We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, expensive restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Poznan
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good hotel, expensive restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hotel is situated not that far from city center and train station. It is also next to the railway track - so if you get a room from the front side - you can probably hear the trains (I can't tell because my room was from the other side). Even the street name "Kolejowa" means something like "railway street" ;-).

The hotel is nice, room was not that big but not small neither. Clean, new furnitures, tv-set, nice bathroom.

I think it is pretty popular among foreign tourists and business travellers - there were many of them in the evening and breakfast as well.

I good give this hotel 4 tripadvisor stars - but the 1 star less is because of the restaurant. It is too expensive as for polish standard. If you're from abroad, maybe 10-20 euro for a dish is not that much - but you can have much more for this money in a nice restaurant outside. And the dish will be much bigger.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank komalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    44
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
16
8
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

As you may read from other Reviews, most of the people complain of its location; still it is not so dramatic as it may appear - it is 15min walk from the Railway Station, and you may get to all historical locations in 5 min by taxi. Since my trip was business, I simply did not care.
What I liked was clear, nicely furnished comfortable room, decent bathroom, fast Internet and a very good restaurant. Breakfast was decadent; and for lunch I could get a well-done steak for 10E. My view from the window was “industrial” but that was the only “but”. Hence - if you come to Poznan as a tourist, you may choose other locations; but for business it is just what you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beciasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel represents what I call a great hotel in every aspect of it. Would recomend it highly! The staff attended to all our needs with profesionalism, attention to detail in a very timely and friendly manner. Loved our stay there and will defenitely book there again . Thanks to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia1oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in August 2012 for a couple of nights, as with the name, a very modern Hotel recently built.

In a quiet residential area & some distance to the Old Town. That's the only negative point really, which is a shame for such a nice Hotel

Rooms spotlessly clean, nice
decor. Good breakfast buffet both mornings.

Staff in restaurant very helpful & polite.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is very new, clean and inviting. We stayed for two nights in August and enjoyed it. They provided an extra bed for our child. Although the bathroom was very nice the fittings were very low - we had to bend down to wash in the sink. The toilet bowl was very low like it was for a child. It is not close to the centre, but we had a car so it suited us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmdanaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good location, staffs are very friendly. Food in the restaurant is very good. The service is fantastic and very clean.car park facilities available. The friendly environment is worth while staying. Staffs speaks good English.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

As promised to Staff: after spending 10 nights in Poznan in July 2013: Hotel Moderno is a great little hotel - modern, clean, fantastic beds, with very friendly staff, (plus air-condition), breakfast $8, free parking, wifi, etc ... as was born in Poznan and I've seen other places - I may really recommend this hotel.
It is 10 min by car from the old town; street car near by. Located in a historically industrial and blue-collar neighbourhood of Lazarz and Wilda with the Cegielski factory - so not much to see if you like to walk around - this can be the only reason why it is inexpensive.

Room Tip: just ask the Staff for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dk1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poznan hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Poznan Old Town
Ibis Poznan Old Town
#8 of 72 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.9 mi away
PURO Poznan Stare Miasto
1.2 mi away
IBB Andersia Hotel Conference Centre & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Poznan
NH Poznan
#9 of 72 in Poznan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Solei Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wloski
Hotel Wloski
#13 of 72 in Poznan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: ul. Kolejowa 29, Poznan 60-718, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Greater Poland Province > Poznan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Poznan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moderno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing