We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine but strange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Warsaw Victoria
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

At a first look it is a fine hotel, well located, old city near by as is the superb university library with garden roof (from the hotel walk east as straight as possible, descend steps, walk through a park and there you are), supermarket Express near by around two corners.
Room OK. But then, surprise, we could not get a draught beer at dinner nor was a wine choice possible. So, bring your beer from the bar. Prices of beer and wine are far too high. But yeah, the waiters wear black gloves. Very posh indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your loyality towards the Sofitel Victoria Hotel.
We were glad to welcome you each time you have decided to visit Warsaw and we will be grateful to do it during your next stays. Your opinion is truly important and helpful.

With kind regards,

Anna Panasiuk
Concierge&Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

They actually tried to pass off a room with only a sofa bed (and an incredibly nasty old green one at that) as a "king sized bed"! The pictures speak for themselves on this one, I'm at a complete loss for words on how this hotel stays in business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rasmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Warsaw Victoria. Every guest opinion is very important to us as it helps us continually to improve our service.

I would like to inform you also that at Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior experience for every customer. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. In the meantime, if we may be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Anna Panasiuk
Concierge&Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff is excellent -- very helpful in every possible way. This seems to be true of Warsaw on the "Old City" side of the river in general. They had excellent recommendations for places to go and things to see, including a few things that weren't normally on the "tourist map."

The in house restaurant has a good breakfast. The eggs are more European style (so if you like your eggs American style, you'll find them a bit 'wet'). The bacon is crispy, the fruit and breads selection are excellent, and the wait staff is attentive. For lunch and dinner, the in bar and grill is good for salads and other meals -- but skip the hamburger if you're used to five guys or top notch American burgers.

Overall, a really nice place to stay in Warsaw. Not right in the middle of town, so it's in a quieter location, but within walking distance of the old city, the technology museum, and a lot of other good places to go and see. Right across the street from a really nice park and the tomb of the unknown soldier, so you can see the changing of the guard from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel for your Warsaw stay and for taking the time to share your opinion with other TripAdvisor users.

I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The location of our hotel which you appreciated is indeed superb. We are located just off the main street, in the neighborhood of the beautiful Saxon Gardens and right by a big square, which offers our guests peace and tranquility right in the heart of the City. Both the historical Center, with its Old Town Square, and the commercial Center, with Central Station are at a 10 minutes walk.

Furthermore, I would also like to thank you for your remarks regarding our hotel staff. All of our employees are dedicated hospitality professionals who will go out of their way every time to make our guests' stay more enjoyable. Your recognition of our service motivates us further to try harder and be our best.

Please visit us again whenever you will be in Warsaw.

Kind Regards,
Adrian Kołba
Guest Relations & Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This probably isn't really a 5 star hotel but more like a 4 or upper 3. It's not new, but the rooms are comfortable, and the food is good to spectacular. I had a good dinner and lunch buffet one day, and the next day the buffet was spectacular!

Coffee is uniformly bad. The instant in your room may be the best you get.

There's a pack of cabs hanging out front. Now the fare in from the airport was 40 local. On the way back, there's no meter, but there's supposedly a fare set by the hotel! The guy says "65" clear as a bell, in English. Of course that's merely a mispronounciation of the 55 it says on the hotel card.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svnr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Sofitel Warasw Victoria for your stay in the Polish capital and for taking the time to share your opinion with other TripAdvisor users.

I am glad that your stay was enjoyable. I am particularly pleased that you liked the food and beverage that we serve in the hotel. Our Head Chef Maciej Majewski ensures the quality and flaire of our dishes, while our Victoria Lounge team prepares some of the best cocktails to try in Warsaw. Together, those comprise some of the most sophisticated culinary experiences available in the city, a must-try while staying in Warsaw.

Thank you for also pointing out areas for improvement. We value this feedback highly as it allows us to improve our services according to our guests' expectations. I will certainly pass your remarks on to my colleagues from the Food & Beverage department.

Please visit us again whenever you will find yourself in Warsaw.


Kind Regards,
Adrian Kołba
Guest Relations & Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you stay in Warsaw as a business traveller (i.e. not pinching pennies), then you have the choice of the Sofitel or the Intercontinental. Both are 100% up to Western standards, but I would recommend the Intercontinental due to its superior location for business meetings and nicer views from the higher floors.

The GOOD:
- Rooms are at a high standard (modern, clean, good water pressure, good mattress, solid air conditioning - you get my point)
- Room service food is quite tasty, so don't worry if you have to work late and order. Obviously this is not cheap/good value if you're paying the bill yourself.

The BAD:
- Like most business hotels, this place lacks any kind of personality or flair, but if you're looking for a very comfortable bed to crash after a long day of meetings that is not your priority

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel for your Warsaw stay and for taking the time to share your opinion. Your feedback allow us to constantly work on improving our services and facilities so that we can enhance the comfort of each and every stay.

I am very happy that you were generally satisfied with your stay in Sofitel Warsaw Victoria. In particular, I am happy that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, which do a great job of combining high functionality with a sleek, modern look. The design of the interiors done by architect Didier Gomez offers a pairing of traditional elements with french elegance. Our rooms are equipped with MyBeds, a Sofitel concept of a personalised bed, allowing our guests to customize the bed according to their preferences. All this not only makes for a great night sleep but also a complete hotel experience.

I hope that you will visit us again during your next stay in Warsaw.

Kind Regards,
Adrian Kołba
Guest Relations & Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my first time in Warsaw and at the Sofitel Victoria. The hotel was in a good location very close to the Old Town. The staff were very helpful from the minute we arrived until we left. The receptionist was very informative as we checked-in letting us know about a fountain display with lights, music and projected images being shown on the Friday and Saturday nights. The consierge was also very helpful.
The room, having recently been renovated, was excellent. The only thing was there was no socket next to the full-length mirror for the hairdryer. Yes, there are 2 sockets in the bathroom, but when there are two of you getting ready, there is not a lot of room in the bathroom for 2 people. There was a good choice for breakfast, everything being topped up regularly, but trying to get the waiter to bring a cup of tea/coffee was sometimes challenging. I had nearly finished my breakfast before I got a pot of tea, and then he had to go and get cups.
We decided to have the Sunday Brunch before heading back to the airport. It was well worth the 145zl per person. It was very busy, but again food was topped up regularly. The selection was fantastic, with a seafood station, asian food, meats, soup, salads, bread, pancakes, fish cooked when ordered, traditional polish food. And the waiters worked tirelessly topping up the all-included wine, water, clearing plates away, it was a very enjoyable lunch, would definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this hotel and would return here no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Guest Relations and Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear VisitorT,
Thank you very much for having chosen our SOFITEL Warsaw Victoria hotel for your recent stay in Warsaw. We appreciate every Guest’s comment as the best source of knowledge about our services.
We are all very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our newly redesigned rooms as well as the generous brunch buffet offering food from various parts of the world. We have well noticed your remark on the speed of our service at breakfast and will take the necessary action to improve it.
I wish to thank you very much for your kind words on our staff at check-in and on our concierges. We do believe it is up to the knowledge, skills and friendliness of the staff to provide Guests with pleasant memories. And we do our utmost to assist you making the most of your stay in our beautiful city.
I remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you may require,
Yours sincerely,
Piotr Prasuła

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very nice Hotel, super location. Breakfast amazing. Swimming pool very nice and clean. Just steam sauna - it was too hot! So I wasn't able to use.This was my Birthday so I've got lovely room and a nice gift. I had a twin room- beds are very small compare to Marriott hotel and too soft. Staff in reception were very nice. Restaurant lovely and very nice food. If you have DBL room it is a perfect hotel, but twin room not really - I was happy back to home for good sleep. And better to spend more money to stay in superior room, standard room is just horrible! ( my friends stayed - no comments ).

Room Tip: Take a superior room. Don't stay in standard ! Steam room in man's changing room very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robson9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Sofitel, Concierge at Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Warsaw for your recent stay in Warsaw and for taking the time to leave your comments at TripAdvisor.

Every Guest opinion is very important for us and helps us to continuously improve our service. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

I remain at your entire disposal for all further assistance you may require and I look forward to welcoming you again,

With kind regards,

Anna Panasiuk
Concierge&Guest Relations
Sofitel Victoria Warsaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 126 in Warsaw
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polonia Palace Hotel
#4 of 126 in Warsaw
2,740 reviews
Warsaw Marriott Hotel
#15 of 126 in Warsaw
2,713 reviews
Śródmieście Południowe
Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Warsaw Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Warsaw Victoria

Address: ul. Krolewska 11, Warsaw 00-065, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Warsaw
#8 Luxury Hotel in Warsaw
#9 Family Hotel in Warsaw
#13 Business Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range: £70 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Warsaw Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5 star hotel built in this historic city, the distinctive design pays tribute to the rich history of Poland. The hotel enjoys a perfect location, with fabulous views of the Saxon Gardens and the National Opera, and is a short walk from the Old Town. The 343 guest rooms and 52 suites feature cutting edge technology. Enjoy our fitness center offering the latest equipment, take a swim in the large pool or relax in the sauna. Massage treatments are also available for the ultimate in well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Warsaw Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Victoria Warsaw Hotel Warsaw
Accor Victoria Warsaw
Sofitel Warsaw
Warsaw Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing