We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a major investment and renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodz Zoo

Lodz Zoo
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs a major investment and renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've been to many zoos around the world but this one was not a great experience. It hasn't changed one bit in about 25 years since I last visited!
I know it's a state zoo and it's very cheap to get in (about £1) but it needs some serious investment and renovation. Some of the animals (e.g. the elephant and the giraffes) looked very unhappy. In the big monkey enclosure which used to have about 20 -30 monkeys, there was only 1 monkey!
Also, huge lack of parking facilities at the weekend. Took us about 1 hour to find somewhere to park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    32
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take cash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Really nice place, lots of animals including the felines, giraffes, elephants, and some very nice surprises in the small aquarium they have. But better take cash because there no ATMs in a 1 km radius and they don´t take cards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El-Sheikh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“miasto Łódź - Łódź city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I do not know really from which point i can start and which point i can finish about miasto Łódź (Łódź city)
It is really fantastic city and the main famous street in city center is ul. Piotrkowska , it is located at the heart of Łódź and it is very fantastic in night, many restaurants, Turkish KEBAB, bars, disco.
Everywhere you have to see flowers on both side of this street.
I like this city so much because it is collect between old civilization and new designs and decoration in construction at the same time.
At the end of this street you will find Manufaktura Gallery which have many international shops and sports club and restaurants.
You will find also very exclusive accessories for women and handbags.
It is very cheap city to stay there than Warszawa and have special magic really especially at the night.
I hope that you will try to find some days free to visit this wonderful and great city ....!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank concord331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I cried after visiting this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I go to every zoo in every town which I visited.This zoo was terrible. Animals with stereotypies, very small paddocs. Cockroaches (huge!) in pavilion with exotic pets were running around. Were everywhere!
Elephant - my reason of cry couldn't even walk in his box (he is living there all winter!!!) (look at the photo). I don't have words to describe how bad is this place to animals :( I think it should be closed, and animals should get to another place :(

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank kachulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lodz Zoo also viewed

 
Lodz, Lodz Province
Lodz, Lodz Province
 

Been to Lodz Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing