We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, classic charm”
Review of Centrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centrum Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Lodz
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Do not let the now classic communistic architecture scare you, the hotel is clean, friendly and good value in a central location. It is not a 5* experience, but nobdy pretends that. Beds are very comfortable, a little softer on the surface which I like. The higher floors 11-13 are better maintained. Internet is free but not completely reliable. Breakfast is nice with some personal touch in the presentation, but not always fully stocked. I have stayed here 10+ times on business travel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better maintained
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Centrum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I booked rooms at midnight and we arrived very early in the morning.
It was easy to park a car (had to pay for parking). The building clearly needs facelift. Otherwise double room was really spacious and clean. Very good location between trainstation and main street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EkuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I recently visited Hotel Centrum whilst on a business trip. My first impression as I walked up to the hotel was one which had me questioning whether the war was actually over...From a distance it seemed very dark and closed! Once inside the hotel the decor was very dated. My room was clean, although the sheet didn't fit the bed properly (it was too small), there was no hairdryer and the fixings in the bathroom were falling off the wall.

Breakfast was a whole other experience. I'm not one to be fussy with food, but this was rather disgusting! The scrambled egg was watery and not properly scrambled (if that's even possible!), the meat was incredibly greasy and the fruit and veg were all pickled! There was no fresh juice (only cordial) and the coffee was horrific!

I was quite jealous of my colleagues who had stayed at various other hotels in the city - some less expensive and some more - who had a much better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyKat11985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed here while on business travel to Lodz and was basic and functional.
Seems like a step back in time as the rooms and ambience are so old they really need a facelift.
Didnt eat in the restaurant so cant comment on that.
Staff were fine.

Overall very basic and dated. Rooms were not what one would expect but then again it was cheap and other hotels in the area were booked out at the time.

Wouldnt stay there again if other options were available

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalot_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Warmth, caring and homely atmosphere. I felt like a family guest house, not a large hotel. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. clean! What is rare in this city. Professional service at reception, very nice. Reservations for the breakfast menu - a little-rich, low raw vegetables every day the same thing. The restaurant wounded little professional. Overall, a good choice to stay in Lodz.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrzegorzRumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I spent in this hotel one night, when I was in buisness trip in Łódź. The room was very small with uncomfortable bed and with small bathroom.

Hotel was clear, but old and he could use a renovation. I feel in this hotel if I went back in time to the youth of my parents. The price was too high.

Food in hotel's restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvii85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Centrum Hotel in Lodz, a city one does not go to unless there is absolute necessity. I stayed in one of the suites on the 13th floor, which offered breathtaking views over the beautiful concrete jungle of Lodz. The rooms with jacuzzis on the 13th floor are the perfect romantic oasis for couples who get married in the beautiful city of Lodz, or couples that honeymoon in this hidden wonder. Surrounded by dog feces-covered pedestrian areas, this hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main train station and close to the main street in Lodz, where the bars and nightlife are located. The Manufaktura Shopping Centre is just a short ride away, in case you need a reminder of the modern world. For a good meal, I recommend the Varoska Restauracja located near the hotel, just be warned that the staff will quickly decline your business if they are too hung over to want your zlotys.

The hotel is an imposing structure, and the architecture can be best described as "Stalinesk" or "Communesk". This hotel is a relic that will immediately transport you back to the Polish '60s. With Hotel Centrum, it's all about the attention in the details that create an atmosphere of communist ambience. The 1960s called and wanted to know if they can have the pukey green elevator wallpaper and the gaudy white hotel room wallpaper back. The mismatching wallpaper and carpet designs and colors in the rooms really add to the sumptuous interior styling.

The rooms do feature more modern European amenities like renovated bathrooms and the lovely energy efficient lighting system, where you must insert your key card to work any of the 45 light switches in the room, 2/3 of which are placebo switches. This seems to be the only hotel in Poland with a clock in the room, which would be a welcome amenity, if not for the frequent Lodz power outages, making it a necessity to adjust the time often.

I was perhaps most disturbed after waking up and realizing there was a thumb-size blood/ bodily discharge stain on my blanket. This should not have been put on the bed. Another disturbing aspect was the complete lack of lighting on the floor, which made it near impossible to enter my room during the night. This problem was eventually fixed when a very sketchy character solved the problem, and followed up by proceeding to creep around the hallways, inspecting the beautiful American women. It is of absolute necessity to budget at least 15 minutes to take the elevator down to the lobby, since it operates on two speeds only: slow and slower. The doors open as the elevator is still coming up to stop, which I find to be quite a wonderful feature.

Breakfast is served in the retro communist dining room. There is a large selection of foods and mystery juices. I highly recommend trying the chicken soup which is encased in jello made from the soup's broth.

Centrum Hotel is quite the hotel and experience in downtown Lodz. If you are fine with the fact that "Recepcja" is the closest you will get to the English language in this hotel, it's a good place to stay in this wonderful and unique city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricTheTranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lodz hotels
0.1 mi away
Polonia Palast
Polonia Palast
#37 of 39 in Lodz
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Reymont
Hotel Reymont
#22 of 39 in Lodz
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#34 of 39 in Lodz
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mazowiecki
Hotel Mazowiecki
#20 of 39 in Lodz
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lodz
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Lodz Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrum Hotel

Address: Kilinskiego 59/63, Lodz 90-118, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Lodz Province > Lodz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Lodz
Price Range: £50 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing