We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised a Lot But....”

Mandragora Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Lublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Promised a Lot But....”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have been planning this outing for sometime. Food was mediocre and wine overpriced. Service very pleasant but will not be returning as it is a rip-off for the quality of food on offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    131
    36
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Thank you for making our shabbos dinner and lunch a special occasion. It felt like we were at our grandparents' house for dinner. Restaurant is decorated with Jewish artefacts and art. The food was delicious - chicken soup with kreplach, chicken livers and noodle kugel. The service was excellent and we will always remember the great hospitality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“(yet another) dinner with friends during a business trip”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This restaurant is in the middle of Lublin, with a dehor on the square that is very nice. It's a Jewish restaurant that follows the rules even if it has not the certification (it is written on the menu). Waitress are dressed with typical clothes and we had the chance to have live music.
We tasted a typical Cholet (that at the end is a "spezzatino con fagioli e patate") and it was hot and very good. They have the lublin beer Perla. So even if there was nothing wonderful or special everything from the meal to the atmosphere was so good that it's maximum rate for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gga95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super Jewish Restaurant in the Old Town”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Traditional Jewish restaurant in the Old Quarter of Lublin. The food was great! Try the Latke appetizer for 30 zlotys (potato pancakes covered in sour cream and raw onions). The atmosphere was nice, albeit a bit cramped. The waitresses spoke English. The wine was Israeli and was very good. The only negative was the kitsch music- the Fiddler on the Roof soundtrack. This wouldn't keep me away though. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

very atmospheric restaurant, best days to dine may be Fri or Sat when more dishes are available. I went for the potato pancakes (with sour cream and raw(!) onions), which I wouldn't really recommend. But the waitress was v. friendly

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukegriffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandragora Restaurant also viewed

Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 
Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 

Been to Mandragora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing