We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design with mistakes.....”
Review of Hotel Bulwar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bulwar
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Design with mistakes.....”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A beautiful 4 stars design hotel with an amazing lobby and nice smallish rooms. However the designer probably never stayed in a hotel room as all the possible mistakes were made.
No suitcase rake, so put the suitcase on the floor. No space around the wash basin, so put your toilet bag on the floor. Only 1 socket so where on earth do I plug all my electronics? Very low bedside table so break your neck to get to them. 3 huge chairs, so no space to move. Narrow desk, so no space for the laptop.
And so on & so on.............
WIFI in lobby only & LAN in room.
Beautiful restaurants, but medicor food though nice waiters.
So a mix bag of experiences. I spoke to the front desk about all that and they say sorry & we are aware of it all.
So why not fix some of the wrong doing?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    126
    52
    18
    2
See reviews for
41
103
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Breakfast buffet they offer is extremely below expectations. We ended up leaving hungry every morning so if you have any appreciation for food at all I'd recomend skipping it all together.The problem is not it's the variety but it's quality (cheapest available jogurt, no fresh juices, coffee undrinkable unless you order and pay extra, market quality or worse croissants, caned friuts only, stale cornflakes). Rooms are ok but nothing special. Air Con didn't seem to work. Design is rather confusing than pleasent. The hotel seems to be an adapted granary which is a nice idea but unfortunatelly the designer lacked any sense of taste. Individual elements don't match each other (wooden clay celings, white marble floors, very modern lights). They seem to be targeting organised groups rather than individual clients. The palce is rather a disgrace than a tribute to the picturesque views of the city. Generally you would expect more at a price of 100€ per night (including parking fee).

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraSzlamberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stay few times in this hotel already. I love the place, the location, the comfort and the deco.
The terrace is a lovely spot to have drink or diner during the summer.
The SPA offers a comprehensive set of beauty procedures.
A new bar downstairs is a nice spot for a drink or two as well.
The city center is just around the corner.
Having tested quite a few hotels in Torun, this is the only good choice for me while in Torun again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wewura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location and it's in an old, well restored building. When it comes to interior decor - it's cool but not very practical.
Door to the bathroom might as well not be there as it is a sheet of frosted glass which you slide to close and it does not provide much privacy.
The light panel also controls air con so you can switch air con off without loosing all the lights, bizarre design.
There is no wifi in the rooms but only in the hotel lobby.
Also for some strange reason the corridors are very dark, when we asked reception why, they told us that the light is switched on after 6pm which is weird as the hotel's corridors do not have any day light and the strip lighting they provide is not enough. At time it felt like a scene from a low budget horror film. Some might see that as an attraction I guess?
Staff were ok but not very helpful or apologetic when we reported faulty air con unit. I expected to see higher standards of customer care.
Breakfast was just ok, for a price of the room, I would expect better.
Hotel did score some good points however with delicious cocktails (available from the lobby bar) and a jacuzzi and saunas use which were included in the room rate. Staff in the Spa were very nice too.
Over all - it was an ok stay but I'm afraid that I won't be recommending it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylwia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel has a good position over looking the river but only a few minutes walk from the city center. The hotel is a nice old building but with a very modern interior. The rooms are nicely furnished though the electrics are not so well finished and wouldn't meet UK safety standards with exposed connection blocks.
Breakfast was good with a good variety

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely two night stay here. Well decorated and clean room. I also had a view over the river which was nice. A few suggestions: for the single rooms having more than one pillow and towel. Wifi in the rooms would be nice to as most hotels do this now. Also the breakfast was ok but nothing I would rave about. I will have to return to Torun again for work and would be happy to stay at the hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Bulwar for the second time and were not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located just a short walk from the town centre. The service was great, rooms comfortable and well appointed, and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.2 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.4 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spichrz Hotel
Spichrz Hotel
#5 of 24 in Torun
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petite Fleur
Hotel Petite Fleur
#7 of 24 in Torun
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bulwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bulwar

Property: Hotel Bulwar
Address: ul. Bulwar Filadelfijski 18, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bulwar 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bulwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing