We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grand old hotel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Pod Orlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pod Orlem
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bydgoszcz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel when attending the wedding of our friends. The hotel is full of character and has a lovely entrance and staircase and many period features. It is very centrally located, just a few minutes from the river and shops, bars and restaurants and close to the train station.
The room was lovely and bed comfy. My only minor quibbles were the low shower head and no air-conditioning.
The reception staff were helpful and attentive. At £40/ room/night in peak season, this was a bargain. Wi-fi was free and good and you could have breakfast brought to your room if you liked
All in all if I visit Bydgoszcz, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolJennybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pod Orlem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Such a shame that what should be a splendid 20's Hotel hasn't had Air Con fitted in the rooms...it turns a good hotel into just an ok one!
Stayed here for just short of a week with a party of 20 of us.
The staff couldn't of been more helpful, laying on transport and breakfast boxes for us each day...thanks for that!
The day we ate breakfast it was ok, food a little cold but a good choice, could do with a toaster!
We didn't eat dinner as the menu was a bit too fancy, my hungry team just can't face liver and brains after a 15 hour hard days graft!
Biggest issue was the rooms, mine was small and at the back of the hotel, at least I didn't have the street noise the guys at the front did I thought on the first night....then all of the following night I had people up drinking in the courtyard...and you had to have the windows open as the rooms were so hot.
The week we visited it touched 35 degrees....rooms were over 25 degrees (not sure why they provided a thermometer, may be just so you knew just how hot you were??)
Such a beautiful hotel to look at and with some of the most helpful staff, but please fit some Air Con or people will just not return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location of the hotel is superb!!! Everything is close to you, we didnt use car at all, the Area Stary Rynok is about 10 min walk, nearby big shopping center, cafes and etc. Decoration of the hotel is very authentic to the time it was build, everything is very well kept. Staff is very nice, polite, helpfull, we can just say a big thank you to everybody who made our stay. Breakfast is great, big choice of local and international specialties. Cant say much about lunch or dinner, because we always eat outside. Rooms are good,clean, big enough, there is everything you need, laundry service is also good and fast. We were leaving very early and the hotel staff organize for us a take away breakfast, it was amazing. Big personal thank you to Ms. Iwona, she was very helpfull and supportive during our stay. We wish all the best and looking forward to come back!!!!

Room Tip: I suggest to take a room with a balcony facing the street, so you`ll enjoy the view of the city, the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VSQVSQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just stayed here with my family in july 2014. We stayed in one of the suites, room 410 on the fourth floor. Large suite with nice view over the roof tops and nicely decorated. But downside with this hotel in summer is the lack of A/C. It was 32 degrees outside and the room was 29 degrees in the afternoon when we arrived. We where given a fan and could open the windows on both sides to generate some draught, but was still pretty warm during the whole night.

breakfast was pretty good and good choices. Wifi only worked for one device, but you can get more accounts down in the reception. Not very good wifi though. Slow and choppy.

Hotel really needs to install A/C to become a true 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: corner suites are huge and nice, but they get really warm in the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus_Solna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed 3 nights mis july 2014 in room 305.
Hotel location within walking distance of old town. Efficient very late check in at réception.
Room is small but cosy, clean and with confortable bed. Rooms do not have air conditioned and it can get very hot. There is a fan in the room but could not for somme reason make it work. You can open the window but street is very noisy and some summer show in tescos square next door could be heard.
Nice breakfast.
Réception dis fulfilled all my requests efficiently and with a sincère smile.
Could benefit from installing AC and solving the noise problem in front rooms. In the mean time, bring some ear plugs and a fan and enjoy this élégant hotel with his excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy. They face the street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Odei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Finally together with my wife we had the opportunity to stay overnight in Bydgoszcz and our first and only choice was "Hotel Pod Orlem". The doors and the the lobby make huge impression - but it's the hotel with a true soul because it's history was started in 1898. :)

Our expectations acc. to quality of service were fulfilled - although the view from window was not pretty and tehre was some steet-noise (but it's the middle of the city) but the rooms themselves were really great - comfortable beds, clean bathroom with bathtub (not only a shower), flat-screen TV with DVB-T channels and in the morning the tasty breakfast as a Smörgåsbord (Swedish buffet). But if You want to have more breakfast choices You need to get up earlier ;-)

IF You're traveling by car there might be an issue with parking spot because all the streets next to hotel are in paid parking zone so You might be surprised in the morning if You will not purchase the parking ticket.

So as a summary - we were really satisfied with Hotel Pod Orlem quality and price range - we can recommend it as good place for taking good rest during stay in Bydgoszcz.

Room Tip: We did the reservations online by one of price comparision websites - we got good price :)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here last year and was so impressed I booked here again this year and wasn't let down. The room and service given by everyone I came in to contact with was excellent. Last year I spent only one night here and then stayed with some friends at the Holiday Inn, this year it had to be the Pod Orlem or nothing, it knocks spots off of the Holiday Inn. The hotel is full of old world charm yet offers all of the modern requirements for a traveller. Situated in the centre of town, a short walk from the station or a short taxi ride from the airport. The breakfast was good with ample options. I visited for the speedway which is located about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bydgoszcz hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
#1 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohema
Hotel Bohema
#2 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
#3 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
#6 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brda Hotel
Brda Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Orlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Orlem

Address: ul. Gdanska 14, Bydgoszcz 85-006, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Bydgoszcz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bydgoszcz
#5 Business Hotel in Bydgoszcz
Price Range: £35 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Orlem 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pod Orlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Orlem Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing