We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but needs more maintenance and better service”
Review of Heban Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heban Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Torun B&B and Inns
Europe
Level Contributor
177 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great potential but needs more maintenance and better service”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked an apartment (situated in a building across the street from the main hotel building) - arriving, parking was a breeze - a few yards away from the hotel entrance, the receptionist gave us a parking permit (well, the hotel's name on a card) - 25zl per day.

The apartment itself was very good - very spacious - lounge (sofa/foldout bed), bedroom, usable kitchen, largeish bathroom. The apartment was a little old and musty, with the exception of the bathroom which seems to have been refurbished. There's a long narrow balcony with a good view of the street below.

However, poor service and maintenance really let this place down. Wifi was not working - after several attempts to sort this out at the front desk they admitted there was a problem - which would not be fixed until the next day. IMO wifi is a basic amenity - get a 24-hour service contract, Next morning - still no wifi.

There were 2 a/cs in the flat - a big plus in Poland - however neither was working (even tried changing batteries in the remote - no use).

2 TVs - a nice, big LCD (all inputs available in the back) in the lounge with looked like an impressive array of cable channels - except that the cable stopped working in the evening, Smaller CRT TV in the bedroom.

The bathroom is very nice (albeit in a strange elongated shape) - a toilet, a double sink, a separate shower and a bathtub. However, the hot water pressure in the bathttub was virtually non-existent, making it almost impossible to use. Strangely enough, no problem at the shower or sink, I went down to the front desk to ask for a couple more towels - but was informed they had run out. Really ? The hotel is short of towels ?

In fairness, I did not complain to the hotel about all the above - for one night, it just wasn't worth the bother.

Breakfast was fine - not a very wide selection but enough, and tastefully done.

Overall for an apartment fairly good value for money, but needs more attention by management.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
22
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Nice hotel in a heart of beautiful old town of Torun; nice room (we've had an apartment) with minor issues (can't close the bathroom door... hey, it should be easy to fix!)
helpful crew at reception and extremely helpful gentlemen in the hotel restaurant - salute ;)
problems with Internet access, in the main building it worked smoothly.
Overall the stay was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We only found this place by searching the nearest hotel on our Sat Nav. What a superb hotel. Ate in the restaurant and I have never eaten such a good meal. I had fawn (baby dear) and the meat literally fell apart in my mouth. The waiter also was very friendly and knowledgable. The room was across the small lane from the main hotel. Very large, clean and quiet. This should be a four star hotel, not a three.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotlet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed at Hotel Heban for 1 night and had a very pleasant stay. It is housed in a couple of different tenement blocks, which are very close to each other. We were in the block away from the hotel, which was just as well as there was a very loud wedding party going on when we arrived. We were in Room 423 which was on the top floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the street. The hotel was clean and welcoming. The room itself was huge and offered all the bits we needed - comfortable twin beds, table and chair, lounge area with 2 tv's, space to put our cases, a big bathroom with shower, etc. As regards breakfast, they offered a good buffet breakfast which was regularly replenished. The food was mainly cheese and meats, yogurts, breads and jams, cereal, etc so a goodly feast.

Location wise, it was very convenient as you were right in the centre. Overall I would recommend this place although we found Torun itself to be a let down as they wasn't much to see and what there was wasn't stunning. We were only here for 1 night on our way from Gdansk to Warsaw so it wasn't a problem :-)

  • Liked — Huge room with a balcony and nice bathroom
  • Disliked — Noisy wedding going on just down the street in the main hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fergusab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.3 mi away
Gotyk Hotel
Gotyk Hotel
#10 of 24 in Torun
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#8 of 24 in Torun
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spichrz Hotel
Spichrz Hotel
#6 of 24 in Torun
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heban Hotel

Property: Heban Hotel
Address: ul. Male Garbary 7, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heban Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Heban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing