small irriations, only one bath robe given , no spare toilet roll, no spare pillows (only one provided for each person) which meant that we had to go looking for the maids trolley .on occasion

Its a shame that such there was such a high incidence of small (but irritating) things overlooked which you may expect in a hotel with a lower star rating and reputation but not in a hotel that was referred to in many of the guides as the "cream of the crop".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty12345607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed beginning of April 2012! Booked directly with hotel and got a fab deal! We loved the design of the hotel very luxurious! Rooms are minamilistic but have a luxurious feel, great bathrooms, rain shower and jacuzzi bath, toiletries are l'occitane! Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was lovely. We also ate at the aquario restaurant both myself and husband were very disappointed with it! Food was cold, we sent it back but when we got it back it was still the same temperature! Our meal cost around £60 so def not worth it- on a positive the vies are fab and they have a great terrace. We also had drinks on the bar, service was great as were the cocktails! You also must tryout the spa, best i have been in, very romantic, all dark marble, candles and mood lighting, please make the effort! Taxi rank is right outside the hotel, cost us 50zl to airport! Overall all brill trip and would definitely stay at monopol again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wroclaw
0.3 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#3 of 74 in Wroclaw
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Wroclaw
Scandic Wroclaw
#10 of 74 in Wroclaw
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granary - La Suite Hotel
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel - Wroclaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: ul. Heleny Modrzejewskiej 2, Wroclaw 50-071, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monopol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing