We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Tumski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tumski
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Wroclaw
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Tumski is located on an island within 10 mins walking of the Rynek square and more or less next to the university. The hotel is very good, it's not top of the bill but has no pretension of being so. It's down to earth and decent. The rooms are nice and clean. The personnel is very friendly and speaks English well. They do their utmost best to please the guests. The wireless internet is fast.

Once, at night I was woken up by people yelling in the street. This might be because the university is so close. (My bad: I wanted to sleep with the window open...)
For the rest, I had a great stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomen_Nescio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    64
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
15
54
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Small hotel on island among parks, churches and institutional buildings. About a 15 minute walk to Rynek in city centre. We had very small room with quite a large bath. Desk staff had good English. Lack of air conditioning not a problem in October, but might be in summer. Would not recommend walking alone to hotel after dark. Restaurant has mill theme because there were mills on the island. Nearby botanical garden is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

In June 2010 the Tumski was cut off by roadworks making it difficult to get to. The hotel website did point this out but their map wasn't clear until you got there; by which time it was too late. The hotel is situated next to a dilapidated mill which would have been the view from the room we had originally booked; so we changed rooms to a comfortable, clean and more than adequate twin in the eaves with a view over the river. (The reception staff were brilliant.) At least the tram noise was non-existent as the bridge was closed. However, we were awoken in the very early hours by the sound of drunks on the bridge and a few hours later by the sound of whacker plates bedding down the sand for the new paviors. Usual overpriced minibar. Electric fan in room. Free parking. Good breakfast. Evening meals mainly pork. Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice beer garden overlooking the river. Good location although 15-20 mins is a better description of the walk to the Rynek.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Nice modern hotel with helpful friendly staff. Visited with four friends and therefore 5 x single rooms. We all said our rooms were very nice. Good location and easy 10 - 15 stroll to Rynek. Bit of tram noise due to proximity of iron bridge but Hotel Tumski is located in a quiet area, Nice breakfast typical of eastern europe. On the down side. No safes in hotel rooms. Limited number available at reception. I suggest e mail to reserve one in advance. I stayed in winter but I imagine the location would be even better in warm weather due to lovely terrace and proximity of Odre river. Overall excellent value.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No room safes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The hotel is rather small and has only a small restaurant but the rooms are nice with high ceilings and properly equipped.
Staff is extremely helpful and attentive, speaaking German and English. From there you can easily acces the inner parts of Wroclaw city center by walking, it defintely helps you to digest the heavy Polish/Silesian food.
The beergarden was regrettabyl closed due to the cold September weather.

  • Liked — Decent sized room with river view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Just returned from a three-night stay at the Tumski. Nice size room, with spacious bathroom - only disappointment was lack of tea/coffee making facilities, but that seems to be the norm in many European countries.

The hotel is perhaps just a little further than the ten-minute walk from the central square described by another reviewer, but it is very close to the cathedral and the picturesque island area on the north side of the city. Once you get the hang of public transport, it has good bus and tram links to just about all the main points of interest (or perhaps more importantly, FROM the main points of interest, after you've unwittingly walked miles on the cobbled streets!)

Breakfasts were generous; after a late-ish lunch in town each day, I was quite content with a couple of beers and a bar snack (eg. potato wedges with garlic and herb dip - yum!) on the riverside terrace in the evening.

Pleasant and helpful staff, who spoke good English (plus German, for the majority of the guests). As I lone female traveller, I felt both comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathsheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Hotel Tumski is a modern, well appointed hotel situated on a small spit of land on the Odra River. It's a short 10 minute walk across the bridge to the main square (Glowny) and the University. My room was well furnished, clean, and had a minibar. Parking is available in the back of the hotel and is easily accessible by car from major surrounding streets. The welcoming lobby leads to a large breakfast/dining area, and the breakfast selection was quite generous compared to other hotels. The elevator was a bit slow, but I would stay here if I were to visit Wroclaw again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, ample breakfast selection
  • Disliked — Slow elevator
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
1.2 mi away
Scandic Wroclaw
Scandic Wroclaw
#10 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#6 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel B&B Wroclaw Centrum
Hotel B&B Wroclaw Centrum
#13 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dikul Centrum Hotel
Dikul Centrum Hotel
#20 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sleep
Hotel Sleep
#46 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europeum Hotel
Europeum Hotel
#5 of 73 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tumski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tumski

Property: Hotel Tumski
Address: Wyspa Slodowa 10, Wroclaw 50-266, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tumski 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tumski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tumski Hotel Wroclaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing