We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, huge rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heban Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heban Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Torun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, huge rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed in Hotel Heban as a wedding visitor in April. The location couldn't be better - it's in the Old Town, just minutes away from the main market square, which makes it a great starting point to explore. The rooms were huge, there's no other way to describe it; in fact, my old flat was smaller than the room I was in. They're all different, but they all have a certain old-fashioned feel to them, at least until you see the state-of-the-art bathrooms. If I ever go back to Torun, Heban will be my first choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a family, there's a room on the top floor with two double beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSychta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
21
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel Heban is located in an old building next to the main attractions of the city. Very good location allows you to be at your fingertips to the main sights and restaurants.
This hotel has its own atmosphere, a bit of the old days but it can be enjoyed. I had a relatively small room, but with a renovated bathroom.
Especially recommended for tourist trips to Toruń (same city has a lot of charm)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in a top-floor apartment in one of the secondary buildings. No elevator so some may have problems. There was a separate kitchen with tea available, shower-only bathroom, spacious living area, two single beds. Wi-fi was fine. No air-con but the windows opened so not a problem during our one-night stay. Close to the town square. Breakfast in the main building was satisfactory - it can get crowded. This place was very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you can't climb a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Pro's: Great location near old town, excellent breakfast, very clean.
Con's - No lift in main building, however, we stayed across the street in a building with a lift. Towels were old and worn, beds were also old.

Room Tip: Stay in the building across the street from the reception if you need an elevator. A couple of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
157 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked an apartment (situated in a building across the street from the main hotel building) - arriving, parking was a breeze - a few yards away from the hotel entrance, the receptionist gave us a parking permit (well, the hotel's name on a card) - 25zl per day.

The apartment itself was very good - very spacious - lounge (sofa/foldout bed), bedroom, usable kitchen, largeish bathroom. The apartment was a little old and musty, with the exception of the bathroom which seems to have been refurbished. There's a long narrow balcony with a good view of the street below.

However, poor service and maintenance really let this place down. Wifi was not working - after several attempts to sort this out at the front desk they admitted there was a problem - which would not be fixed until the next day. IMO wifi is a basic amenity - get a 24-hour service contract, Next morning - still no wifi.

There were 2 a/cs in the flat - a big plus in Poland - however neither was working (even tried changing batteries in the remote - no use).

2 TVs - a nice, big LCD (all inputs available in the back) in the lounge with looked like an impressive array of cable channels - except that the cable stopped working in the evening, Smaller CRT TV in the bedroom.

The bathroom is very nice (albeit in a strange elongated shape) - a toilet, a double sink, a separate shower and a bathtub. However, the hot water pressure in the bathttub was virtually non-existent, making it almost impossible to use. Strangely enough, no problem at the shower or sink, I went down to the front desk to ask for a couple more towels - but was informed they had run out. Really ? The hotel is short of towels ?

In fairness, I did not complain to the hotel about all the above - for one night, it just wasn't worth the bother.

Breakfast was fine - not a very wide selection but enough, and tastefully done.

Overall for an apartment fairly good value for money, but needs more attention by management.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Nice hotel in a heart of beautiful old town of Torun; nice room (we've had an apartment) with minor issues (can't close the bathroom door... hey, it should be easy to fix!)
helpful crew at reception and extremely helpful gentlemen in the hotel restaurant - salute ;)
problems with Internet access, in the main building it worked smoothly.
Overall the stay was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We only found this place by searching the nearest hotel on our Sat Nav. What a superb hotel. Ate in the restaurant and I have never eaten such a good meal. I had fawn (baby dear) and the meat literally fell apart in my mouth. The waiter also was very friendly and knowledgable. The room was across the small lane from the main hotel. Very large, clean and quiet. This should be a four star hotel, not a three.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotlet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Czarna Roza
Hotel Czarna Roza
#13 of 23 in Torun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotyk Hotel
Gotyk Hotel
#11 of 23 in Torun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel B&B Torun
Hotel B&B Torun
#9 of 23 in Torun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 23 in Torun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heban Hotel

Property: Heban Hotel
Address: ul. Male Garbary 7, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heban Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Heban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing