We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but not terrible”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Poznan
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. The price was a bit more than I wanted to pay (I was just passing through on my way to another destination) but good reviews here and elsewhere led me to book here instead of some other cheaper options.

Pros: - Location is approximately half way between the train station (from where I arrived and departed) and the Old Town (my main interest).

- It is on a main street but the entrance and rooms themselves are across a courtyard far enough away from the road so as not to be disturbed by traffic.

- It was snowing the night I stayed there and, though it ought to be expected anyway, the radiator worked well so there were no heat problems.

- 24 hour reception.

Cons: - Breakfast costs an extra 30 or so zlotys. I didn't bother.

- Despite being given the free Wifi code when checking-in at no time did it work in my room during my stay. Given that it worked perfectly at the local McDonald's (5 min. walk) and all the other hotels I stayed in that month in Poland, Germany, and the Netherlands I assume it wasn't a problem with my device.

- The middle aged blonde woman at the reception desk spoke English well but didn't like being asked questions. She was not very approachable.

- The bed was not very comfortable.

- Though there was no noise from outside the hotel there was inside I could hear conversations next door and when people were walking in the hallway it was very loud. When they were opening their doors it felt like they were entering my room.

- Fairly small room with very old furnishings - though the bathroom (including shower) was decent enough.

- I briefly went through the TV channels and IIRC there was one in English (France 24 news channel) and a few in German. The rest in Polish.

I've been to two other Polish cities (Krakow and Warsaw) before but this was my first time in Poznan so I can only compare this hotel to similarly priced places in other parts of Poland. With that caveat in mind it seemed to me that although Hotel Royal is acceptable enough for a short stay it is also overpriced.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
Thank Andrew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed there on the weekend of St.Martin's Day and it was a good decision, especially because I wanted to stay in the city centre and wanted something relatively cheap. It is an old building totally refurbished and very cosy. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable and clean, nice retro decor with a touch of art deco and rich, autumn colours. The building has four floors and doesn't have an elevator, so before booking it's better to check which floor is available if you don't want to climb up too much. Breakfast is normally not included in the room price, but can be ordered in the nice restaurant at the ground floor and is quite good. It is next to the Old Town and very close to any attractions you will probably want to see. Also, compared to other hotels and even hostels it has very good price ( when I booked it was around 20 PLN more than a hostel with private rooms.

Room Tip: Simply ask which room is bigger ( I know that some of the rooms located on the right hand side are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bravurka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When we arrived at the Hotel my heart sunk..do not be put of by the exterior. The room we had was large, quite and cool. The Hotel is clean and comfortable, ask for a room at the back of the court yard as this may not be the same for all rooms. It is a bit of a hike to the town square but worth the walk. Warning though, the steak bar opposite is dreadful despite its very eye catching street appeal.
Good all round value

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, breakfast is extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Old hotel with the possibility of private parking, good breakfast, and within walking distance of Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one week in July 2011. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the station and the same from Stary Rynek, Poznan's main tourist centre. This hotel is excellent value for money serving a great breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and the staff are very freindly and helpful. They have a lbeautiful garden area in the back where guests can enjoy a peaceful drink and smoke if they wish. One small disadvantage is that the hotel has no lift so if your room is on the third floor it is a bit of a climb. That aside this hotel is value for money and is an ideal centre for exploring this historic city

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubhghaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This hotel is in a great location and it is reasonably priced. The rooms are however not well designed, the burgundy carpets and ceilings with peach walls are not a good start for the decor. The first single room I was given had no bed-side lamp because the bed only just fitted beside the door. The second room was much better with the bed-head against the window. The shower recess is tiny with little room to move and adjustable shower heads that leaked and sprayed in all the wrong places.

There are no extras here: no kettle, very cheap toiletries and even the cup in the bathroom is plastic. On the weekends the sounds from the night club next door will keep you up til 3 AM. A room facing the back of the building is preferable. The breakfast is reasonable. The staff on reception are incredibly helpful and friendly, with a refurbishment and more invested in things like shower fittings and breakfast this could be a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_B_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The location is excellent - within easy walk of both the central station and the old town. The staff spoke excellent English and could not have been more helpful.
There was free internet on a computer in the lobby.
The room was quiet but unfortunately it did smell of smoke.
Considering how expensive Polish hotels are, this was reasonable. They also had twin beds, which are not aways easy to get in Poland.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outineastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poznan hotels
0 mi away
NH Poznan
NH Poznan
#11 of 74 in Poznan
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Traffic Hotel
Traffic Hotel
#12 of 74 in Poznan
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Poznan Old Town
Ibis Poznan Old Town
#7 of 74 in Poznan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel
Vivaldi Hotel
#5 of 74 in Poznan
211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#39 of 74 in Poznan
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Prestige Residence
Don Prestige Residence
#10 of 74 in Poznan
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 71 St. Martin Street, Poznan 61-808, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Greater Poland Province > Poznan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Poznan
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Royal Hotel is a cosy boutique hotel located in the heart of Poznan city, near Old Town Square, Poznan Central Railway Station and Poznan International Fair. All significant city monuments, finest Poznan restaurants and bars and innumerable attractions are within your reach. The Hotel guarantees comfortable rooms with charming décor, cosy atmosphere and attractive price. The lobby bar is open around the clock. The 24-hour reception staff can help you book tickets and arrange airport and station transfers. The Hotel has two air-conditioned and well equipped conference rooms. The Royal Hotel blends historical charm with modern interior design with high standard furnishing and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Poznan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing