We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Warsaw”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Warsaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Warsaw
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Warsaw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Westin is Warsaw is situated about 5 minutes walk from the main station and 20 minutes walk from the old town. A cab there would cost around €5 or you can ask the concierge to have the hotel car drop you off and collect you and have the cost put on your room. The restaurant is good but there are equally good ones in the near vicinity and they are cheaper.

The room was clean, well fitted out and equipped, as you would expect from a 5* chain hotel. All the staff I dealt with were friendly, spoke good English and were extremely helpful. Check-in/out was quick and efficient. Having stayed here twice, I can certainly recommend it and if you book a few weeks in advance, you may have a pleasant surprise on the cost front.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFriedl, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jonathan D, thank you for your nice review - next time we hope to get the 5 stars. You are right the location is great and many places are just a view steps away - also nice restaurants - also not many offer better value for money ... where esle can one try a fusion cuisine lunch from PLN 29 onwards (less than 6 GBP) in a 5 star hotel ... next time you have to try it out. Best regards, thank you again for being our guests and your review, be well, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    734
    115
    38
    17
See reviews for
192
681
206
685
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were a big family, totaling 7 people, all adults. Had a very nice stay, with a good breakfast and good service. The rooms are very nice, great bathroom and super bed. It is a bit of a walk to the old city, (ca 30 min), but it is a nice walk and it is near shopping and some other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFriedl, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Andeloke, thank you for your positive review and the 5 stars - we are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay in Warsaw and the Westin Warsaw - yes, it is a lovely walk to the old town, especially when you take the shortcut through the park. Hope to see you again - Warsaw is always worth a trip. Best regards, be well, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice hotel with all the amenities. Rooms are clean and modern. Hotel has fancy glass elevators to guest rooms that offer a wonderful view of the city. Hotel fitness center is better than average with cardio machines (treadmills and eliptical trainers) with also free weights. There appeared to have been opportunity to have a trainer session as well in the gym, but we did not ask specifically. The restaurant is the gem of this hotel. The menu is well rounded and the food is prepared and served with flare. Presentation of the plates is that of a 5 star restaurant, in that you almost don't want to disturb the presentation while you eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFriedl, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nancy B, thank you for your nice and positive review - especially the kitchen team will be very happy to hear your comments - they take great pride and yes, every plate looks so nice that I have to admit sometimes I take pictures and send them to my friends (to show off). Hope to see you again in Warsaw. Thank you again, best regards and be well, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

stay in westin from 08.05;14 foor 4 days
big twin roomwith very comfortable bedsnice roomand very clean
very nice bathroom with lot facilites
great view from the window(14 floor)
good location 20 minutes wlking to old city
cant comment on breakfast dindt have
great front desk service

Room Tip: room1409 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFriedl, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Laor10, thank you very much for you nice and positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Warsaw and in Warsaw - a great city, always worth a trip. HOpe to see you again in the future, best regards Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a rather disappointing stay, definitely not a 5-star one. I believe that a 5-star experience is all about small details, and these were missing greatly in this hotel.
The hotel is not really in a central location, it is a bit of a walk from the Central Train Station, and even further from the tourist areas.
I booked a classic room, and received a room on the 10th floor at the check-in. The check-in process was smooth, as I was on a prepaid rate. The first thing that struck me was the size of a room, very small, with an even smaller bathroom. A bit claustrophobic, too be honest, with not much room left for anything else but the suitcases.

The bathroom amenities were rather scarce with shampoo, shower gel and body lotion provided. No vanity kit, comb, shavers, toothbrush and toothpaste, which I believe should be a standard in this type of the hotel. Thankfully I called and asked for these to be provided, which was not a problem, but they should be already in my room, so I would not have to discover their lack after taking a shower, having to dress in order to receive them. No slippers, sewing kit, etc. (Does it require several phone calls to the reception in order to receive them all?). The room didn’t have any information booklet, regarding the standard services provided in the hotel and hotel surroundings, just (expensive) massage menu and half-torn room service menu. It also showed some aging, especially on the furniture.

The beds however were very comfortable, but that would be it, when it comes to the good sides of the room.

During the check-in time I was informed that the gym and sauna are available on the 3rd floor. Later however I discovered that in order to receive the service one has to first go to the 3rd floor, read the information that it is required to contact reception in order to activate the room key for gym access (after signing liability waiver) and then go to the reception to activate the card. Couldn’t this be done during the check-in time?
There was also no attendant at the fitness centre, and the sauna was closed for the entire first day of my stay (Sunday from 13:30 – 21:00), which was the time when I needed it greatly in order to relax after 17-hour flight.

The gym itself has top-notch equipment, with fancy machines allowing you to even browse Facebook while running on a treadmill. However the locker room was a disaster. Several dozen lockers and only 1 shower! The sauna (which I didn’t use as it was closed) is coeducational (male and female) and with one shower only it is rather pointless to use it if you are not able to cool down under the shower, as it is usually taken. The shower itself has two dispensers for shower gel and shampoo, but that is not sure, as none of the dispensers were marked. Towels are only available in the common gym area, so be sure to get them before you take the shower (if you manage not to find it occupied, of course). Might I suggest the sauna to be available for one gender only in certain hours, which I believe would make the hotel guests more relaxed, as mixed saunas are becoming less common all around the world?

Another thing that struck me was the lack of umbrellas in the rooms, and no availability at the reception (the receptionist casually informed us that they run out of them, not even apologizing for the inconvenience). One of the reasons I book a 5-star hotels is to be sure to get all the necessary services. Service in this hotel is rather 3-star with the careless attitude of the staff. The rooms in some 3-star hotels in Warsaw are actually bigger in size. The beds are equally comfortable, despite not having the “Heavenly” nickname.

The breakfast spread was very good, however the space in the restaurant is rather limited, with staff and guests having to constantly “dance around” the area. As I speak Polish, it was not a problem for me to communicate with the staff, but I noticed that some international guests struggled greatly. It caused some funny situations like one staff member telling the guest that he didn’t speak English (Saying the sentence “Nie mowie po angielsku” in Polish). Unimaginable in even the most remote areas of the world for the 5-star hotel staff not being able to communicate in even very basic English.
I have another upcoming stay in this hotel in a short time, and I am already afraid that it might be even more disappointing, as the time will be very busy for the hotel due to the visit of world leaders for the 25th anniversary of free elections in Poland on the 4th of June. And if things don’t change, this might be my second and last stay in Westin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Estratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan F, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Estratos, thank you for your very detailed review. I do understand that, unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. It is true that the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main station - some would consider this very close - and the walk to the old town is around 20 min (by Taxi less than five minutes, at a price of less than 5 USD). The size of our rooms is 27m2 - many reviewers on TripAdvisor comment very positively about size and design. As a worldwide standard at Westin Hotels, amenities have been designed in a size that is sufficient for our guests and protects the environment at the same time. All left overs have to be disposed. Extras are always available on request. I am grateful for your constructive feedback about the sauna, gym and the service at the hotel, please rest assured we do take this serious and will look into everything. Please email me directly in regards to your upcoming stay, so I can personal look after you and maybe meet you in person. Best regards, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in May 2014. It is located near the Old Town and the New Town ( within walking distance). In addition, there are a few excellent restaurants also within walking distance.
The front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful. The rooms are large and very clean.
We ate at the buffet breakfast which was quite good, with a large variety of food available. We would defintely consider staying there again on our next trip to Warsaw.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKAY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFriedl, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear SKay18, thank you and many greetings to Canada. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear that you are coming back - let me know when. Best regards, be well, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I know how expensive this hotel is,but still I wanted to experience value for money,by myself.
This hotel is flawless from all points of view/experience.
Rooms are big with high quality beds. Everything is clean. Bathroom has shower and bathtub.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secrettourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan F, Manager at The Westin Warsaw, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Secrettourista, thank you very much for your lovely review - esspecially the comment about room size and the quality of the beds. Hope to see you again in Warsaw - always worth a little trip. Best regards, be well, Stefan Friedl, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Polonia Palace Hotel
#5 of 123 in Warsaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 123 in Warsaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#2 of 123 in Warsaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Warsaw

Property: The Westin Warsaw
Address: ul. aleja Jana Pawla II 21, Warsaw 00-854, Poland
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Warsaw
#11 Romantic Hotel in Warsaw
#11 Business Hotel in Warsaw
#11 Luxury Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Warsaw 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Warsaw - modern 20-storey hotel is ideally located in the heart of Warsaw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Warsaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Warsaw Hotel Warsaw
Westin Warsaw
Warsaw Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing