We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice idea, but food was just -eh”
Review of Pierogarnia

Pierogarnia
Ranked #928 of 2,584 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Śródmieście Północne
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice idea, but food was just -eh”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We tried it on a very cold evening. Had borsch and mushroom pierogi. Borsch was too intense like from a mx; meanwhile, the pierogi were not very flavorful- dumping them in the borsch helped make this meal work. My father in law felt there were too few mushrooms in the pierogi (more cabbage). He'd been here some time ago and said it was much better, so maybe something changed? I'd try a different pierogi place if given the choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAlysonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Aweful”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I can't believe this place has good reviews. Upon entering I wanted to run away simply because of the horrible smell. But my little nephew was hungry so we stayed. Besides the initial warning sign of smell, the atmosphere is reminiscent of communistic milk bars. This may be a novelty for tourists, but as someone who grew up here, I didn't appreciate the memory. When it comes to food - it was disgusting. First they didn't have what we ordered, not a big deal. Then the food came in soaked in the boiling water - what restaurant doesn't take the step to drain dumplings? My dad's on the other hand came soaked in oil. My russian pierogies which supposed to only have cheese and potatoes, came in with some weird meat - maybe ham? After only few bites I wanted to throw up, and spend the rest of the day sick to my stomach. I highly recommend not coming here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kayamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdorp
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Small restaurant serving excellent pierogi (Polish specialty)”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a mixed plate of Pierogi and some Polish wine. Both were excellent! Located in the old town, close to the wall you'd expect a tourist trap but far from it We had a nice lunch!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikLangdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and Easy”
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

This seems to be a popular Place for Dumplins also for the locals. It is an unptretentious but nice hang out. The dumplings come in various tastes, also for vegatarians. We enjoyed the half Portion which proofed to be enough for a Snack. Tool bad they do not serve beer!

Helpful?
Thank Ferientechniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pierogies, Pierogies and more Pierogies”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We ate across the cobblestones right next to the Barbican outside and loved it! They have many different types of pierogies. Some are boiled, some are fried, and so many different fillings! Fun was had by all and afterward we had to lounge on the Barbakan before walking back to mamaison residence diana.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pierogarnia also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Pierogarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing