We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but atmospheric”
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shabby but atmospheric”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I wanted somewhere central and this place looked interesting. It has a faded charm and wouldn't have looked out of place 80 years ago. The lobby area is fantastic, my bedroom was spacious and had everything I needed although again was all a bit dated. The corridors were a bit endless I didn't eat in the hotel but went for a drink after dinner and the bar was really a bit sad. Breakfast, comparatively expensive. I wish I could 3.5 stars, it is better than average but maybe not quite up to very good! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    75
    49
    28
    15
See reviews for
29
37
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I purposely chose this due to its location and its historical identity (I like hotels that remind me of where I am). It's right in the middle of Lodz' Piotrkowska street - which is the most hopping of Lodz' nightlife, with lots of bars, cafes, stores, street art, and strip clubs. The hotel and room were clean, although the room was "rough around the edges" with things like a loose shower head, a cigarette burn here and there, a door that wasn't completely sealed from the hallway light. The TV and other amenities were fine. The breakfast, served in a grandiose ballroom, was diverse and delicious with lots of cheeses, fruits, meats, breads, juices, cereals, fish and more. I made the mistake of foregoing the breakfast in the hotel to look for something on the street, but apparently, Poles don't eat breakfast out because there were NO other options. The hotel staff was all pleasant and accommodating and, lucky for me, had umbrellas to lend to hapless guests unprepared for the rain. Overall, I was comfortable there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Donald_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Huge room with basic amenities including flatscreen tv, slippers,and a phone in the bathroom (!?). You can see that it has been very grand (a while ago), now it is worn and in need of some tlc. Breakfast is served in a pink ballroom- and I would recommend to go quite early as there are no coolers etc to keep the food from getting warm. Staff were friendly, and the hotel has a central location. An interesting experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am writing this review from my hotel room. My room is very spacious, spotlessly clean, everything is working fine, the bed is magnificent and very comfortable. Just finished my breakfast and I can say it was truly delicious. The pleasant reception man recommended the breakfast to me and I can honestly say it was well worth the money. There was a fast choice including hot and cold. I asked for poached eggs and to my surprise they came to me perfectly poached. The other 4 hotels in Lodz that I recently stayed in, did not know what a poached egg was. The bacon was also first class.

The hotel is elegant and I hope all these stupid people who say it is old, I want to say to them, "please open your eyes because if it was left to you, you would be demolishing churches and cathedrals because they are old"

100% to the WiFi, very quick and does not keep breaking down. I have booked another couple of days here at the Grand. Give this place a chance and ask for one of the renovated rooms.

Cheers
Anthony
(Tony) Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

All the facilities are very run down, hotel had its best days a long time ago and sadly unless some good investment comes along I can't see this hotel staying there much longer (with so many amazing hotels to choose from in Lodz).

Very expensive for what you get - although on a positive side staff were friendly and helpful.

Also be aware - not all of the rooms have air conditioning - I arrived there in August at 38C and got one without - thankfully they had capacity to move me to one with AC.

The first room I got was Apartment Studio - which was nice but toilets were terrible - dirty loo, leaking shower - oh my that was just awful. The next room was clean and bathroom was in a much better state but the room wasn't as nice as the previous one - very old (80s style furniture) which had better days, low quality curtains, bedding (Ikea set) - just not worth the money I spent really. For that price I would have a far better room and comfort in one of the other hotels around.

Would not recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for air con - not all rooms have it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belaizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lodz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great central position and pleasant hotel - staff friendly and excellent breakfasts. Rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable and good bathroom. Hotel seems quiet but it is early in the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Following in the footsteps of the great, the good and the very bad, we stayed in one of the 'apartments' which gave us a large bed room (with a comfy and charming bed, long enough for my 6'3' partner), a fantastic huge sitting room, complete with rococo chairs and persian carpet, a spacious clean bathroom and a small hall with fridge. The windows were huge so it was very light, and the double glazing kept out most of the friday and saturday night reveller sounds which did not disturb us at all. The rest of the hotel is equally spacious and redolent of its 19th century heritage. Yes the floors creak, yes we had to bang the bathroom door to get it to shut - but not big problems for us. The shower was good and hot, and the plumbing worked efficiently - much more important. We would have liked a kettle to make ourselves a cup of tea when we fancied it, sitting in our splendid sitting room. The staff were helpful, and breakfast offered pretty much anything you could wish for. Anyway we loved it, and its bang in the middle of one of the liveliest part of the pedestrianised Piotrkowska Street, so lots of bars, restaurants and cafes around.

Room Tip: If you're there at the weekend it might be best to be higher up - away from the street noise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetBlackAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lodz hotels
0.8 mi away
andel’s by Vienna House Lodz
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Lodz Centrum
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lodz Centrum
Ibis Lodz Centrum
#5 of 38 in Lodz
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lodz
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn LODZ
Holiday Inn LODZ
#8 of 38 in Lodz
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lodz Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Property: Hotel Grand
Address: ul. Piotrkowska 72, Lodz 90-102, Poland (Formerly Orbis Grand Hotel Lodz)
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Lodz Province > Lodz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lodz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbis Grand Lodz
Lodz Orbis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing