We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel, excellent restaurant, good service”
Review of Spichrz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spichrz Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Situated in an old granary right next to the city walls, our rustic room with huge wooden beams and had an adjoining room where we could sit and have our coffee while we looked over the Wisla River. A charming hotel with a restaurant that provided us with Polish favorites and excellent service. Altogether a delightful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeaconBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

I was in Hotel SPICHRZ with my 2 customers, i did really great buissnes there. I thing that it s all about that wonderfull athmosfere . The rooms were very clean and rustic , my clients loved it . On the first floor thre was brilliant restaurant with amaizing traditional food :)
I would really recomend this Hotel. Definetly I will go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akkpkipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here for four nights for a wedding. Torun is a picturesque old town by the River Wisla and the hotel, formerly an old granary, overlooks the river.
It was clean and comfortable, the staff members were pleasant and helpful ( find opposing review hard to believe!) and most could understand English. We were booked in here by our hosts but I would have chosen to stay here anyway.
I had breakfasts, lunches and dinners here as well as the wedding reception and the food was very good and well presented. I had no problem finding vegetarian food.
Apart from a missing washbasin plug, common to Eastern European hotels, I have no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The hotel looks great and in many ways it is. Beautiful building, great rustic feel and a wonderful location overlooking the River Vistula. However, everything is let down by the incompetance, rudeness and general behaviour of the management (particularly the female manager of the restaurant). We recently enquired about having a wedding at the hotel (many people have had in the past). The manageress was very abrupt and rude and immediately was uninterested (when we told her we were only going to have 50 guests).

On a separate occasion, my wife was rushed to hospital for swallowing a stem of thyme which had become lodged in her throat. The chefs use thyme for seasoning but its very dangerous by the fact that they put loads of stems in the dish. My wife's meal was ruined. We swiftly complained...but it took ages to get a response. Eventually when we did it wasn't really so much of an apology.

The menu in the restaurant is also very misleading. The price for the meat is per weight. So depending on the size of the meat your bill could be much more at the end of the night.

The accommodation area is lovely but the smell from the kitchens below are quite intense and off putting.

All in all...forget this hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our stay at hotel Spichrz was very enjoyable. Great location, steps away from the old town and Wisla river. Our room was spacious and very clean. Gleaming hardwood floors, elegant timber furniture, comfortable beds and good quality linens. The bathroom was on the small scale, no bath tub, very tight shower. Beware of the low beams!

The reception staff was very accommodating and courteous. The breakfast buffet offered a great selection of egg dishes, cold cuts, breads, pastries and fruits.

For an unforgettable dining experience try the restaurant downstairs offering traditional Polish cuisine. The portions are huge and can be easily shared. The perogies with forest mushrooms are delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magdalena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Spent 09/10 July at this excellent establishment. It is well situated inside the city walls on the banks of the Vistula. A short walk into the main square. Hotel is a converted grain mill with a long history. We originally only reserved one night but opted to stay a second. Reception were unable to keep us in the double room but moves us to a twin. Each was a very different shape but both with all the same facilities including flat screeen TV. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice on the buffet. Staff friendly and welcoming and we would happily stay here again. Also they have a small car park for Zlt 15 per day.
GR+MC

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRMC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

in 2008 we had Polish - Irish wedding in Torun. In search for the place to stay we came across Spichrz hotel. The property looked really amazing, great location, very nice rooms.
At the end we booked around 10 rooms for the family and friend.
Our family arrived 3 days before the wedding. The woman at the reception couldn't speak English which made things little bit awkward. Our family was told that the hotel will provide bottles of water every day free of charge as the water from the tap is not safe to drink. Don't have to tell you how surprised we were when at the end of every day we received a bill to pay for something that was to be free of charge. The staff were very rude,
on couple of occasions we had to ask for management to get things done.
The hotel misplaced my husband's to be wedding suite and he ended up running around the hotel trying to find it.
On so many occasions we asked for taxis and they were never organized, we never received room service which we asked for ,we had to ask for towels to be changed.
I would never stay in Spichrz hotel, I would never recommend it to anyone.
Some of my family stayed at the Heban hotel just up the road and they received fantastic service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jake072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.5 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.1 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 26 in Torun
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Petite Fleur
Hotel Petite Fleur
#3 of 26 in Torun
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kopernik Hotel
Kopernik Hotel
#11 of 26 in Torun
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#9 of 26 in Torun
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spichrz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spichrz Hotel

Address: ul. Mostowa 1, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torun
#3 Business Hotel in Torun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torun
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spichrz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a pleasure to welcome you Hotel Spichrz's. The hotel is arranged in a granary dating from 1719. It is located in the center of the Old Town of Toruń which is on the World Heritage list of UNESCO.Spichrz hotel offers 19 stylishy designed rooms including: 4 single rooms, 7 double rooms, 6 studios and 2 apartments - alll on the upper floors of the building from where you can admire a beautiful view of the Vistula river.Every room has its own bathroom with a shower, a TV set, a fridge, a phone and Internet access. The two-level suites and studios additionally have air-conditioning and safes.Our guests may spend pleasant time at our traditional Polish restaurant and pub that can hold up to 120 people. Spichrzs' special attraction is live music played by a folk band. For those who would like to spend some time in an intimate atmosphere we provide cosy feasting chambers for 8, 12 and 15 people.We offer exquisite dishes of Polish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spichrz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spichrz Hotel Torun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing