We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post-soviet”

National Museum in Poznan
Ranked #22 of 152 things to do in Poznan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Poznan museum exists from 1857. It was renamed to National Museum in Poznan in 1950. It is one of the oldest, biggest and most important museums in Poland. You can find here paintings by J. Malczewski, O. Boznańska, modern art by Kantor, Stażewski, Kulik, Gustowska as well as European paintings, coffin portraits or a collection of portraits of Roman Emperors.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Post-soviet”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very concedrvative museum and exhibitions quality depends only on showpieces, but not on inventions, on curators attitude.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaidas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great collection but no guide”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I came here on a Saturday when entrance is free. Unfortunately they did not have any audio guides neither book guides to buy. I must say that the collection is very interesting and I really liked it and enjoyed it. But I think it would have been better to have guide (at least a little book or anything). I was lucky because I met a person who knew a lot about some artists :) In general I can recommend this museum but better book a guided tour before you come here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Delitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Neat museum”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent opportunity to know more about Poland. Entrance fee is very cheap too. You will also be bale to find arts from other parts of Europe, such as from Germany and Italy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“World Class Art Museum”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This museum contains a large collection of European Art as well as ancient art from Egypt and Greece. The collections are extensive. It also features major Polish painters that are not well known in Western European museums but are worth seeing. The art is beautifully displayed and very easy to view. It is worth a journey for any art student or art lover.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Certainly one of the very best collections of Polish art (a large number of true masterpieces, both of old masters and contemporary artists), which also possesses a good number of good European paintings. Could be open longer during week days.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank adynatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum in Poznan also viewed

Poznan, Greater Poland Province
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
 
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
 

Been to National Museum in Poznan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing