We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandragora Restaurant

Mandragora Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Lublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just dropped in for dessert and coffees and excellent service, wondeful atmosphere and will be back for dinner on our Christmas vist to Lublin. Thank you!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    122
    33
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food, very nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very good food, very friendly and proffessional staff and pleasant atmosphere. Prices could be lower, not cheap enough for a regular turist.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrocław
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location great, food good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you're in Mandragora you're choosing it for the location and because, by the standards of Eastern Poland, it's something a little different. The food was good, but nothing more, the service friendly and helpful but slow, but in such a nice environment why hurry?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuprosCuprosGhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Lazio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good indeed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This restaurant offers a choice of Israelite plates mixed with polish cuisine. I really appreciate the ambient and the care they put in the presentation of the food. The food itself is very tasty.

It's already 3 times I go to eat in there and never had a bad experience. The only drawback so long it's that the place is crowded and one time I couldn't find a free table. Note: the restaurant closes at 22:00

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eiapoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience at Mandragora”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Mandragora won us over by its tasteful location, wonderful decor, and appeal of authentic Jewish food. We chose a spot by the window, and looked around, admiring the atmospheric inside. All the tables are covered in beautiful lace, and the staff is very professional. We did, however, wait, and wait, and then wait a little more before we were given menus and our orders were taken. The matzo soup and the gefilte fish were quite OK. The matzo soup was a nice sweet-and-sour, and the gefite fish was something we had never had before, but good.
For the main dish, we had a braided chicken and duck in fig sauce. The chicken was standard, with minimal current sauce. Sides were an extra 5zl (french fries, surowka, salad), and we got the carrot cymes. The cymes were ok, but nothing spectacular. The chicken dish was nothing great, and probably didn't warrant the price, but overall chicken is usually a pretty boring dish anyway, so I can't blame them that much.
The duck in fig sauce was expensive, but I have to admit, was worth it. The duck was tender and cooked to perfection, with the meat falling off the bones. The sauce went really well and was delicious (though hidden under the duck). It came with buckwheat, and it was a very good dish. I walked away satisfied with what I had had, but still I can't overly recommend the place.
It's good to have a little break from the traditional Polish fare, and Mandragora certainly does do that. The dishes are hit or miss, and the service is pretty slow (I'm not talking about delivery of the food, I'm talking about the distribution of menus and the taking of orders.)

So, go there, or don't. It's a pretty nice place, right in the center. I didn't have the chance to try the places around it, so this comes with not reference as to the other eateries in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PolishMeKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandragora Restaurant also viewed

Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 
Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 

Been to Mandragora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing