We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience”

University of Warsaw Library
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.78*
and up
3 Hour Warsaw City Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 346 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had heard a lot about the roof gardens of the Warsaw University Library and waited until summer to visit. The gardens are reached by walking through the ground floor of the library, and are free to all.
It's nice to sit awhile downstairs and relax with all the lovely plantlife before heading upstairs for some great views of Warsaw.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank W-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    147
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bierbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to overlook the town from the roof”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The front wall is very special, you have to see it. We had a nice lunch inside : the self-service is accessible for everybody, but the best part was when we walked up the outside stairs and one arrives in a sort of roof park with a beautiful sight over the river Vistula and the city skyline.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YvoVandenbempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much more than a library”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Warsaw has a lot of amazing communal spaces and this is one of them. I am not from there and couldn't get into the actual stacks of the library, but the space outside that is airy and filled with light, like a greenhouse, and you can see inside that the study spaces for actual students are that way as well. The roof garden gives you a wonderful view of the city and is a great place to relax and read. I've seen a lot of grand and expensively designed libraries, but this one was clearly meant to be a down-to-earth public space for everyone, a gem of urban design of which many people are clearly benefitting. Wish we had more of these in the States!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mozimuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Coolest place for studying that I've seen so far”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When you arrive in front of the building you're marveled by the architecture, the colors, then once you pass the main door and enter the building you feel relax and can't stop look above you, you see the sky through the high windows and all the architecture is really cool.
Then exit to discover the roof gardens, you can just enjoy the great view and wander among the plants, it's a great feeling, very relaxing.
Before we got out we saw this sign indicating cheap lunch menu and followed it to see what was down there, after we took these stairs down we discovered this kind of small shopping arcade with also a bowling which must also be apparently a sort of club, that was a surprise.
For me it's a must do since I'm not really into palaces or regular museums, depends on everyone tastes. Free entrance, you can then walk to the old town (Stare Miasto) to finish your tour...
(we didn't enter the actual library section since we were there only as tourists and not to study, but we could see inside of it while heading to the roof garden, it looks as good as the rest)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaKido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting building with roof gardens”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The library is an interesting building / building complex, especially by the gardens on its roof. Next to the library is a park one can relax.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sedasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Warsaw Library also viewed

 

Been to University of Warsaw Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing