We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand!”
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand!”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

nice place, endless corridors, great staircases, huge breakfast room. Wifi works excellent, spacious room, nice view of what's going on at Piotrowska.

Breakfast was really nice, lots of different stuff. Just the coffee from the big cans was absolutely undrinkable, but you could ask for a fresh made cup and all was well.

Room Tip: i got a double room for single use and had a very spacious room for little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omeslons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    77
    50
    28
    15
See reviews for
31
37
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Yes the hotel has seen 'grander' days and is a little shabby in places but at the same time it has a certain charm that only comes with a hotel of the era. The rooms were basic but clean and spacious with a huge comfortable king size bed in one and comfy sofas in a separate area in the twin room and both with a mini bar but no coffee/ tea facilities. Our double room was located overlooking the main street and whilst this was nice because we had a small balcony it was also noisy at night.
The communal areas of the hotel are of a neo-rennaisance style with comfy chairs in the reception. We only ate breakfast here but the food was excellent and nothing too much trouble for the table staff. Similarly, the reception, bar and cleaning staff were more than happy to help and very friendly and welcoming. Their knowledge of the local bus and tram service, costs, where to catch them, what numbers and explanation of the ticket prices and which to buy etc was inexhaustible as was their patience for my questions!
The hotel is in an ideal location on Piotrkowska which is full of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Also, the main tram and bus stops are only a short walk away.
Overall, our experience at this hotel was very good, the tired nature of the building more than compensated for by the friendliness of the people, excellent location and value for money. I would not hesitate to book here again as I got everything I needed and expected from this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r00be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We booked the Grand because of it's history, reviews and even their own website suggested it was going to be 'Grand' but shabby. We were very pleasantly surprised.

Major refurbishment is obviously under way, but even areas not yet done aren't as bad as expected.

The room was great value, Kingsize double bed, separate comfortable sitting area with TV, minibar, sofa, desk. The bathroom was large and luxurious.

It was great value, our 2 night stay cost 500zl (£100 or 125 Euro).

We didn't try the restaurant, no need to, the location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of Piotrkowska where there are many places to eat and drink.

All in all, great value for money, will stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

From a long-gone era (1888), faded charm and elegance. Ideally situated for nearby restaurants and entertainment. Dining experience: OK, but lacking atmosphere. Food good and cheap (even in the Hotel). Wine menu offered Pino Noir ~ but only Valpollicella available!!

Room spacious but drab. Clean but lacking in warmth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel rooms are so old that it's a bit scary and the dinner and breakfast were terrible.
The hotel service is nice and the hotel is not so clean.
The hotel from outside and the dining area looks very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liorv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lodz hotels

Ra'anana, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

in the beautiful 19th century building,situated in the best place possible, I felt like a princess. that was in the lobby and in the dinning hall. it all vanished when I entered the room. it has a smell that if nobody opened the window for a century. the matress full with holes, I was afraid to stay on the veranda in which the cement was seen and all full with rust and the veranda doors could not be closed, so the noise from the strret did not allow me to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chana y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have no idea what the other hotel options are in Lodz, so maybe this is the best there is. But I was pretty disappointed. The lobby, dining room and other common areas are "Grand" and beautiful. But the rooms are old and need updating.

The first room I was assigned was facing the busy street and the sun, and since it was a hot 90 degree day that meant that my room was also 90 degrees. And no air conditioning or fan.

I asked for a different room facing away from the sun and that helped a bit, but it still would have been nice to have a fan at the minimum.

The bed was a twin, not very comfortable. The bedspread was definitely old. The carpet was old. The balcony in my first room was so broken down that it seemed dangerous to me. I hope no one steps into it!

Some of the hallways are very dark and kind of creepy... like the "haunted mansion" at Disney World feeling. Other hallways have been updated and are a little nicer.

My parents were first assigned a room with two twin beds and one of the beds was sagging to the floor - you didn't even have to lay on it to see this. It was obvious just by looking at it. They asked for a new room and ended up with a more updated room with a very nice bathroom, and their room had an air conditioning unit!

The breakfast buffet was very nice.

Overall we had an ok night at the Grand, but I expected a more luxurious room for a place with such a "Grand" history and reputation.

I will add that the location is wonderful, right on the main street. We did not have a car so I don't know what the parking situation is there. But you can walk to many restaurants and shops from here, and to the train.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning if it's a hot day. They do exist - well, there is at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lodz hotels
0.8 mi away
Vienna House Andel's Lodz
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Lodz Centrum
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lodz Centrum
Ibis Lodz Centrum
#6 of 38 in Lodz
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lodz
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn LODZ
Holiday Inn LODZ
#9 of 38 in Lodz
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tobaco Hotel
Tobaco Hotel
#7 of 38 in Lodz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Property: Hotel Grand
Address: ul. Piotrkowska 72, Lodz 90-102, Poland (Formerly Orbis Grand Hotel Lodz)
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Lodz Province > Lodz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbis Grand Lodz
Lodz Orbis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing