We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and excellent service”
Review of Hotel Pod Orlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pod Orlem
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Bydgoszcz
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location and excellent service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and was very impressed with level of service and helpfulness of staff who took great effort to ensure our stay was first class . A mixup in our booking ,not the hotel's fault, was cleared up quickly with the minimum of fuss.Room was very comfortable with the only minus points being an absence of tea making facilities and no room safe to store valuables.Breakfast was very good except for the rather limited choice of hot food.The location of the hotel is ideal as the old town is only a five minute walk and there is a tram stop almost outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are definitely the preferred choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    86
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
55
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have paid 180 zl ($55) for one night long stay at the Hotel Pod Orłem using Booking.com. Price was very good, but actual experience was definitely not as expected from four star hotel. As paid price was proper in my opinion, list price – $130 for standard room is ridiculous.

First of all, hotel is located very well in the center of Bydgoszcz – near the Brda river and shopping mall. Unfortunately there is no free hotel parking, guests can use shopping mall parking for additional fee 37 zł ($12). Although hotel building is really beautiful – especially staircase, my room was very small and poorly equipped. There was not coffee machine and fridge. Because size of the room, there was only place for very narrow bed. Bathroom was also small with very little bath tube. Choice of tv programs was very limited. Wireless Internet was available, but required entering login and password every 15 minutes or so. Breakfast was very rich, although quality of food was not on the top level.

Room Tip: Consider parking car on the street nearby, as it is cheaper than in shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslaw F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Apartment is simply the name they give to what in most hotels is a suite. It starts with a nicely appointed bedroom and bathroom (which I guess is equivalent to one of their Executive rooms), then adds an enormous sitting room. By enormous, I mean I am not sure which is bigger: this hotel suite or both floors of my three-bedroomed house. Maybe my house wins (just) on floor area and the suite, with its high ceilings, wins on volume.

The thing is, the apartment does not cost that much more than a regular room, but the extra money gives you such an enhanced experience over just having a bedroom that it's well worth it.

Two comfortable sofas (so you can both stretch out), a dining table with 8 chairs (wasted on us this time, but we could have invited a lot of our relatives in for a drink - if you were in Bydgoszcz on business, you could have a meeting here, which you wouldn't in a bedroom), a nice corner bay with table and chairs overlooking the main street, 3 telephones (overkill for room service?) and 2 televisions (selection of channels none too exciting, so normal for any hotel), a coffee machine (no instructions though, I needed to look it up on the internet, especially to get hot water for tea), decent toiletries even including toothbrushes and paste. There was what I assumed to be an air-conditioner (big, white metal box with vents), but as summer was over we had no occasion to try it, so don't count on it. We were at the front (corner) of the hotel, second floor, overlooking the main street with its frequent trams, but we were not aware of noise from outside - we stayed Sunday afternoon to Monday morning though, so it may well be worse on Fridays and Saturdays, say, especially through open windows - we loved the fact that you can actually open the windows fully if you choose.

We found the staff efficient and friendly (fine with speaking English) - only too happy to send up extra tea and coffee capsules for the coffee machine (no charge). Breakfast was OK, the choices of hot food being much more limited than the cold buffet (seems normal for Polish hotels) but you shouldn't go hungry and the orange juice was not squash (as in an earlier review) - our previous (more expensive) hotel offered a distinctly better breakfast though. Otherwise we only had a drink in the bar, which was fine but lacking in atmosphere as we were the only people there.

Would we stay at the Pod Orlem again? Absolutely, yes. It would have to be an apartment again - at the current bargain prices.

Room Tip: Er, get an "apartment", meaning a suite - amazing value for what you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hotel was OK despite that we had to share it with the number of "exotic" and rather loud group of guests. The restaurant served very good food, but the total effect was spoiled because we were forced to listen to the floor staff's private but loud conversation. Also very unpleasant and paradoxical were sounds of management scolding the servers for not smiling and setrnly demanding more friendly and lively attitude .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodOrlem, Manager at Hotel Pod Orlem, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Lidia,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that our staff's loud behaviour spoiled your experience. Our staff has been reprimended (a bit quieter this time) by our General Manager and reminded that our guests' comfort should be their top priority. Thanks to your comments, we will improve and provide a better service in the future.

We are glad that you liked your stay and food in our restaurant, despite the above-mentioned incident, and we will be very happy if you visit our hotel again.

Best regards,
Dawid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

During a fortnight business trip I stayed at Pod Orlem in Bydgoszcz and had the opportunity to stay in an executive room, which was a bit spacier than a regular one. The front rooms, I heard, are noisy. I was there during summertime and the lack of air-conditioning was compensated by a fan.
The food is great and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The meals are good. The gym however is not really up to standard. I did not use the sauna.
In all: the lack of air-conditioning, the poor gym facilities, and the (partly) noisy location reduce the value of this beautiful, lovely atmospheric hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 3rd/ 4th floor at the back of the hotel are more quiet than the ones at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNH_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I spent only one night there in June. That is why my opinion is based on very brief overview.

Advantages

- great location in the heart of the town
- watched parking place near by
- hotel building itself (old fashion and few stylish decorations)
- active staff
- price
- breakfast
- if you like soft bed you get it

Disadvantages
- room was extrimaly hot and no AC (4 starts hotel); an excuse +34C outside
- noisy streets around

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

If you stay there you will feel like you are a polish prince. I was told that during WWII, the german high command occupied the hotel. The hotel is like a movie set-very lavish. The hotel food is first rate and served by men wearing white gloves. If I had to pick one word to describe the hotel, I would say-Elegant. The hotel is elegant with old world charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberrifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bydgoszcz hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
#1 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohema
Hotel Bohema
#2 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
#3 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
#6 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#5 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
5.0 mi away
Karczma Rzym Hotel Pawlowek
Karczma Rzym Hotel Pawlowek
#7 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Orlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Orlem

Property: Hotel Pod Orlem
Address: ul. Gdanska 14, Bydgoszcz 85-006, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Bydgoszcz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bydgoszcz
#5 Business Hotel in Bydgoszcz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Orlem 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pod Orlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Orlem Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing