We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Communism in agony”
Review of Hotel Gromada Pila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gromada Pila
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pila
Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Communism in agony”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel is old but seems to be best in Piła. Breakfast is not acceptable.
Friendly, helpfull but not really professional staff.
Gromada in Piła is just OK.
Poland has ubelievable, great, highest standard hotels. This one is of course not one of these.
What we really can recommend in Piła is the restaurant www.pomaranczowyfortepian.pl World Class!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    30
    9
    1
See reviews for
4
9
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel is very centrally located, actually one of the few in Pila. It is very old, you feel the ghost of 70's eveywhere, but it's well kept, rooms are clean and breakfast is very good with wide choice. Staff from reception is very unfriendly however cleaning ladies and restaurant staff is very helpful and with smile on their face.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This is a hotel which I have visited several times before Nov 2008 and every time I am amazed at the way they are managing to cling to the old style of management at the shop floor level.For example, a pleasant elderly person will greet you on your way to breakfast and check your room number! Service at the two restaurants is also extremely personalized; you have to draw attention of the one person, who takes the orders and who is usually serving at the bar in one of the restaurants and wave your hands to do this. Then you place your order by pointing out the exact item in the menu card in case you are non-Polish. Usually this is treated as a friendly gesture on the part of the guest as it makes much easier for them to understand what you want to order. Then there is a longish wait, while you can watch other activities around you, if it is a week end. In the other restaurant, the real excitement is to get yourself noticed when you make your entry. On week days, it is better to take a book with you for this interim period of waiting time.

Smoking can kill - has been literally taken to by this hotel as you are invited to try this adage out at each and every public area, including the restaurants.So if you are a non smoker, brace yourself up for such an experience! There is no concept of no smoking area inside these retsaurants.

But in other aspects, like cleanliness, quietness, breakfast service the hotel can be justifiably proud of what it does. Breakfast is sumptuously served. The hotel has a lovely walkaway along the river Gwda, which runs just behind the hotel. Evening walks along the river, on both sides, is a great experience!

All in all, in a small place like Pila, Poland, this is an interesting experience!

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gottosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Stayed at this hotel on business for two nights. It's located in middle of Pila. Generally the hotel is fine. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The decor is a little dated, but acceptable. It has a bar and restaurant - both are okay. Staff were pleasant enough and the hotel felt safe. Generally I got the impression that this was the best hotel in the area.

Pila itself doesn't win any prizes for beauty or scenery. I was told several times to be careful - it's fair to say the locals aren't used to visitors! I would recommend the Orange Piano bar though, which served good food in nice modern surroundings and although the beer is more expensive (almost £1.00!), it's well worth paying a little extra for the comforts that this nice bar/eatery offers.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

Spend three nights here while on a business trip. The rooms were quite small, but very clean and beds comfortable. Staff didn't have much English but were as helpful as could be and tried to attend to all of our needs. Hotel allowed smoking in all areas so the smell permeated everything. Decor was the big drawback; dark hallways, plastic grass carpeting in the elevator (!), lots of balloons and plastic garden statues, overall a type of socialist 60's kitsch I had never before encountered. Breakfast buffet is quite good and lasts until 11 am. If you have to go to Pila this hotel is safe and comfortable with an accommodating staff and good central location.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSR-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pila
1.3 mi away
Hotel Forma
Hotel Forma
#1 of 4 in Pila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Habenda
Hotel Habenda
#1 of 1 in Budzyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holubowski
Holubowski
#3 of 4 in Pila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Centralny Osrodek Sportu
2.2 mi away
Gosciniec Rebajlo
Gosciniec Rebajlo
#2 of 5 in Pila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensjonat Park
Pensjonat Park
#4 of 5 in Pila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gromada Pila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gromada Pila

Property: Hotel Gromada Pila
Address: al. Piastow 15, Pila 64-920, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Greater Poland Province > Pila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gromada Pila 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gromada Pila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing