We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant we experienced in Wroclaw”

Restauracja Pod Gryfami
Ranked #59 of 771 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: European, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Tour Guide , a local resident of Wroclaw. Not a place we would have picked out on our own by appearance, which is deceptive, but so glad we tried it. This was by far the best food we experienced during our 5 day stay in Wroclaw and hence we came back a second time. All the food we tried was delicious, well presented and accompanied by really good service. The lovely piano playing on the Thursday evening visit added to the ambience.
The steak was exceptional but by the end we had the distinct feeling that anything we ordered from the menu would be excellent.
Incredibly good value given the quality. This restaurant is an absolute must if you want to try really good quality traditional Polish food. You need to book: on our first visit ( a Tuesday) they were completely full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SurreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadrugamary, Guest Relations Manager at Restauracja Pod Gryfami, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We agree that, often, the most wonderful surprises come in the most unexpected forms. Our facade blends with the decor of Wrocław's central square, but we take great pride in our interiors, which continue to delight both new and returning guests. We are also glad you took the time to dine with us - twice! We set high standards for ourselves to ensure our guests one of the city's finest dining experiences. Our staff is always at your service. Our musicians are hand-selected to complement the atmosphere, and perform daily during the evening. Our meals are also carefully designed to appeal to a wide variety of tastes and expectations. It was wonderful to know that you were more than satisfied. A prior reservation does ensure a seating, but we reassure our readers that they are welcome to visit us without a reservation; we will do our best to find a place for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Restauracja Pod Gryfami
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very helpful staff, and took a reservation by email in advance of our trip. Food was good, with some unusual but delicious choices (mixed platter of 'pork products' is good). Traditional interior and decor, set amongst several rooms and spaces. Not the cheapest in Wroclaw, neither would they claim to be - especially as it it on the main square.
A meal for four people, including 2.5 courses each, plus one drink each, came to roughly £80. Good value if you're used to the prices in Western European cities.
Open much of the day, so give it try at almost any time.

Thank clinteastwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadrugamary, Guest Relations Manager at Restauracja Pod Gryfami, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We appreciate your feedback and quick review after spending time with us. The menu may seem unusual to those first introduced to Polish cuisine, but we are proud to serve authentic regional food that is sure to please both uninitiated and experienced palates. Although we are locted in Wrocław's Central Square, our prices are varied and may accomodate almost every budget conceivable. We welcome guests from every walk of life, and our readers may rest assured that there is something for everyone here. Having said this, we warmly thank you for the comparison with other western cities, and we agree - please come and try us at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

An interesting restaurant that we picked out of Trip Advisor because of the reviews. Perhaps my expectations were too high as although it was very good, it was not quite as good as I had expected. The surroundings we liked, and we were able to choose our table the day before when we went in for a coffee. Some of the menu translations were strange so lucky I understand Polish and also had Polish company to help. The wine list was extensive and there was a reasonable choice even for wines by the glass. The staff were attentive and the meal was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Szlachcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadrugamary, Guest Relations Manager at Restauracja Pod Gryfami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank you for your candor and honest feedback. We understand that you had high expectations, but were looking for something more. We are open to any additional comments that you may offer regarding this point, for we strive to meet and exceed the desires of each and every client. We also noticed that you found our menu descriptions strange. To the uninitiated, some of our English names may appear unfamiliar, but we specifically review the menu with a native speaker to ensure the purest translation of our menu is possible. It was wonderful to know that a Polish speaker was available to answer any questions that you might have had. Our staff is also at our guests' disposal to answer any questions in English or Polish or select additional languages. To aid us in the improvement of our dining experience, we warmly invite you to provide specifics of those menu names you found unusual. Please do return again, and challenge us to meet the high expectations you originally brought with you. We are at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The restaurant is a hidden gem, looks like a coffee shop from outside but has a lovely patio area at the back. We were there the first time (on business) on a Thurs night and they had a lady playing the piano beautifully. That really set the scene, it was rather relaxing. The wine was great and the food very traditional polish but very good quality (some polish food can be quite fatty). I would recommend the steak and also the prawns to start. The service is brilliant. Be warned the whole experience is slow paced, which I liked especially having more than one course but if you want a quick snappy meal then this one isn't for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zoejohno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadrugamary, Guest Relations Manager at Restauracja Pod Gryfami, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

How wonderful to know that our restaurant, a "hidden gem" among the shops in Wrocław's Central Square, continues to delight each and every customer who visits! We take great pride in the design of each of our dining spaces - the patio is a spacious focal point for diners to enjoy the personalized musical stylings of our pianist. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement to readers who may not be familiar with our restaurant and all it has to offer. We go to great lengths to preserve the quality of our dishes and wines - this may translate to a measured pace at mealtime, but we assure you will have one of the best dining experiences available in Wrocław.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very good food and excellent service. I can highly recommend this restaurant for everyone who enjoys good food in beautiful surroundings!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Agabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadrugamary, Guest Relations Manager at Restauracja Pod Gryfami, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Your review was thoughtful and highly appreciated! We seek to perfect both the quality of our service and the excellence of our meals - we hope both met and exceeded your expectations. Do return soon and enjoy another wonderful evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restauracja Pod Gryfami also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Restauracja Pod Gryfami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing