We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comprehensive tour of the old town!”

Orange Umbrella Free Tour
Ranked #2 of 121 Tours in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: You just got to Warsaw? Do you need a quick introduction to the city that would be fun and informative at the same time? Well, here we are!;) Join our free walking tour run by professional city guides - we're local and we love to show our city to travelers looking for more than just an average tour of churches and monuments! We run our tours every day, holidays included, according to the schedule on our website. All tours start from Sigismund's Column in Zamkowy Sq. in the Old Town of Warsaw. Look for our guide with THE ORANGE UMBRELLA!;)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comprehensive tour of the old town!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I just got back from an Orange Umbrella tour around Old Town led by Gawel. It was so enjoyable! I can't speak highly enough about this tour. It lasts for 2 hours 15 mins (although our one ran a little late due to intermittent rain throughout the tour) and it is very comprehensive. Gawel was a great guide - he had a sense of humour, didn't pressure anyone to tip, and also recommended a great pierogi restaurant for lunch when I asked him at the end.

Unless you have time to read a whole guidebook or research thoroughly online before you come to Warsaw, I highly recommend you join an Orange Umbrella tour to get a local's insight into the old town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    54
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great saturated tour”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I've run into Gavel the Guide just occasionally, but he was nicest guide I've met and the tour was well saturated, on a good speed, humorous, well built-up and flexible for weather and construction works around. Great idea and great implementation. Good work, guys!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great tour lead by a local”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Beata was a great guide giving us a tour of "old" Warsaw. A perfect way to see and hear the history of the area. A few nice surprises thrown in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Detailed 2 hour tour of old town in English”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Meet at 11 AM by Sigmund's column which is in front of the Royal Castle. You get an excellent detailed tour of old town ( and technically new town to see Marie Curie's birthplace). Unexpectedly, on this day our tour ended in a café where our guide treated us to a shot of vodka. Please donate generously to keep this valuable service going.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality free tour in Old Town”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The Orange Umbrella tour is such a great way to see and learn about the history of Old Town. My husband and I arrived at the meeting point about 15 minutes late but the group was still there and easy to identify by the orange umbrella. The guide spoke English well and presented a lot of history at various stops on the tour. The best part was the free shot of vodka at the end of the tour. It's amazing that you get so much for free. At the end a box for donations is passed around but there is absolutely no pressure to give. Being that it was such a great tour most people want to give a little bit because it is such a high quality tour. I highly recommend this tour if you are in Warsaw.

Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange Umbrella Free Tour also viewed

 

Been to Orange Umbrella Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing