We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent trip to Poland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Portos
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My friend and myself planned to have a weekend away and decided on Poland . This hotel is very clean and staff are very helpful . We did have a language problem outside the Hotel but the people that did speak English were very helpful and kind . We are planning to return to this Hotel next year ..

Room Tip: We had a twin room which was very comfortable and clean and had a good view of the main street ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junedave20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is actually part of a three-hotel complex. The others are 1-star hotels not under the Best Western franchise label. It appears the hotel has undergone renovation but a 3-star designation is a stretch. I expect this hotel was like its 1-star neighbors and they put in new bathrooms, a flat-screen TV, and a hair dryer, and magically changed the rating. Note that rooms they call "lux" are in fact their most basic room, and certainly not to be confused with luxury. Only some rooms are non-smoking. There is no air-conditioning. It was warm (30 C) during our visit, but we could not leave the windows open at night because of noise from one of the adjacent hotels that was filled with several school groups enjoying a field trip and dancing in heir rooms all night. Even without that noise, the hotel is near the highway so road noise can be loud - we were on the top floor (10th) and the road noise was not too bad up there. The windows are super, and did a great job or keeping out noise (and, I expect, keeping the room warm in winter), and the blackout curtains also worked well. But all that made the room stifling. There is a fairly steep charge for parking, and because the school group's busses filled the regular lot, we were directed to a secondary lot about 250 yards from the hotel. There were lots of people milling about and it felt quite uncomfortable. The breakfast was OK but no fresh coffee, only instant, and no fresh fruit either. Staff was indifferent - when we asked for help to haul our bags over, it turned out the person who did that was on a smoking break, end of story. The Internet price was about half their listed rack rate, which would have been a total ripoff. I feel the Internet rate was still more than the hotel was worth.

Room Tip: Floors on top floor (10th) get less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is not far from the airport, very often with room available when others are full.
Last week, i was not able to get a valid Wifi password, the receptionist was not picking up he phone after 3 calls to get it solved. The taxi has not been ordered. I had to wait another 25 min in the morning to get a new one.
In addition, my room was noisy, with the large avenue downstairs

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remy_et_Karine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Direct access from the airport by bus 148. It is worth booking a room with more advance then the price will be lower. The rooms are large, clean, tv lcd 32 "although there is no mulichoice of the channels , but no one comes to the hotel to sit in front of tv. Beds very comfortable, clean linen, in-room telephone, beverages, kettle, cup, coffee / tea. Bathroom with shower and sink, including soap and bath gels. large and small towels, hair dryer. The room has no air conditioning. I did not eat in reastaurant so I do not comment. Next to the hotel is a large car park, taxi stand here too but rather with the more expensive companies. In addition to Porthos is still the same network hotels: Athos and Aramis but qualitatively worse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gadulec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I spent a couple of days in Portos and was pleasantly surprised with a high level of service and nice food in this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and at a very reasonable price. Very good and decent three star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KekS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you like to stay in BestWestern hotels you will probably like this one located in Warsaw, Poland. The staff is helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J23xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Happened to travel to Warsaw at a time when hotel room availability was extremely scarce. Coincidentally, this was the only hotel that I could secure accommodation in, at a reasonable price. Overall, I found it decent enough for one night's stay, with clean room, clean sheets and a decent ambience on the inside.

The room was too noisy and the area looks like solid construction is still going on.

The restaurant though, is quite decent... the food was tasty but the service left a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anupam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aramis
Hotel Aramis
#55 of 127 in Warsaw
308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Warszawa Ostrobramska
4.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Felix
Best Western Hotel Felix
#42 of 127 in Warsaw
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Warszawa Centrum
0 mi away
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#70 of 127 in Warsaw
252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
#36 of 127 in Warsaw
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Portos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Portos

Address: Mangalia 3a | Warsaw, Warsaw 02-758, Poland (Formerly Start Hotel Portos)
Region: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Warsaw
#31 Business Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range: £24 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Portos 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western hotel Portos is located where two big streets Sobieskiego i Sikorskiego are crossing eachother. It is only 6 km from the hotel to city center where we have maim govenrnment buildings, such like parliament, embassies. It is very easy to get from the hotel to city centrum. You may do that by bus or by taxi. It takes less than 15 minutes. Bus stop is just around the corner on the other site of the Sobieskiego street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Portos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Start Hotel Warsaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing