We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth giving it a try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #582 of 2,409 Restaurants in Warsaw
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Śródmieście Południowe
Description: The Indian subcontinent is rich in contrasts, from its climate and vegetation to its languages and cultural practices. Each of the country's numerous regions boasts a distinctive style of cooking. And here in "TANDOOR PALACE" we are proud to introduce to you the true essence of North Indian cuisine.This great art of North Indian cooking dates back to the days of Mogul Empire when the master chefs lavished their talents to tempt the palates of the mighty Maharajas. North Indian dishes are eye-catching & colorful with garnishes as green, chili, ginger and coriander leaves.Tandoori items are our main specialty. These dishes of lamb, chicken and home made cheese (paneer) are delicately flavored by a combination of special marinades and cooked slowly in traditional clay ovens known as "Tandoors".We also hope to introduce to you the kind of service that is synonymous with Indian hospitality. Like all good Indian restaurants all over the world, papadums are complimentary and there is no charge for mango chutney or pickle and chopped onions with main course.And to compliment your meal, we have specially imported, from the U.K., the best selling Indian Beer "KINGFISHER".Our Staff will be delighted to assist you in making your selection. Enjoy your meal.
Poland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Worth giving it a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The place is owned and run by an Indian from Singapore.Not that it matters much but as a result the menu includes not only Indian dishes but also Singaporean and south-eastern Asian.
Anyway, we went for Indian.
Having spent a few years of my life in India, I have my preferences.
For a starter you get free plain papadams with 2 sauces: brownish (tamarind) and green (mint).
Not enough for us, we ordered also masala papadums (they are not on the list but the cook is eager to prepare it for you).
For the main, knowing our capacity, we went only for a jar of BaltiTikka and garlic naans.
Great food, however a tad pricey (for example, the naan, a very simple thing which you can get in India even at 5-star hotel restaurants for peanuts, costs $5 at Tandoor Palace).
The service is hit and miss (we have been to the place several times already).
On a lucky day, the waitress is friendly and knowing but more often it is not your lucky day :-)

I rate this place 5/5 food-wise but the overall rate is 4/5 due to the service and pompous interior

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Unter-Ostern, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yummy "real" Indian cuisine in the heart of Warsaw.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I've known this restaurant for more than a decade, and can't help coming back! The food is consistently delicious - and properly spiced and seasoned - and the portions are generally big enough to assur you can take some home for tomorrow's lunch, if you dont happen to be as hungry as a bear... The meals are not the cheapest ones around - we pay about 15-18€/person for a good meal (with softdrinks) - but the value for money is good. Service is competent and knowledgeable, which makes choosing easier. And they are usually - if you ask nicely - willing to make changes or adapt a dish to your wishes.
Tandoor Palace is one of the best Indian restaurants I know, and certainly the best in Warsaw.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHardtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I usually get their delivery service, but it's nice to go there as well. Best Indian food in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Their food takes great and is authentic Indian food. It is the place where the Curry Club meets (I believe on Wednesdays) and has the reputation, borne out certainly by my own experience, of having the best Indian food in Warsaw. Discounts (10%) are available for regular customers who obtain a number entitling them. Deliveries to home or hotel are reliable. The atmosphere is the restaurant on the other hand is great and for once this even extends to the music - unlike many Warsaw places where the music clashes with the decor and the food being served.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The taste is great, do not be deceived by the looks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

A nice place for a lunch. They serve good quality Indian food, one of the best in town. As it happens with Indian restaurants, you hardly could call the restaurant nice looking (it's gloomy and dark), therefore it is not a good spot for a romantic dinner.
But when you taste their dishes (butter chicken, sizzlers, kormas etc.) - you forget you are in Warsaw and fly directly to North India. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HubertW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good Indian food in Warsaw but... I know better places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Very good Indian cuisine but compared to other Indian restaurants in Warsaw, this one isn't the best. The prices are too high for such quality. The location is seemingly in city centre,but a bit out of the way (in Plac Unii Lubelskiej direction). The restaurant is located near the tram line, so it's a bit noisy there. The food is OK. The best dishes are meats from Tandoori oven.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaZielinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing