We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands on experiments galore!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copernicus Science Centre

Copernicus Science Centre
Ranked #9 of 330 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hands on experiments galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

If you have children who love hands on exhibits in museums this place is fantastic! So many exhibits to play with, we spent 3hours here and didn't see it all! On a weekday so many school trips that it was very busy and they kind of took over. We didn't make it into any of the shows due to the school groups filling them!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 819KarenT819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    446
    145
    40
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Blast For Young And Old!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We've (Grandma and Grandpa) taken our grandchildren (ages 9 and 6) to this center twice now and both times the four of us have had a wonderful experience. There are hundreds of hands-on activities that challenge, stimulate, and excite the mind and body. It's certainly the best science center we've ever visited and we've visited many in the U.S. You don't have to have children with you to enjoy the site although the proportion is about 10 children to 1 adult. It's a bustling place but the excitement is infectious as you participate in many imaginative activities that will inform you as well as, in many cases, amuse you. There's a cafe with a variety of foods and a wonderful store with great games for all. The staff is very helpful and perform various roles as you circulate the two-storied edifice. By all means, it should be a priority stop if you are in Warsaw, up there with the Chopin Museum and the Warsaw Uprising Museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for kids and teenagers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was here twice, Oct '12 and recently in Oct '13.

Actually both times I wanted to visit the Planetarium, and both times I failed.

The 1st time the guard near the Planetarium told us it was closed due to some unforeseen/unplanned business meeting (?). It was not announced on their website, neither were we informed before we got inside, and we bought the tickets for the Planetarium already, which were not refunded. Not a good example of customer service there, while staff overall is nice, friendly and speak English quite OK.

The 2nd time, we made it to the door of the Planetarium, where a guard told us we need to go back to the ticket desk and purchase a separate ticket (which meant another 30 minutes wait) to go inside the actual Planetarium. We decided not to do this.

There's an observation floor, which could be great, if it were not for the fact that all windows have been intensely covered by dotted stickers (?), hence blocking the potential nice panorama over the city and Vistula river banks.

The actual Centre has different parts. The 1st part is great for kids (history/art/commerce/science related), while the second part is more suited towards teenagers, with different semi/popular-scientific psychologic/cultural/political/personality tests and facts.

Doing the whole Centre and taking some tests, some of which will surely appeal to different kinds of visitors, can take you easily 3-4 or more hours, as there is so much stuff. Both times, at the end we skipped a lot of potentially interesting stuff, as there's simply too much to see and do.

Near the Planetarium there's a nice little coffee bar ith decent prices, if you are in need of a refreshment and break.

Also, be sure to hang your jacket in the wardrobe before you hit the cash desk, as the wardrobe is situated right next to the entry. We were already inside, jacket and all, before we found that out. Waiting time can easily amount up to 30 minutes or more, due to the inefficiently organised cash desks and the large influx of groups with kids, especially so during the weekends (Saturdays!).

Exit is strangely enough through the shop and you get a wristband and a card at the cashdesk, of which the card must be returned at the exit and I believe can be used to sum up some of the results of the tests you took inside, but I didn't get the exact hang of this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank H. v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“renew your interest in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the most interactive Science museum I have ever been to. The children were an absolute joy to watch. I enjoyed taking my turn to twist, pull, turn etc. Then there was a section for over 14s. This was quieter but really interesting too. The explanations that went with the exhibits were clear and short. With or without kids this is well worth a trip, I had a rainy day so did it then.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquiHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“it is really interesting and i reccomend to visit it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

It is my favorite museum in Warsaw, if you love science and or psicology this is the best place for you. i sent 5 hours inside but it was not enough as there are many things left that i wanted to see. It costs about 5 euros that for poland is not too chip but for sure you will not regret about it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gabriele1976_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copernicus Science Centre also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Copernicus Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing