We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Czarna Roza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Czarna Roza
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel is located just minutes from the old town and also the river front. The hotel is elegantly decorated and currently undergoing some alterations (none of which affected our stay). Please be aware there us no lift to the rooms ours was on the 4th floor so for some it mau be best to ask for a lower room. Our room had 3 beds in and was fine size wize. Good breakfast. No parking available but secure parking available a short walk away at the river front for 30 zloty per day. Would recommend to others and stay here again myself.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KIWITRAVELLERS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
43
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

room 14, 4th floor, very old, dark and tiny for family of 3, 2 single beds ( one of which was broken), an old, uncomfortable, single sofa bed, dense and flat pillows ( you can not really call it pillows), lack of tea-coffee making facilities, lack of hot water in the evening, so we couldn't take a shower at all, hole in the wall and smashed sink in the bathroom, very small restaurant ( 4 or 5 tables) and no room to move around, poor breakfast.No parking. The only positive- location in the centre of the old town.

Room Tip: contact the hotel after booking the room to make sure they understand your requirements ( for exampl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My husband is tall and I found him criss cross over the bed. Other than a too short bed it was great. Clean room, nice view, friendly staff, good breakfast with a large assortment, and very central location. Saturday night there was some loud music from the next door club so bring earplugs. The wifi was iffy. Sometimes it would work sometimes not.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoShamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leszno, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for the weekend and did not hope for nothing out of the ordinary. We were in for a pleasant surprise. Room was cosy, very clean and the bed was one of THE MOST COMFORTABLE EVER! Breakfast in the morning with good selection of food and scrambled eggs made to order. On our departure 08.03. my wife got a bottle of champagne. Nice touch. :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ario80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We slept here two nights, in the "new" building.
Location-wise, can't be better!
Cozy feeeling in the hotel lobby and VERY friendly staff.

What was bad?
- Two cars were staying on the yard permanently, blocking a smooth entry to the new building.
- When entering the hall way there was an automatic air freshner spraying on every entry, too much!
- Lack of basic hotel gadgets in the room, such as miniature cosmetics, glass for toothbrush, sewing kit and hairdresser.
- Too much of cheap hotel furniture squeezed into the room, with poor interior design - no "good home feeling".
- The hotel staircase was under construction and electrical cables were hanging unsecured (no information when getting the room nor in the staircase)
- You can listen to your neighbours conversations without any problem (maybe that's a + for others :) )
- The room standard was in general poor, were the bathroom was in really bad shape - black dots everywhere and signs of poor repairs.

Have nothing to compare with in Toruń but will try to look for alternatives the next time, or try to get an room in the "old building" in this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the "new" building with an elevator - During the winter period you'll have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella_Brownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I really like this hotel. This is Poland at its best and most original.

Don't expect a regular flat-pack eurohotel here, it has oodles of character, charm and is so clean it should sparkle!

Yes, a tricky staircase, yes, no lift, but the whole experience was a delight with a great breakfast (I would call it 'continental' but that would be selling it short) served with the politeness and efficiency that I met all throughout Torun (one blip in a coffee shop, but a rare occurence).

Our twin room was, large, with quaint rose-themed accessories and a small shower/toilet. It was on the first floor and was so quiet! Even though we were above a club!

A short walk will take you to beside the river, the Rateusz and the gorgeous Old Town.

Wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissVass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

this is a nice little hotel that is really big, with a second section across the courtyard. we had a room for 3 which had 3 separate beds. it was on the top floor (4) of the front hotel up a circular staircase so we got our exercise. one of the beds was under the eves, so when our daughter woke up twice during the night and sat up, she did hit her head. the beds were comfortable. the room was spacious enough, esp since we were there for just the one night and only to sleep. the bathroom was also spacious with a shower. Breakfast was a very nice assortment of cereals, breads, cold cuts and cheeses as well as hard boiled eggs and pastries. service was prompt and everyone was very accommodating. the dining area was clean. situated right next to the gingerbread museum (which we did not visit) and just steps from the main square, we were also close to the leaning tower and the Wisla just beyond that. i would recommend this hotel as it was also easy to get to and from by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3NJgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.3 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.1 mi away
Gotyk Hotel
Gotyk Hotel
#11 of 24 in Torun
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kopernik Hotel
Kopernik Hotel
#9 of 24 in Torun
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Czarna Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Czarna Roza

Property: Hotel Czarna Roza
Address: ul. Rabianska 11 | Stare Miasto, Torun 87-100, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Czarna Roza 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Czarna Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing