We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian in Warsaw”
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #647 of 2,507 Restaurants in Warsaw
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Śródmieście Południowe
Description: The Indian subcontinent is rich in contrasts, from its climate and vegetation to its languages and cultural practices. Each of the country's numerous regions boasts a distinctive style of cooking. And here in "TANDOOR PALACE" we are proud to introduce to you the true essence of North Indian cuisine.This great art of North Indian cooking dates back to the days of Mogul Empire when the master chefs lavished their talents to tempt the palates of the mighty Maharajas. North Indian dishes are eye-catching & colorful with garnishes as green, chili, ginger and coriander leaves.Tandoori items are our main specialty. These dishes of lamb, chicken and home made cheese (paneer) are delicately flavored by a combination of special marinades and cooked slowly in traditional clay ovens known as "Tandoors".We also hope to introduce to you the kind of service that is synonymous with Indian hospitality. Like all good Indian restaurants all over the world, papadums are complimentary and there is no charge for mango chutney or pickle and chopped onions with main course.And to compliment your meal, we have specially imported, from the U.K., the best selling Indian Beer "KINGFISHER".Our Staff will be delighted to assist you in making your selection. Enjoy your meal.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Indian in Warsaw”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Food and service was fantastic. Will definitely go back. One of the best Indian restaurants in Warsaw.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place to have authentic Indian food in Warsaw”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Delicious food and very friendly staff and very reasonable prices. Nice place to have authentic Indian food in Warsaw

Starter was ok Samosa was bit sour and paneek tikka was bit dry, but Balti Hinduhush was simply awesome. Malai Cofta had authentic north Indian thick gravy and aroma.

I would recommend this restaurant if you would like to have real tasty Indian food in Warsaw

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive and not good”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The prices are not proportional to quality of food,small dishes. They recomend us rice with cheese and was frozen rice with really small pieces of cheese,not good at all. Garlin naan was really small too and not tasty. The mutton was not good either. We visited other Indian restaurant in Warsaw that was more much better. The light and ventilation is horrible.... At least, the waitter was really nice, helpfull and polite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pelaski P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Worth giving it a try”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The place is owned and run by an Indian from Singapore.Not that it matters much but as a result the menu includes not only Indian dishes but also Singaporean and south-eastern Asian.
Anyway, we went for Indian.
Having spent a few years of my life in India, I have my preferences.
For a starter you get free plain papadams with 2 sauces: brownish (tamarind) and green (mint).
Not enough for us, we ordered also masala papadums (they are not on the list but the cook is eager to prepare it for you).
For the main, knowing our capacity, we went only for a jar of BaltiTikka and garlic naans.
Great food, however a tad pricey (for example, the naan, a very simple thing which you can get in India even at 5-star hotel restaurants for peanuts, costs $5 at Tandoor Palace).
The service is hit and miss (we have been to the place several times already).
On a lucky day, the waitress is friendly and knowing but more often it is not your lucky day :-)

I rate this place 5/5 food-wise but the overall rate is 4/5 due to the service and pompous interior

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unter-Ostern, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy "real" Indian cuisine in the heart of Warsaw.”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I've known this restaurant for more than a decade, and can't help coming back! The food is consistently delicious - and properly spiced and seasoned - and the portions are generally big enough to assur you can take some home for tomorrow's lunch, if you dont happen to be as hungry as a bear... The meals are not the cheapest ones around - we pay about 15-18€/person for a good meal (with softdrinks) - but the value for money is good. Service is competent and knowledgeable, which makes choosing easier. And they are usually - if you ask nicely - willing to make changes or adapt a dish to your wishes.
Tandoor Palace is one of the best Indian restaurants I know, and certainly the best in Warsaw.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHardtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing