We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grand hotel”
Review of Hotel Pod Orlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pod Orlem
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bydgoszcz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Rooms are spacious and the reception staff helpful.
Had breakfast in the restaurant - good range of food and plentiful tea and coffee.
Hotel is very clean and decor is good.
All in all a nice hotel to stay in.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Aitch-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

The most comfortable bed I've ever slept it!

The breakfasts are splendid and served with Jazz Age classics playing gently in the background.

Reception staff both efficient and friendly.

Pod Orlem is in a perfect location from which to explore Bydgoszcz.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here with friends for the third time recently. Once again the reception staff were pleasant and helpful, as were the bar staff, and the restaurant is still serving fantastic food at very reasonable prices. The rooms were once again very clean and perfectly acceptable. Breakfast is amazing. Try this hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and was very impressed with level of service and helpfulness of staff who took great effort to ensure our stay was first class . A mixup in our booking ,not the hotel's fault, was cleared up quickly with the minimum of fuss.Room was very comfortable with the only minus points being an absence of tea making facilities and no room safe to store valuables.Breakfast was very good except for the rather limited choice of hot food.The location of the hotel is ideal as the old town is only a five minute walk and there is a tram stop almost outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are definitely the preferred choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have paid 180 zl ($55) for one night long stay at the Hotel Pod Orłem using Booking.com. Price was very good, but actual experience was definitely not as expected from four star hotel. As paid price was proper in my opinion, list price – $130 for standard room is ridiculous.

First of all, hotel is located very well in the center of Bydgoszcz – near the Brda river and shopping mall. Unfortunately there is no free hotel parking, guests can use shopping mall parking for additional fee 37 zł ($12). Although hotel building is really beautiful – especially staircase, my room was very small and poorly equipped. There was not coffee machine and fridge. Because size of the room, there was only place for very narrow bed. Bathroom was also small with very little bath tube. Choice of tv programs was very limited. Wireless Internet was available, but required entering login and password every 15 minutes or so. Breakfast was very rich, although quality of food was not on the top level.

Room Tip: Consider parking car on the street nearby, as it is cheaper than in shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miroslaw F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Apartment is simply the name they give to what in most hotels is a suite. It starts with a nicely appointed bedroom and bathroom (which I guess is equivalent to one of their Executive rooms), then adds an enormous sitting room. By enormous, I mean I am not sure which is bigger: this hotel suite or both floors of my three-bedroomed house. Maybe my house wins (just) on floor area and the suite, with its high ceilings, wins on volume.

The thing is, the apartment does not cost that much more than a regular room, but the extra money gives you such an enhanced experience over just having a bedroom that it's well worth it.

Two comfortable sofas (so you can both stretch out), a dining table with 8 chairs (wasted on us this time, but we could have invited a lot of our relatives in for a drink - if you were in Bydgoszcz on business, you could have a meeting here, which you wouldn't in a bedroom), a nice corner bay with table and chairs overlooking the main street, 3 telephones (overkill for room service?) and 2 televisions (selection of channels none too exciting, so normal for any hotel), a coffee machine (no instructions though, I needed to look it up on the internet, especially to get hot water for tea), decent toiletries even including toothbrushes and paste. There was what I assumed to be an air-conditioner (big, white metal box with vents), but as summer was over we had no occasion to try it, so don't count on it. We were at the front (corner) of the hotel, second floor, overlooking the main street with its frequent trams, but we were not aware of noise from outside - we stayed Sunday afternoon to Monday morning though, so it may well be worse on Fridays and Saturdays, say, especially through open windows - we loved the fact that you can actually open the windows fully if you choose.

We found the staff efficient and friendly (fine with speaking English) - only too happy to send up extra tea and coffee capsules for the coffee machine (no charge). Breakfast was OK, the choices of hot food being much more limited than the cold buffet (seems normal for Polish hotels) but you shouldn't go hungry and the orange juice was not squash (as in an earlier review) - our previous (more expensive) hotel offered a distinctly better breakfast though. Otherwise we only had a drink in the bar, which was fine but lacking in atmosphere as we were the only people there.

Would we stay at the Pod Orlem again? Absolutely, yes. It would have to be an apartment again - at the current bargain prices.

Room Tip: Er, get an "apartment", meaning a suite - amazing value for what you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hotel was OK despite that we had to share it with the number of "exotic" and rather loud group of guests. The restaurant served very good food, but the total effect was spoiled because we were forced to listen to the floor staff's private but loud conversation. Also very unpleasant and paradoxical were sounds of management scolding the servers for not smiling and setrnly demanding more friendly and lively attitude .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodOrlem, Manager at Hotel Pod Orlem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Lidia,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that our staff's loud behaviour spoiled your experience. Our staff has been reprimended (a bit quieter this time) by our General Manager and reminded that our guests' comfort should be their top priority. Thanks to your comments, we will improve and provide a better service in the future.

We are glad that you liked your stay and food in our restaurant, despite the above-mentioned incident, and we will be very happy if you visit our hotel again.

Best regards,
Dawid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bydgoszcz hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
#1 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
#3 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohema
Hotel Bohema
#2 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
#6 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Focus Bydgoszcz
Hotel Focus Bydgoszcz
#12 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Orlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Orlem

Address: ul. Gdanska 14, Bydgoszcz 85-006, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Bydgoszcz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bydgoszcz
#5 Business Hotel in Bydgoszcz
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Orlem 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pod Orlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Orlem Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing