We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spichrz Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Torun Centrum(Torun)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1231 Hotel(Torun)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Torun(Torun)(Great Value!)
US$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Copernicus Torun Hotel(Torun)
US$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
128
44
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
44
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden beamsthe rivertwo floorsgreat restaurantdelicious polishstudio roomhistoric hotelfull bathpolish foodsold townstreet sidea short walking distancefew minutes walknight staywonderful townfried eggsclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here for four nights for a wedding. Torun is a picturesque old town by the River Wisla and the hotel, formerly an old granary, overlooks the river.
It was clean and comfortable, the staff members were pleasant and helpful ( find opposing review hard to believe!) and most could understand English. We were booked in here by our hosts but I would have chosen to stay here anyway.
I had breakfasts, lunches and dinners here as well as the wedding reception and the food was very good and well presented. I had no problem finding vegetarian food.
Apart from a missing washbasin plug, common to Eastern European hotels, I have no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The hotel looks great and in many ways it is. Beautiful building, great rustic feel and a wonderful location overlooking the River Vistula. However, everything is let down by the incompetance, rudeness and general behaviour of the management (particularly the female manager of the restaurant). We recently enquired about having a wedding at the hotel (many people have had in the past). The manageress was very abrupt and rude and immediately was uninterested (when we told her we were only going to have 50 guests).

On a separate occasion, my wife was rushed to hospital for swallowing a stem of thyme which had become lodged in her throat. The chefs use thyme for seasoning but its very dangerous by the fact that they put loads of stems in the dish. My wife's meal was ruined. We swiftly complained...but it took ages to get a response. Eventually when we did it wasn't really so much of an apology.

The menu in the restaurant is also very misleading. The price for the meat is per weight. So depending on the size of the meat your bill could be much more at the end of the night.

The accommodation area is lovely but the smell from the kitchens below are quite intense and off putting.

All in all...forget this hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our stay at hotel Spichrz was very enjoyable. Great location, steps away from the old town and Wisla river. Our room was spacious and very clean. Gleaming hardwood floors, elegant timber furniture, comfortable beds and good quality linens. The bathroom was on the small scale, no bath tub, very tight shower. Beware of the low beams!

The reception staff was very accommodating and courteous. The breakfast buffet offered a great selection of egg dishes, cold cuts, breads, pastries and fruits.

For an unforgettable dining experience try the restaurant downstairs offering traditional Polish cuisine. The portions are huge and can be easily shared. The perogies with forest mushrooms are delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magdalena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Spent 09/10 July at this excellent establishment. It is well situated inside the city walls on the banks of the Vistula. A short walk into the main square. Hotel is a converted grain mill with a long history. We originally only reserved one night but opted to stay a second. Reception were unable to keep us in the double room but moves us to a twin. Each was a very different shape but both with all the same facilities including flat screeen TV. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice on the buffet. Staff friendly and welcoming and we would happily stay here again. Also they have a small car park for Zlt 15 per day.
GR+MC

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRMC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

in 2008 we had Polish - Irish wedding in Torun. In search for the place to stay we came across Spichrz hotel. The property looked really amazing, great location, very nice rooms.
At the end we booked around 10 rooms for the family and friend.
Our family arrived 3 days before the wedding. The woman at the reception couldn't speak English which made things little bit awkward. Our family was told that the hotel will provide bottles of water every day free of charge as the water from the tap is not safe to drink. Don't have to tell you how surprised we were when at the end of every day we received a bill to pay for something that was to be free of charge. The staff were very rude,
on couple of occasions we had to ask for management to get things done.
The hotel misplaced my husband's to be wedding suite and he ended up running around the hotel trying to find it.
On so many occasions we asked for taxis and they were never organized, we never received room service which we asked for ,we had to ask for towels to be changed.
I would never stay in Spichrz hotel, I would never recommend it to anyone.
Some of my family stayed at the Heban hotel just up the road and they received fantastic service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jake072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews