We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bathroom - expensive breakfast”
Review of Hotel Gaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gaja
Ranked #7 of 81 Poznan B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice bathroom - expensive breakfast”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

For a low budget hotel it was decent; it is very quiet and well cleaned. The bathroom was really nice and looked like it was recently refurbished, but the shower gel smells really bad, so be sure to bring your own. According to the reception they didn't have double beds, so we taped our twin beds together. There was also no ceiling fan, which the information online said there would be. Luckily the windows could be opened entirely, so we could get some air in that way.

The breakfast was my biggest disappointment. The variety of food was good, but nothing tasted anything. It was also heavily overpriced in my opinion, 30 szloty will buy you a better breakfast pretty much anywhere in Poznan. We didn't try the restaurant at the hotel for anything else.

We spent about 20 minutes walking to the city centre, and there are both tram and bus stops at less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Taxis are also very affordable, and the reception will book you one if you ask.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everywhereandn0where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    23
    14
    3
See reviews for
9
22
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very handy, only a good 5 minutes walk from the main railway station, and close to the Rondo Kaponiera bus stop from the airport bus. English speaking staff helpful, and breakfast was fine, a pleasant surprise in the light of other comments

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with the standard of the hotel. Really cosy room, extremely clean, very friendly personnel, perfect location. The interior is unusual and inviting. We definitely felt welcomed and well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Dublin_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Located 300 meters from Poznan Sheraton, Gaja offers very decent accomodation, surprisingly varied choice of breakfast food, convenient location next to Poznan Fair Center, 5 minutes to Railway Central Station and 15 min walking distance to old town. and gated parking lot. Rooms, though small (esp. singles), look nice and neat. Don't expect too many facilities but you can have the basic. Good and friendly service. No dinner but a few nice places with food nearby. You may get confused approaching there - a lot of roadworks and constructions around, there are some ruins in the neighbourhood, the exterior is not impressive. But, actually, if you are not in Poznan for luxury but just need a good base to visit Poznan as tourist or business traveller you may save quite a few quids by forgetting about nearby Sheraton or Mercury. Great for business visitors especially related to Poznan Fair, also can be a good idea for leisure visitors..

Room Tip: Rooms overviewing the street can be noisy. The very Gajowa str is quiet, but nearby Bukowska is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,Alberta
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel yesterday and after looking at the pictures and paying only $38 (CAD) per night for 2 rooms it was pretty good deal. Hotel is located near the World Trade Centre that they have. There is currently a ton of construction around the area so good luck since GPS is useless. Hotel has a gated parking lot for an extra $12 (CAD) per night which was fine. Rooms. Well, facing the park, my buddy had a nice large cool room, I was facing the other side and had a smaller much warmer room, no air conditioning in these rooms either. Place was semi clean its a bit outdated but again the price was a steal. Friendly staff, speak great English. I would stay in this hotel again. Once the construction is done there will be a massive mall walking distance

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsbehonest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

easily found<off the main airport road> close to the one way system that involves the sheraton and mercure hotels,this quintessentially polish hotel exuded a kind of 'olde worlde' charm.no chrome or pastel colours,quite dark inside,my first floor room was bigger than average with an average bathroom/shower.good bed and tv options.only made it down to breakfast on my last day and agree that the 30zl price is high for the locality.the spread was quite impressive but still not worth it.a better option was the discovery of the 'metka bar' on the corner,which got my brunch,beer and dinner money.<very popular with locals too>for high standard polish 'grub' at a third of the sheratons cost.hotel fine for short breaks,20 zl return taxi fare from 'old town' due to enormous roadworks.3zl bus to airport from opposite sheraton,bus L..hotel bar in gaja,another curiosity,with a bowling alley but good fun

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here on a business trip. Twin room was good, bathroom very nice. One thing I didn't liked - housemaid found one towel on the ground and not changed it, but only took it away. So in the end my colleague was left with one towel only.
Breakfast was good. For hot meal every day egg scramble and some other meal (I missed some hot porridge). What I didn't liked - dinning room was dark. If you sit not near the window - it's too dark.
Interior is nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndreS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poznan hotels
0.7 mi away
Traffic Hotel
Traffic Hotel
#14 of 73 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Poznan
Mercure Poznan
#3 of 73 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Poznan Hotel
Sheraton Poznan Hotel
#4 of 73 in Poznan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Poznan
NH Poznan
#8 of 73 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
PURO Poznan Stare Miasto
1.5 mi away
Ibis Poznan Old Town
Ibis Poznan Old Town
#9 of 73 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaja

Property: Hotel Gaja
Address: ul. Gajowa 12, Poznan 60-815, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Greater Poland Province > Poznan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Poznan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaja 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing