We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academus Pub & Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Wroclaw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very good central accommodation”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Found this via tripadvisor and it really is good value. Entrance is via the pub or the hotel next door out of hours.
The apartment is functional and amazingly quiet despite the city centre as well as spotlessly clean.
It would just have been nice to have some bedside tables and lamps or at least lamps and it seemed very odd that you had to turn off the light of the bedroom outside it and then fumble you way through the dark. Small point that could be rectified.
There was free water and some coffee creamer in the fridge which was also a nice touch.
The pub downstairs was cosy and good for a beer at night but we had breakfast outside in one of the many nice coffee shops in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

You stay in a small apartment in old city house (right next to Rynek, i.e. Old City Market which is the center of the city and of its day and night life). It has all conveniences (including nice, big bathtub in spacious bathroom) and is clean and furnished a modest way, but with good taste. I am staying here whenever I visit Wroclaw and whenever the place is available. Staff/owners are very nice and helpful trying to meet all your needs. Breakfast is very good. I don' t think I need anything else. If only I could find this type of accommodation in all cities where my travels are taking me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Szymon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a very nace and comfortable place. It is a wide appartment with three beds and all wahat is needed to have an excellent vacation or a work say in town. The street door was excellent, for it was inside a pub. It is located righ in the town center, which is very convenient. The city is very nice and deserves various walks. I do not hesitate to highly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank 100palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed in flat nr 3, a huge flat, very clean, fairly basic but nice and comfortable. I came with my girlfriend but this would be ideal also for eg two couples (which if split four ways makes it pretty cheap). Two toilets. It's right in the city centre in a beautiful old building. The staff/owners were friendly, very chilled out and hands off which suited me. The pub is also nice, quite quiet and not touristy. The lift from pub to front door was a novelty, but you can also avoid leaving and entering via the pub if you take the stairs. Highly recommended, as is Wroclaw, really beautiful with fascinating history, not too touristy, quite a relaxed place, great fr a weekend if you like nice cheap restaurants and bars, walking among beautiful buildings and churches, over the bridges etc etc

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilhelmovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I cannot say enough about the apartments at Academus in Wroclaw.

* The apartment we stayed in was huge: large bedroom with an ensuite and a jetted tub (a big plus after experiencing many smaller showers at other locations)! There is also a kitchen with everything you could possibly need, a second bathroom, and a front room with two single beds (plus a TV, radio, small table, etc.).

* The location is perfect, right in the city center within walking distance of virtually everything, both sites and restaurants. Plus, there is a market, bank, and Starbucks within a five minute stroll.

* The bar downstairs has a decent selection of reasonably priced drinks and is a great place to end an evening before taking the elevator back upstairs.

* The only negative thing that I can say about the apartment is that, without a fan or air-conditioner, it can get pretty hot in the summer (even with the windows open). Despite that, I wholeheartedly recommend staying at Academus Pub & Apartments when visiting Wroclaw.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Academus during late October. Our 2-bedroom, 2-bath "apartment" was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had several drinks at the cozy pub, which has a nice selection of beer and wine. Conveniently, the elevator to get to your room is just steps from the bar. The pub appears popular with locals, as it was fairly crowded the night we were there (note: from our room, there was no noise whatsoever from the crowd below). In terms of location, the Acadeums sits on a side street about one block from Market Square. Plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and sites within walking distance.

The Academus is owned and managed by a friendly, interesting couple. If we ever get back to Wroclaw, we'll definitely stay there again.

If you're looking for something a bit different, the Academus is a good choice. If you're looking for a Hotel Intercontinental-type experience, you should probably book at that type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timjhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stopped for one night on route to Warsaw. Very unusual accomodation which is located within a pub. The lift is behind a door and when you take it you arrive at another door which once you open it you are in the apartment.... One ensuite room with a double bed and two twin beds in the main room. Very clean and well appointed, ideal for our trip.
Will certainly be returning to this accomodation in the future maybe for a long wekend.
John

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#8 of 74 in Wroclaw
719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patio Hotel
Patio Hotel
#27 of 74 in Wroclaw
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europeum Hotel
Europeum Hotel
#5 of 74 in Wroclaw
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#3 of 74 in Wroclaw
1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qubus Hotel Wroclaw
Qubus Hotel Wroclaw
#19 of 74 in Wroclaw
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academus Pub & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academus Pub & Guest House

Property: Academus Pub & Guest House
Address: ul. Kielbasnicza 23, Wroclaw 50-110, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academus Pub & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Guest House and pub, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Academus Pub & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing