We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley loveley building / location - strange service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garni Pension Pibernik
Ranked #9 of 62 Bled B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We spent a couple of nights here in June 2011. The location is loveley - set in woods a 30 min walk outside Bled. Well signposted, driving along the small road through the woods when we saw the pension we were delighted. Plenty of car parking available. It was dusk as we arrived and we went to reception to find a sign stating they were away and to phone a number on their mobile. On attempting to use the phone to get the receptionist we couldn't get the phone to work - then this chap who had been pottering about since we got there wandered to the reception and gave us our keys. Odd.

We had one of the rooms with a Balcony - well worth the extra expense as sitting on the balcony or in the hammock is great with the woods in the background (loveley). The rooms are a little basic but functional - beds comfy enough. Room had a fridge which was handy. Free wifi works wonderfully.

At breakfast there were not enough tables - all the guests must have been there at the same time ! So we waited 15 mins - but then there were no knives left (a possible oversight). Food was nice enough but get there early as the good stuff goes ! The next day we got to breakfast earlier and got a table - but still no Knives !

Out of hours there is a small fridge which allows one to take a beer / watrer / pop on an honesty basis - write name and what you have had on a sheet of paper - nice system. If you are walking back from Bled do it in daylight - the path through the woods is very spooky at dusk or night.

So difficult to rate - absolutley loveley site - picturesque cabin type challet building but very mediocre service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Okay, this place is in a picturesque location around 3KM from the centre of Bled... and it's in a pretty setting in woodland with all those log, timber and open fire things going on. But the rooms are distinctly mediocre.

We arrived having booked online in late March and after a long drive having paid 58 Euro (we saw rooms in townlater that evening for 25) , we didn't consider that asking for a cup of coffee upon arrival was too much to ask .

The manager/owner simply refused and clearly couldn't be bothered. (Close season you see.)

This was the same reason for the small but cosy bar being closed despite guests being present and for the reason that breakfast wasn't even offered..... the idea is that it's close season you see... just collect the cash but don't actually do anything for it.

Bled is lovely but avoid this establishment... there are much better options in town and you won't need to drive 3km back .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed 1 night in small room for 3 people . Facilities were adequate for a reasonable price However bathroom layout left a lot to be desired as did the general décor of the hotel However had internet in room and shower and bed were ok . Attitude of owner rather world weary and not particularly welcoming or friendly . Major downside was breakfast which was provided in open sided wooden shed in garden . This may have been ok in warm weather but it was only 12 degrees and we were very chilled after a few minutes . In addition breakfast was from 8 till 10 Arriving at 9 40 am we were left with little choice and a degree of indifference on the part of the owner. In particular it looked like he had been frying eggs for guests but none were offered and he just left the shed . All in all i would not recommend this hotel despite the basics being ok for the cost. .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We loved being in the country, but yet so close to the town of Bled! The lovely pension was so comfortable and quiet. We walked the trail into town at least once each day and enjoyed the leisurely stroll back to our "home away from home". The surrounding area has some much to offer for hiking and sightseeing. What a beautiful place to spend 3 days! Delicious breakfasts and an easy-going atmosphere made this home the perfect spot for us! The gardens, flowers and woods were so tranquil and relaxing. Having a computer in our room was a real plus and we were able to connect with family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Great quiet location, 3 minute drive to Bled centre. Very friendly owners. Rooms are a good size, we even had a computer in our room with free internet access!
Breakfast was substantial and tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

For one night this place was fine, but not extraordinary. Well sign posted from the main road, we found the Pension Pibernik easily. The room was very dark (both from the trees outside, but also from the overly dark wood paneling). While comfortable, it was nothing special, but a decent price. The drawback is you have to drive into town to find a restaurant. Breakfast had a decent selection.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

After reading great reviews of this place we booked there with my husband for a New Year stay on our trip to Slovenia. Unfortunately my husband got sick and had to be taken to hospital as we were already about to start our journey. I contacted the owner to cancel the reservation for 2 nights, expecting to pay the cancellation fee as per the reservation. To my big surprise even though I cancelled at the last minute I was told I would not be charged anything and in fact we weren't. We travel quite a lot and this is a very nice gesture from the owner of that pension. We will definitely be going there to experience the hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPibernik, Owner at Garni Pension Pibernik, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Thank you for your comment, hope to see you next time :)

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 24 in Bled
801 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pension Mlino
Pension Mlino
#15 of 24 in Bled
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#3 of 24 in Bled
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pension Pletna
Pension Pletna
#5 of 62 in Bled
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pr Matjon
Pr Matjon
#4 of 62 in Bled
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Pension Pibernik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Pension Pibernik

Address: Ljubljanska Cesta 40, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Pension Pibernik 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded spot surrounded by oak trees, Pension Pibernik is a rustic and homey, family-run bed and breakfast hotel with free internet access. Set on a large lawn surrounded by a forest and above the Sava River, only 330 yards from the main road to Lake Bled(2km), Pension Pibernik is a great starting point for walking or biking tours. After a long adventurous day, unwind under the shade of the veranda, or play ping-pong, badminton or darts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garni Pension Pibernik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing