We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff”
Review of Scandic Wroclaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Wroclaw
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
CPH area, DK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited with two kids aged 3 and 5. Very nice hotel, only about 10 mins walk from the fantastic Wroclaw Old Town and square. Clean hotel, very friendly staff - even got an upgrade to a slightly bigger room as we were 4 persons staying there. Excellent! Hotel has good parking garage, good spa/wellness facilities, kids playroom at the reception etc. The only "remark" that I have is that their breakfast could do with an upgrade - was not bad but did not match the quality impression you get from the rest of the hotel. They were renovating their restaurant when we visited, maybe that could be the reason...

Room Tip: Superior extra room features a small corner in the room (like a small office) with desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKnyrek, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment. Our hotel again this year was choosen as Family Friendly Hotel. We are still working on quality of our services and especially breakfast. As we soon will re-open our kitchen and restaurant after renovation I am sure all our guest will enjoy Scandic breakfast new quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    228
    57
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
118
36
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was very pleased about my stay at the Scandic hotel in Wroclaw. The staff is nice and speaks decent english. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It had a decent priced mini-bar as well. The breakfast is, at 60 zl, a bit expensive for polish standards but there's enough to feed an orphanage. There's no restaurant in the hotel due to renovation. Not a real problem, the market square with plenty of places to eat is less than 1/2 a mile away. The location is absolutely wonderful. It's close to the Wroclaw Glowny train station (300m or about 1/4 mile west from the main exit entrance). From the airport it's about 25 minutes by taxi or take bus 406 from the airport to Renoma. Once you're at Renoma (a shopping centre), it's only a 5 to 10 minutes walk.

Inside the hotel is a shop, where you can buy refreshments and tickets for the tram/bus. If you'd like to go to the station or the japanese garden/zoo then take tram 2, which stops in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: A room in the front gives you an interesting view on Piłsudskiego, but can be bit noisy because of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKnyrek, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Traveller, thank you very much for your kind comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Well located, modern, although fairly basic. Renovation work at the moment means there is no restaurant. Good air conditioning which was essential this week. Friendly attentive and well meaning staff.

Room Tip: My room was on the front overlooking the main road but good double glazing ensured a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Scandic is in a very good localisation both for city tours and train/plane connections. Very cosy, clean rooms, free one cup of coffee & tea (water cooker available).

A couple of negatives come to mind:
1. Breakfast in half the price of the whole stay (60 zł = ~15 euro). Think about it, dear owners, it is ridiculous.
2. If your hotel has 3 corridors, make an effort to put plates with arrows and room numbers next to each corridor. That would really make life easier.
3. If you want to be as eco-firiendly as you advertise, make sure you have a stop button in your toilets. Flushing the whole toilet each time really consumes a lot of water.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corridor 211-219, an that was a very quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Wielka Brytania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stay at hotel only for one night. It's quite big, good standard city-hotel with great location (10 minutes walk to old town and railway station). Only one think which was bit dissapoing - bar and also restaurant were closed due to refurbishment... But only 3 minutes away is a great little pub "SIWY DYM", really professional made drink in good price and also great atmosphere. Please note that breakfast is very expensive (12 pounds)... better to eat something in town. Good choice in minibar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maciej K, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your stay at Scandic Wroclaw and your constructive feedback. We are constantly working on all mentioned aspects and try to improve as much as possible. Plates with room numbers and arrows are placed on every floor in front of the lift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My room was on the 5th floor and recently refurbished with the smell of new wood every time you opened a cupboard. There was wood everywhere - even the key card was made from wood. There were numerous examples of Scandinavian design for design's sake; the multi-purpose wooden (of course) unit had large numbers of little nooks and cubby holes ideal for making sure that you left something behind and for ensuring at least three attempts before you found the fridge, the waste bin was sub-divided for recycling sorting and therefore too small to put anything in, the leaflet holder made from wood (of course) and elastic and was so beautifully designed that it fell over every time you touched it - the first thing you should do is take it down from the top of the unit and lay it flat somewhere, the shower control was so complicatedly simple that it was just too smug by far and the door stop was strategically placed directly in front of the resting place for your suitcase so that every time you went to your case a stubbed toe was guaranteed.
Both the Bar and the Restaurant were closed for refurbishment (presumably not enough wood) and breakfast was served in a conference room. There was a reasonable continental selection but the 'English breakfast' selection comprised of just scrambled egg, bacon, frankfurters and brocolli ! They obviously realised their mistake as on the second day the brocolli was removed and replaced by ........ cauliflower !!
On the plus side, the location is superb - a fifteen minute stroll in a virtual straight line to the old market square and a number of decent bars and restaurants even closer by - I can recommend the Kuchnia Marche (self service buffet - pay by portion/weight) turn right out of the hotel, first right and almost immediately you will fall over the model cow outside its door. Or turn right out of the hotel, cross the pedestrian crossing, walk right and head for the railway arches under which you will find the Pub Sywi Dym a bar that is very cheap with great service and atmosphere and the Armene Restaurant also very good but cheap.
The hotel staff were all friendly and polite and no doubt when the refurb is finished it will move from average to very good.

Room Tip: 5th floor has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big-G66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maciej K, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on our new rooms on 5th floor. All your comments are very valuable for us and we will work on improvement. Currently we are replacing the door stop and also we will mark the fridge so it easy to find. Once more thank you very much for your visit and I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in Wroclaw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It's located 5 minutes walk from the major tourist attraction, the Old Market, as well as 3 shopping malls. Also it stands at the foot of important public transport stops, e.g. Tram 2 to Zoo, 20 to Magnolia Park, Bus 406, 409, 149 to airport etc. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are shiny and modern. Wifi speed is good and the room fridge has enough empty space for your items. The receptionists are helpful. I asked them to find me an affordable hire car, which they did after contacting 12 places, with the car delivered and picked up at the hotel: a4rent.pl, 129zl per day. Breakfast is sufficient, although there is room for improvement. What I missed was a toaster and bran flakes. Also in early morning there a queue for tea/coffee will be likely. The only disadvantage are the rooms siding the street, which are bound to be noisy. Moving to the parking side rooms, I found it much easier to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the parking side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maciej K, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your kind words. We are constantly working on our temporary breakfast solution. Very soon we will invite our valuables guests to our new restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.5 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#3 of 74 in Wroclaw
1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
#11 of 74 in Wroclaw
859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wroclaw
0.5 mi away
Europeum Hotel
Europeum Hotel
#5 of 74 in Wroclaw
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel - Wroclaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Wroclaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Wroclaw

Property: Scandic Wroclaw
Address: Ul. Marsz. Jozefa Pilsudskiego 49/57, Wroclaw 50-032, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wroclaw
#3 Business Hotel in Wroclaw
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wroclaw
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wroclaw
#13 Family Hotel in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Wroclaw 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From your modern hotel room in a classic or Scandinavian style, you can walk to the market square and the old town of Wroclaw in just 10 minutes. Our EU Ecolabel certified hotel provides versatile conference facilities for up to 300 participants along with the best coffee break in town. With 10 versatile meeting and conference rooms, state-of-the-art meeting technology and individual conference menus, we can organise your event exactly as you want it to be. After your meeting or a bit of sightseeing, visit our restaurant and bar “My Corner” where you can try local specialities. You can also opt for a workout in our gym, followed by a relaxing moment in the sauna. At the end of the day, enjoy a pleasant night’s sleep in our rooms, done up in classic or modern Scandinavian design. Scandic Wroclaw is close to tons of popular sights, cosy cafés, theatres, the opera and philharmonic. We offer the perfect starting point for exploring the fascinating labyrinth of bridges and islands that make up this city. In just 10 minutes, you are at the market square in the historical old town or at the train station. Don’t miss out on the Africarium, a complex within Wroclaw Zoo that is unique in the world, dedicated to water-based African species and ecosystems. The airport is only a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Wroclaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Wroclaw
Holiday Inn Wroclaw
Wroclaw Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing