We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spichrz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spichrz Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stylish place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I had an urgent trip to Torun. Guided by tripadvisor.com I have selected Hotel Spichrz.
This place is a perfect example how to beautifully restore an old building to provide high quality accommodation. Firstly, prices are extremely reasonable considering the experience! Rooms are comfortable and well equipped (electric kettle+ 1 l bottle of mineral water!!!). My only concern was the way the room was cleaned( it should be vacuumed more accurately and dust on the radiator should not be there). Staff was helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    39
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
67
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels In Torun, Spichrz is an old granary that has been beautifully restored to provide extremely high quality accommodation. As others have said, the restaurant is excellent, with a traditional menu that gives a good overview of classic Polish dishes. We liked it so much we held our wedding reception there, and it couldn't have been better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the front extend over the walls and provide a good view of the Vistula.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaborsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Great hotel but the restaurant is truly the star here. The diners were a fantastic selection of traditional Polish cuisine. Staff were excellent. The price is extremely reasonable considering the experience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smorazain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

A very nice refurbished Hotel directly in the middle of the historic Center.good rooms with rustic interor.secured parking lot, which is rare in Torun!
But the Restaurant is superb! ! Excellent traditional polish food. Friedly staff and good beer.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 5466rot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel was certainly a wonderful find, the internet description was good but reality was even better. We were so lucky to have booked our room at Hotel Spichrz. Our room was delightful, inviting, cosy, comfortable and with everything to make our stay comfortable - there were low beams which we loved but which may not suit everyone. Torun is wonderful to stroll around and this hotel,which is ideally located, is just one of the fabulous buildings waiting to be discovered. We travel a great deal but this hotel certainly gets a 10 out of 10 from us. On a very cold day this is just the sort of place you love to return to. Breakfast was extremely good, my husband was cooked a delicious polish omelette which took minutes to prepare. It was a shame we were only staying for one night but would not hesitate to return again. There are apartments and suites which may be better if you were staying longer or with family.

Room Tip: Suites available if you require more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We simply lucked out, and it does not happen often. We travel a lot and somewhat get what you pay for. But this place offered more than we imagined.
A former granary converted into an attractive hotel with modern substructure of steel and glass but meticulously maintaining the old polished wood and stucco including the mill. We had a room, low beamed ceiling with a port hole kind of window, a double French door lead into an adjacent salon which was a converted grain shoot that was roomy with two comfy chairs over looking the Vistula river. We relaxed and enjoyed the sunrise and sunset paint the World pink while the regatta practiced below us.
The hotel with all the historic charm was spotlessy clean, dotted with modern whimsical art work, rooms were stocked with tea/ coffee maker, big bottle of water, mini-bar and a plasma TV. The famed gingerbread cookie was there on turn down. The towel was fluffy and comfortable, something you expect in the big name hotels.
The staff were gracious and friendly.
Some have said the restaurant and hotel is a bit kitschy with the decor, mil and grain sacks as pillows but then again, this really was a granary so why not go with it. The food at the restaurant was hearty, full and delicious. I highly recommend eating here too.
The breakfast was unbelievable! The spread was generous from the usual cold cereal, breads, preserves, but also there were so many cold salads and aspics, molds and meats and cheese. All placed in a moderate elegant platter rather than a huge old country style buffet chaffing dish so it was refreshed quickly. There was an omelette and pancake station as well.
The town of Torun is utterly underestimated and we regretted that we only stayed in this lovely hotel for just one day.

Room Tip: choose the Room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Nice little hotel with charm in the odl town of Torun.
We had a room facing the Vistula River where we could relax and have a glass of wine.
Staff is polite, professsionnel
Breakfeast is very good and has many choices to choose from.
A stroll from the old town.
Very very good.
I recommand.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur5453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.1 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 23 in Torun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 23 in Torun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#6 of 23 in Torun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Petite Fleur
Hotel Petite Fleur
#8 of 23 in Torun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spichrz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spichrz Hotel

Property: Spichrz Hotel
Address: ul. Mostowa 1, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torun
#3 Business Hotel in Torun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spichrz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a pleasure to welcome you Hotel Spichrz's. The hotel is arranged in a granary dating from 1719. It is located in the center of the Old Town of Toruń which is on the World Heritage list of UNESCO.Spichrz hotel offers 19 stylishy designed rooms including: 4 single rooms, 7 double rooms, 6 studios and 2 apartments - alll on the upper floors of the building from where you can admire a beautiful view of the Vistula river.Every room has its own bathroom with a shower, a TV set, a fridge, a phone and Internet access. The two-level suites and studios additionally have air-conditioning and safes.Our guests may spend pleasant time at our traditional Polish restaurant and pub that can hold up to 120 people. Spichrzs' special attraction is live music played by a folk band. For those who would like to spend some time in an intimate atmosphere we provide cosy feasting chambers for 8, 12 and 15 people.We offer exquisite dishes of Polish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spichrz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spichrz Hotel Torun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing