We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Luxury" in name only - disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“"Luxury" in name only - disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

On a recent trip to Poland, we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights passing through Wroclaw on our way to Warsaw. I have to agree with other reviewers, this hotel is in serious need of a 'jack up' (new management team) when it comes to service and staff training..... I note from the other reviews that the issues raised are still the same (with minor exception) to those raised 3 years ago.... someone is not listening!

On the positive side. The rooms are large. The hotel lovely to look at from the outside as it is in an old, restored baroque building. Interestingly it is very modern inside. The location is really good, close to the old town.

On the negative side. There is no car park and we were very lucky to get one right outside as someone was leaving just as we arrived. The bell boy (who doubled up as 'trainee maintenance' I assumed as he later came to try and fix our TV), was friendly and helped us with our luggage.
The reception staff were young, surly and unwelcoming. No niceties. There were about 5 people standing around, 3 of which I assumed were trainees. The entrance looks very modern but the tons of dark marble used has dated the hotel and it does not have a 'fresh', 'inviting' feel.
We were allocated a room that had a dreadful, pungent smell causing me and my husband immediate hay fever. And although large, was dark, drab in appearance with one small window and curtains hanging off the rail in part. I immediately called reception and objected to the room as I was not happy with it. They sent up a young man that apologised profusely and continued to apologise throughout this process... he showed us 2 more rooms. We decided on one that was bigger with a lot more light and curtains that seem to work okay. But, alas, he had made a mistake and had to retract as he had shown us a room in a different class and so we had to go through the same exercise again.

This comedy continued..... The TV did not work and the bell boy, despite valiant efforts, and lots of apologies could not get the sound to work properly. The first night, 3 young gals whirled through the room, yanked the curtains closed (awkward to close in a hurry I can assure you), plonked a small box of truffles on the bed without any comment, turned the bed and disappeared never to be seen again after that first night. Oooh, sloppy! Also, no hand towels in the bathroom (lots of bath mats) or face cloths. The restaurant and bar staff are tardy..... have to call them over to get service (empty bar/restaurant), have to remind them of the order etc etc. At a 75 zloty price for breakfast, not good enough! Early morning tea..... did not have our choice of Earl Grey which we know they have in the bar downstairs?

In summary, it appears that the hotel is staffed by novice, young people (low wages) that do not have any life experience and no concept of how 5 star luxury hotels are run in the world. I suggest a trip to some 5 star Asian hotel (Singapore, Hong Kong, Shanghai) or London (eg Langham) will be a very valuable experience as they will know what competition they are up against. I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    117
    34
    21
    5
See reviews for
28
114
23
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here a few years ago, just after it was refurbished, and then stopped needing to travel to Wroclaw. Now I am back and so glad to renew my aquaintance not just with this lovely city but also with this truly spectacular hotel. The architecture is a constant delight, the rooms are perfect for me: hard wood floors; chic decor; comfortable beds; lovely bathrooms (with windows - I cannot say what a difference that makes). In addition, the food is really very good indeed - my dinner last night was delicious. Stay here, travellers!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaeldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The architecture is really outstanding .The rooms are very spacious with beautiful design.
The Bathroom large and well equiped The bed could be a bit longer and i am only 1.85 !!.Staff is nice but not too experienced.
The quality of Breakfast is very good.
Overall really exciting experience!!

Room Tip: If you need day light stay on high floor. Lower floor windows are often giving only a little light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacekksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good sides: I appreciated staff who was friendly, rooms are nice and rather clean. Free Wi-fi with good speed. Design of the hotel interesting... The old phone on reception is a nice touch. Surprisingly good products in the bathroom from l'Occitane.

Things to improve: Security should be increased. Standing outside the hotel you can be easily approached by suspicious looking people asking for money. TV in my room was too far from the bed making it impossible to watch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. My room was simple and sparse with hardwood floors and was situated under the slanted roof. When i arrived, it was 35 degrees centigrade and the room was very warm. The curtains were hung on a wire and were difficult to block out the windows. It was only on the third day that i realized there were motorized Louvers to block out the light and add privacy. Whether it was the heated bathroom floor or the rainforest shower, I feel like we could have been given better instructions for use.

The A/C unit leaked on the first day but after I reported it it seemed to be fixed quickly.

The restaurants and bar both on the ground floor and roof were just excellent and rooftop had a stunning view.

My only complaint was room service. The selection was extremely limited and I ordered a steak one night. The steak I received was the size of a golf ball. Really.

Other than that, the location is perfect, just across the way from the market square right across the street from the opera house.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel somehow manages to feel classic and modern at the same time. The lobby is beautiful and full of marble, the corridors are wide, and the rooms are very spacious. Our ceiling had to be about 15 feet high. The bathroom door was almost to the ceiling! Our beds were comfortable and our balcony was nice to catch a breeze. The bathroom was very modern and luxurious. The jacuzzi tub and rainfall shower from the ceiling were fantastic! We had breakfast each day and dinner one night when it was raining and we didn't want to go out, the food was always amazing. We were walking distance to every attraction in Wroclaw. The staff was incredibly helpful. We had a strange request, wanting to hire a driver to take us about an hour away to visit a town important to our family history. The concierge made several calls trying to help us work this out. Lukas at the reception desk overheard us and knew a driver, who he called and suddenly we were all set! After several days of worry that we wouldn't be able to pull it off, they figured it out for us in about 15 minutes! It was an important visit for us and we'll always be grateful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatetheGreat_830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We had a very good stay in this hotel. We were delegates in a conference and everything worked very well. The food and service is excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are vast and very modern, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.3 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#2 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granary - La Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#5 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europeum Hotel
Europeum Hotel
#4 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qubus Hotel Wroclaw
Qubus Hotel Wroclaw
#18 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: ul. Heleny Modrzejewskiej 2, Wroclaw 50-071, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Monopol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing